We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 295 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

From the minute we arrived, I felt special as we were greeted by Patrick at the gate. We were escorted to our parking space and he made sure that everything was explained to us, showing us around and taking care of the luggage, etc. It is such a lovely place, very safe, with your own privacy, yet homely, very clean with a comfortable bed and fantastic shower. The owners also came by and made us feel right at home. The next morning breakfast was served on time & the friendly Patrick again explained the menu and made sure we left with good memories - a place we will definately return to.

Room Tip: There is 2 rooms tucked away in a small garden, next to the pool. Very private, we loved it there. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We are always delighted when we hear that our guests left Ginnegaap with great memories. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    85
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
35
83
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Spent 4 days with some friends at Ginnegaap in April, had a great time really enjoyed the homey feel of the place, specially the little hang out areas behind the rooms. Phillip was super friendly and helpful and his eggs are amazing!
They set up a few tours for us to do that were amazing with the very helpful and knowledgeable Jacob. Definitely recommend :)
Antonio, Sharon, Tina & Charlie

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Antonio K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you! So glad you enjoyed our guest house, breakfast and the tours we've arranged for you and your friends. We are really trying to give our guests a good feeling about Johannesburg,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

What a warm welcome! We arrived very early in the morning at Johannesburg.
We used the shuttleservice of Ginnegaap. The sun of Corline drove us to Ginnegaap and told a lot about the surrounding while driving. Next time we book a tour!!
Corline invited us to join breakfast while waiting for our room to be cleaned.
So we could enter the room before check in time and have a nice shower after a long trip from Holland.
The staf was also very friendly and helpfull.
Next time we will stay longer!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Annelies B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you. We always try to accommodate our guests arriving early after a long flight and we understand that all you want is your room, a cup of coffee or tea and a warm shower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Nice, clean room and bathroom. Friendly staff.
Hearty breakfast with a vast choice.
I appreciated the fact that extra service was included: ironing board and iron, hair dryer, at no extra cost.
Lower points: the wifi didn't work, and the tea facilities in the room weren't replaced that regularly. No hanger in the bathroom (it seemed broken and had not been replaced).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mathilde R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Glad you enjoyed our rooms, breakfast and all the extras at no additional cost! I am glad to say that we managed to sort out our Wi-Fi. We've had problems from time to time, but all ended when we changed service providers. We take all comments to heart and thanks to you, the other small problems you mentioned were sorted out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I was very taken care of at Ginnegaap. It was a lovely stay in the end. Rooms are comfortable and clean; breakfast is excellent; and the location is convenient and close to the main street of Melville. A laundromat, video store, and a couple of good restaurants are just a block away and it is within walking distance to the local mall as well. When I arrived, I was at first daunted by the handful of keys I was presented with (a heavy load of 8 or so), and I couldn't figure out how to open some of the doors or find any staff to help (b/c the staff never told where to find them past office hours), and the internet voucher I was given proved to be annoying b/c I could only use either my phone or my computer at one time but in the end offered reliable high speed internet. But I was completely won over by the end of my stay by the amazing service, care, and attention put in by the owner to make my stay pleasant and comfortable. I really appreciated my stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your great comments. I am so glad that found your feet in the end! Your comments helped us to sort out a few things that needed attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Ginnegaap is an excellent guesthouse, ideally located close to the heart of Melville. Restaurant and shopping area within walking distance, in a quiet neighbourhood. The excursion organized for the guests are excellent and the guide really committed !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jerome B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Glad you enjoyed the tours that we organized for you. We make sure that we only use the best guides to show guests our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at Ginnegaap Guest House while traveling with my two year old son through South Africa. The staff was amazing! Corlien and her family are so helpful and kind. Patrick is gentle, accommodating and extremely helpful. The breakfast is delicious and generous. The setting is very calm and quite beautiful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kellym931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you! We are thrilled that you and your son enjoyed your stay with us and that everything came together to give you the break you deserved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.5 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
727 reviews
3.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
398 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 295 in Johannesburg
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 295 in Johannesburg
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
motel Mi Pi CHi
motel Mi Pi CHi
#17 of 68 in Johannesburg
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginnegaap Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginnegaap Guesthouse

Property: Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Address: 54 4th AVE | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 295 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginnegaap Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ginnegaap Guest House in Melville is a charming cottage-style house in one of the oldest and most vibrant suburbs in Johannesburg. This highly recommended and trendy establishment with its 12 tastefully decorated en-suite bedrooms offer business and holiday makers a warm, friendly and comfortable home from home.Within walking distance from quaint coffee shops, restaurants, art galleries, book stores and antique shops, Ginnegaap is your perfect escape in the buzzing city of Johannesburg. Stylish rooms, great breakfasts, friendly and caring staff, affordable and spotlessly clean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ginnegaap Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing