We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$357
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$304
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$306
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reef Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
134
96
21
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
96
21
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housenice gardenthe main housewalking distancegreat roomlate at nightbreakfast was deliciousenjoyed our staybars and restaurantseach morningcomfortable bedvisit johannesburgbreakfast rooma lovely stayfelt safelucky beansafe area
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at Ginnegaap Guest House while traveling with my two year old son through South Africa. The staff was amazing! Corlien and her family are so helpful and kind. Patrick is gentle, accommodating and extremely helpful. The breakfast is delicious and generous. The setting is very calm and quite beautiful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kellym931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you! We are thrilled that you and your son enjoyed your stay with us and that everything came together to give you the break you deserved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

good location in Melville in a friendly environment! friendly and helpful people to make your stay very pleasant; beautiful garden to relax; a 5 minute walk to the restaurants and Six Melville in 7th street (and near the Spar); during our next visit of Joburg we will stay in Ginnegaap Guesthouse Melville!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WPB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

The fact that you will come back to Ginnegaap with your next visit to South Africa, is the best compliment ever. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

My friend and I booked a twin room to share. The layout of the room was such that there is no door on the bathroom. Having no privacy to use the toilet was awful. Would not have booked there if I had known the setup.
Otherwise in general was ok.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Stephdeutschmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

I am really sorry that the layout of the bathroom of this particular room was an issue. I am, however, glad that you enjoyed our other services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Cozy place with very friendly and helpful staff. Only 'complaint' is that I wish breakfast was earlier, I think it had to do with my waking up @ 5am everyday of my trip before getting here. Excellent!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gafhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

I also wish we were able to serve you breakfast at 5am in the morning! Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had two rooms, one in the main house, the other in a "cottage". Both were of high quality, with comfortable beds, and clean facilities. Breakfasts were superb. Great location for seeing Jo'burg - 20 minutes to Apartheid Museum, Constitution Hill. 10 minute safe walk tor restaurants; N1. Very helpful with directions. Small cavil: parking a bit difficult, but manageable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews