We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 298 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Located in a quiet street in the suburb of Melville, Ginnegaap is an excellent base to stay in Johannesburg. Corlien and her staff go out of their way to help plan your visit, answering E mails very quickly, while the airport pick up and tours with Jaco are ideal. The guest house itself is a bit of a jumble of buildings, set in a lovely garden with a small pool and is only a few minutes walk from a good variety of restaurants, cafes and bars in Melville. The room I had was large and comfortable, although some of the furnishings and décor were faded and rather down-at-heel. Breakfast was good and there was an excellent choice of cooked dishes. It’s definitely not a 5 star hotel, but it works well.

Melville is an interesting area, which appears to have been a trendy, eclectic suburb at some point, now reputed to have gone down in the world, with guidebook rumours of crime and failing businesses. In reality, it appears to be a mixture of the bohemian, the genteel and the edgy, with the feel of a place which is not quite what it was, but is doing its best. It feels perfectly safe even at night and there is a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amm1u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

I was there on the first day of the Christmas – so it was very quiet. The area is in general safe and nice. B&B is in a pretty house with a lovely garden (and a nice dog), and a small swimming pool next to it. It was pretty full of guests when I was there. My room was not big, but was rather nice and clean. The owner was a lady – Corlean - very nice and helpful: she organized a Christmas lunch for me, and then found a guide to visit Jo’burg. Staff was also nice, particularly Thomas was very helpful. The breakfast was very good, especially if sitting at the terrace and enjoying the view on the garden.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimitrije56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent guesthouse in Melville, close to Johannesburg. Nice rooms well equipped, friendly staff, excellent breakfast. The guesthouse also organises city tours at reasonable prices. The environment is calm and safe, with all kind of restaurants, shops and cafés within a walking distance.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BWEducconsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

A good room with a small patio, good bed, nice relaxed and helpful people, good breakfast
and all very easygoing. We could stay in the room till noon and leave our Luggage before
departing home. The guided tour(s) highly recommendable. Jaco is a great guide who loves his city. The Melville area seems rather safe and we walked home from the restaurant on 7th street
albeit not very late at night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liedjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Glad you enjoyed your tour with Jaco and your stay at Ginnegaap.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We only stayed for 1 night in J'burg. I thought the neighbourhood would be nicer according to the LP. It is very dark at night to walk back from the restaurants to the Guest House. the Guest House is ok and you get a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank de-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

The street lights in our street are not working and we've had an uphill battle to get the municipality to fix it. We have contacted them again and they promised to get it done by next week.

Melville is a safe suburb and people can generally walk around at night. I am sorry you missed the much talked about vibe of Melville when you were here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 1 in the lovely old house looking out onto terrace and manicured garden with lovely seating. Quiet except for bird song coming from the trees. Large elegant room with bathroom and great shower. Satellite tv fridge, room safe, heater and fan. Pool with towels provided or umbrellas when it rains... Wonderful cooked breakfast of choice chosen from menu. Staff warm friendly and extremely helpful they gave us a microwave in our room for our stay. Safe and secure position can walk anywhere. Near to shops bars restaurant.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Blythe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Manager at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Ginnegaap.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Our stay in Ginnegaap Guesthouse was very pleasant. Loved the bed, rainshower and facilities on the property. Location is very convenient in Melville close to 7th Street with lots of bars and restaurants. Staff was friendly and helpfull. I would definitely recommend this home away from home to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.2 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#25 of 66 in Johannesburg
445 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
6.2 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#11 of 66 in Johannesburg
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
17.2 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#27 of 66 in Johannesburg
201 reviews
0.3 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 298 in Johannesburg
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginnegaap Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginnegaap Guesthouse

Address: 54 4th AVE | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £40 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginnegaap Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ginnegaap Guest House operates from a charming cottage-style house in Melville, one of the oldest and most vibrant suburbs in Johannesburg. This highly recommended and trendy establishment with its 12 tastefully decorated en-suite bedrooms offer business and holiday makers a warm, friendly and comfortable home from home.Within walking distance from quaint coffee shops, restaurants, art galleries, book stores and antique shops, Ginnegaap is your perfect escape in the buzzing city of Johannesburg. Stylish rooms, great breakfasts, friendly and caring staff, affordable and spotlessly clean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Ginnegaap Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing