We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“peaceful and welcoming guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 291 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“peaceful and welcoming guesthouse”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We absolutely adored the Ginnegaap Guesthouse in Johannesburg. We stayed there as a family in the one bedroom suite, arriving early one morning from USA/UK. Dead tired, we were picked up at the airport, given a room to relax in while ours was being made. We were warmly welcomed and offered a breakfast as we had a very hungry 3 and a 5 year old with us.
The house was beautifully appointed, with classic pieces throughout and nice touches all over. What is best about Ginnegaap is the location in Melville, just a few blocks away from 7th avenue with restaurants and shops. The guesthouse has a beautiful porch and a lovely courtyard with seating. The breakfast was great: all of us loved it. Although we did not use the pool, I must comment that it looks lovely: we normally swim no matter what the temperature, but this time we had so many other things to do in a short stay. We did a tour with Jacob, the son of the owner, who was knowledgeable and friendly. Corlien the owner/manager was very helpful and welcoming, as were the entire staff. We highly recommend Ginnegaap.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evilexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you so much for all the nice things you said about Ginnegaap. It was our pleasure to help you out when you arrived early in the morning and very tired on our doorstep!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    82
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
82
34
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed at Ginnegaap in early July. From the original booking all the way through my stay, everything was very smooth. The breakfast was wonderful and the guesthouse was very accommodating with my food intolerances. Transportation to and from the guesthouse was great and I felt safe and secure during my entire stay. It is a lovely neighborhood and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreaRae13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We really liked our stay in Ginnegaap. Although the power was down when we arrived and the bed was rather small we found the style of the house very charming. It has a very homey feeling. When the power came on we had free wifi. Shower was nice and hot. The best part of our stay was the breakfast, we loved it! Also the location in Melville is good, there is a large supermarket nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baskotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Ginnegaap and our breakfast!. Sorry about the small bed. You booked one of our budget rooms and because of the size of the room, we can only fit a double bed in. The beds in the rest of the guest house are king size, so if you sleep better on a super large bed, rather book one of our standard or top rooms.
The whole of Melville was in darkness for one night as our power provider had to switch the lights off to work on the Melville network. We hope that this will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Perú
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Service was very good. Loved breakfast: fresh fruits were excellent. The room was clean and cozy. Restaurants/pubs/shops together 5 minutes away walking. You feel as if you were at some friends house. If you're going to Joburg this is an excellent option.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CZyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you taking the time to recommend Ginnegaap to others. We really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights en route back home to Cape Town. The location for us was great - close to the CBD, a short drive to Gold Reef City and within easy walking distance access to restaurants and shops.

The first thing you should know about Ginnegaap is that a number of rooms are not in the main house that is shown on the website, but in outside buildings. The main house and gardens are nicely maintained and pleasingly decorated, but some of the other areas are much more neglected. The walk to our little unit was down a rickety path through a rather scruffy looking garden. The parking area down the side was very rough with lots of broken up surfaces. A shame, because it really detracted from the overall impression of the guesthouse.

The décor and finishes inside our room were generally nice, but again, a lack of some finishing touches dragged down the overall impression. There was a heater in the room that probably originated from the 1970's and other than potentially being unsafe it was unsightly and let off a smell when switched on. Some cupboards in the kitchenette were not finished properly.

Our little unit consisted of a main room with a single bed in a small alcove and a kitchenette/ diner in a separate alcove. The layout was practical for us travelling with our son as he could head off to bed and we could still stay up and watch TV in the main room.

As someone who likes a dark room when I sleep, I find it frustrating when guesthouses insist on installing bright outside lights with no way to turn them off and without providing proper light blocking curtains. There is a large outdoor lantern in the garden outside the unit which still shines through the fairly heavy dark curtains.They need light blocking lining like in hotels especially since the windows include large sliding doors.

The service was professional and there was access to staff after hours if needed. The breakfasts deserve a special mention - they are served in the main house in a beautifully decorated period room. The choice and quality of food is fantastic and better than many 4* establishments that I have stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rollingstone2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your constructive criticisms and also the good things you said about Ginnegaap. We always welcome complaints from our guests as we see this as a way to keep on improving. I agree wholeheartedly will all you mentioned especially the garden in front of our newly built family unit. We finished this unit 3 weeks ago and the garden was completely ruined. Since your departure we have planted trees, shrubs and flowers and put in a complete new lawn. By Spring, this part of our garden will look just as nice as the rest of our gardens. We thank you again for taking the time to tell us where we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I read a review before we got there that siad it truly feels like home at the Ginnegaap. I think that is an understatement! It felt much better than home to us!! The people running the place make a beautiful breakfast everyday with a menu to order from, including omlettes, etc. They are so kind and helpful. And our room was gorgeous, clean, and comfortable. You cannot beat this neighborhood for awesome food and shops as well. We hope to return someday!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for all the nice things said about Ginnegaap. For me and my staff it is great to know that our efforts to make people feel at home is successful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Great, cozy place to stay in JoBurg. I felt like I was staying at someones house and really appreciated the level of care they take to accomodate each of their guests. This was my first times traveling solo somewhere and from the moment I arrived I felt well taken care of. The staff is very accommodating and the owner was more than flexible with my constantly changing travel plans. If you're thinking of doing a tour while in JoBurg I would definitely recommend the ones offered through the guesthouse. I'm not usually much of a tour girl but Jaco spoke to me about them when he picked me up from the airport and I figured it wouldn't hurt. I ended up being carted around by him 3 days in a row and loved it!

The rooms are great, lots of space, light and some with outdoor areas. They have electric blankets on the beds which in the winter is the best thing ever! The other guests staying there at the time were wonderful and so friendly. It was great to have people to chat with and even go out with as a solo traveler. I was not expecting that which was a great bonus!

The breakfasts are great, fresh and a great variety. I have a special love of the french toast - so yummy!

Just something small to note, they are next to a school so certain rooms are closer to that and offer a built in alarm clock during weekdays :) Nothing awful but just good to know. Also there is no phone in the room which was tough for me since my phone decided not to work at all there. Otherwise I have nothing but good things to say about this place. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell others about Ginnegaap. We like to think that Ginnegaap is truly a home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.0 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
0.3 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#4 of 291 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 291 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#3 of 291 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agterplaas B&B
Agterplaas B&B
#1 of 103 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.0 mi away
Melville Manor Guest House
Melville Manor Guest House
#7 of 291 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginnegaap Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginnegaap Guesthouse

Property: Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Address: 54 4th AVE | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 291 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginnegaap Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ginnegaap Guest House in Melville is a charming cottage-style house in one of the oldest and most vibrant suburbs in Johannesburg. This highly recommended and trendy establishment with its 12 tastefully decorated en-suite bedrooms offer business and holiday makers a warm, friendly and comfortable home from home.Within walking distance from quaint coffee shops, restaurants, art galleries, book stores and antique shops, Ginnegaap is your perfect escape in the buzzing city of Johannesburg. Stylish rooms, great breakfasts, friendly and caring staff, affordable and spotlessly clean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Ginnegaap Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing