We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B in a quiet part of Jo'burg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 296 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Nice B&B in a quiet part of Jo'burg”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I was there on the first day of the Christmas – so it was very quiet. The area is in general safe and nice. B&B is in a pretty house with a lovely garden (and a nice dog), and a small swimming pool next to it. It was pretty full of guests when I was there. My room was not big, but was rather nice and clean. The owner was a lady – Corlean - very nice and helpful: she organized a Christmas lunch for me, and then found a guide to visit Jo’burg. Staff was also nice, particularly Thomas was very helpful. The breakfast was very good, especially if sitting at the terrace and enjoying the view on the garden.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitrije56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    85
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
36
83
34
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent guesthouse in Melville, close to Johannesburg. Nice rooms well equipped, friendly staff, excellent breakfast. The guesthouse also organises city tours at reasonable prices. The environment is calm and safe, with all kind of restaurants, shops and cafés within a walking distance.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BWEducconsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

A good room with a small patio, good bed, nice relaxed and helpful people, good breakfast
and all very easygoing. We could stay in the room till noon and leave our Luggage before
departing home. The guided tour(s) highly recommendable. Jaco is a great guide who loves his city. The Melville area seems rather safe and we walked home from the restaurant on 7th street
albeit not very late at night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liedjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Glad you enjoyed your tour with Jaco and your stay at Ginnegaap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We only stayed for 1 night in J'burg. I thought the neighbourhood would be nicer according to the LP. It is very dark at night to walk back from the restaurants to the Guest House. the Guest House is ok and you get a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank de-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
The street lights in our street are not working and we've had an uphill battle to get the municipality to fix it. We have contacted them again and they promised to get it done by next week.

Melville is a safe suburb and people can generally walk around at night. I am sorry you missed the much talked about vibe of Melville when you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 1 in the lovely old house looking out onto terrace and manicured garden with lovely seating. Quiet except for bird song coming from the trees. Large elegant room with bathroom and great shower. Satellite tv fridge, room safe, heater and fan. Pool with towels provided or umbrellas when it rains... Wonderful cooked breakfast of choice chosen from menu. Staff warm friendly and extremely helpful they gave us a microwave in our room for our stay. Safe and secure position can walk anywhere. Near to shops bars restaurant.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Blythe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Manager at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Ginnegaap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Our stay in Ginnegaap Guesthouse was very pleasant. Loved the bed, rainshower and facilities on the property. Location is very convenient in Melville close to 7th Street with lots of bars and restaurants. Staff was friendly and helpfull. I would definitely recommend this home away from home to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heimberg, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We arrived a few hours before at the international Airport in Joeburg and we were very glad to find this nice accommodation. The information we get for our city tour were helpful, the night relaxed and the breakfast perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andreas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you! So glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.2 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#20 of 66 in Johannesburg
395 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
740 reviews
0.3 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#4 of 296 in Johannesburg
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 296 in Johannesburg
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
motel Mi Pi CHi
motel Mi Pi CHi
#15 of 66 in Johannesburg
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agterplaas B&B
Agterplaas B&B
#1 of 115 in Johannesburg
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginnegaap Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginnegaap Guesthouse

Property: Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Address: 54 4th AVE | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 296 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginnegaap Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ginnegaap Guest House in Melville is a charming cottage-style house in one of the oldest and most vibrant suburbs in Johannesburg. This highly recommended and trendy establishment with its 12 tastefully decorated en-suite bedrooms offer business and holiday makers a warm, friendly and comfortable home from home.Within walking distance from quaint coffee shops, restaurants, art galleries, book stores and antique shops, Ginnegaap is your perfect escape in the buzzing city of Johannesburg. Stylish rooms, great breakfasts, friendly and caring staff, affordable and spotlessly clean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ginnegaap Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing