We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 299 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

My friend and I booked a twin room to share. The layout of the room was such that there is no door on the bathroom. Having no privacy to use the toilet was awful. Would not have booked there if I had known the setup.
Otherwise in general was ok.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Stephdeutschmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

I am really sorry that the layout of the bathroom of this particular room was an issue. I am, however, glad that you enjoyed our other services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Cozy place with very friendly and helpful staff. Only 'complaint' is that I wish breakfast was earlier, I think it had to do with my waking up @ 5am everyday of my trip before getting here. Excellent!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gafhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

I also wish we were able to serve you breakfast at 5am in the morning! Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had two rooms, one in the main house, the other in a "cottage". Both were of high quality, with comfortable beds, and clean facilities. Breakfasts were superb. Great location for seeing Jo'burg - 20 minutes to Apartheid Museum, Constitution Hill. 10 minute safe walk tor restaurants; N1. Very helpful with directions. Small cavil: parking a bit difficult, but manageable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Friendly staff, beautiful outside area, great breakfast (besides the buffet, pick something from the menu and the chef will make it for you!), the room we got was nice but a bit crammed. The guesthouse is within walking distance to bars and restaurants in Melville.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I found Ginnegaap to offer very good value for money. It is well positioned, quiet and the staff are very helpful. The parking area is quite tight but the staff were helpful and managed to find good parking for me.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Philippa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Located in a quiet street in the suburb of Melville, Ginnegaap is an excellent base to stay in Johannesburg. Corlien and her staff go out of their way to help plan your visit, answering E mails very quickly, while the airport pick up and tours with Jaco are ideal. The guest house itself is a bit of a jumble of buildings, set in a lovely garden with a small pool and is only a few minutes walk from a good variety of restaurants, cafes and bars in Melville. The room I had was large and comfortable, although some of the furnishings and décor were faded and rather down-at-heel. Breakfast was good and there was an excellent choice of cooked dishes. It’s definitely not a 5 star hotel, but it works well.

Melville is an interesting area, which appears to have been a trendy, eclectic suburb at some point, now reputed to have gone down in the world, with guidebook rumours of crime and failing businesses. In reality, it appears to be a mixture of the bohemian, the genteel and the edgy, with the feel of a place which is not quite what it was, but is doing its best. It feels perfectly safe even at night and there is a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amm1u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I was there on the first day of the Christmas – so it was very quiet. The area is in general safe and nice. B&B is in a pretty house with a lovely garden (and a nice dog), and a small swimming pool next to it. It was pretty full of guests when I was there. My room was not big, but was rather nice and clean. The owner was a lady – Corlean - very nice and helpful: she organized a Christmas lunch for me, and then found a guide to visit Jo’burg. Staff was also nice, particularly Thomas was very helpful. The breakfast was very good, especially if sitting at the terrace and enjoying the view on the garden.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimitrije56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#4 of 299 in Johannesburg
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 299 in Johannesburg
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#5 of 299 in Johannesburg
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Motel Mi Pi CHi
Motel Mi Pi CHi
#14 of 66 in Johannesburg
250 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melville Manor Guest House
Melville Manor Guest House
#9 of 299 in Johannesburg
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saffron Guest House
Saffron Guest House
#31 of 299 in Johannesburg
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginnegaap Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginnegaap Guesthouse

Address: 54 4th AVE | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £37 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginnegaap Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ginnegaap Guest House operates from a charming cottage-style house in Melville, one of the oldest and most vibrant suburbs in Johannesburg. This highly recommended and trendy establishment with its 12 tastefully decorated en-suite bedrooms offer business and holiday makers a warm, friendly and comfortable home from home.Within walking distance from quaint coffee shops, restaurants, art galleries, book stores and antique shops, Ginnegaap is your perfect escape in the buzzing city of Johannesburg. Stylish rooms, great breakfasts, friendly and caring staff, affordable and spotlessly clean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Ginnegaap Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing