We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”
Review of Villa Schreiner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Schreiner
Ranked #35 of 299 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2012

With four people coming and going, the Studio was perfect. Our own private balcony offered extended living space while the small kitchenette and fridge allowed us to self cater when we felt like it. Michiel and Mark offered both Braie and a traditional Voortrekker's dish cooked slowly over for several hours over the coals. Both meals were highlights of our holiday.

Mark's personal guided tours are value packed. Michiel and Mark's generous hospitality are rare gems. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Villa Schreiner
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

The house, room, bathroom and decorations were beautiful, stylish, warm and comfortable.
We were allowed to spend the evening reading in the lapa and listen to the sounds of the crickets and birds.
We had to wait a little for breakfast and could choose between English or continental breakfast which were both fine.
I really enjoyed the conversation with Michiel who took his time for us in the morning and was very helpful with directions. My daughter wanted to stay longer. Need I say more?

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madwitch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This should really be a room renting establishment. I would not call it a guesthouse as the word implies that people staying here are treated as guests which is not what we expereinced. I would also not call this a B & B as we were not able to get breakfast for the 2 mornings that we stayed.I was staying at this dump(unbeknown to me beforehand) because it is centrally situated to do business in Gauteng. The first evening I said that I would have to leave at 6h30 to be on time for a meeting. I made the mistake of assuming that breakfast would be ready in order to have a quick bite at 6h15. I arrived in the dining room to be told by the owner/host that there was no staff available which meant nor breakfast.....so sorry. The second morning we had to leave only at 8h00. Quarter to 8 there was not a sole in the kitchen or dining room and no sign that breakfast was even being contemplated, in fact the dirty dishes of the previous evening was still standing on the kitchen tops.
On entering the front door a strong, old stale smell of smoke permiated the place. This was explained the first morning after the host enjoyed an evening in front of the TV smoking away. It was however too much trouble for him to empty his ashtray before retireing.
We got the best room in the house which was the main bedroom with a bathroom en suite.This was the only part of the house that was acceptable and seemed to be kept clean.
As this was obviously a 3 bedroomed home that was converted to room rental establishment, the other two rooms had to share a bathroom with an entrance 1 meter from the main bedroom.The chance was therefore good to find some other unfortunate guest dashing from the bathroom in the hall to his room on the other side of the passage.
As often happens 2 single beds were pushed together and made up as an double bed. This usually is not a problem however in this case the height of the 2 beds were different which affected quality of sleep.
Up to our leaving the host forgot to introduce himself
Terrible. Give this one a miss.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank eugeneduplessis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beagleJohannesburg, Owner at Villa Schreiner, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Sadly enough, we could not satisfy these guests at Villa Schreiner.
Due to the "odd-hours" of checking in & checking out, and unable to serve breakfast at 06.00 a.m.,
these guests should opt for a hotel with 24-hour room service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We had a great time in villa schreiner. What a fantastic pool and garden. The braai was great and well organised by the owner Michiel. Nice varied breakfast and lots to do in the neighbourhood. Rooms are just renovated. Stay here for 2-3 days prior to your safari.

Will come back in some years

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The location of the villa is good, the rooms are okay and there is a very nice garden.
At first glance the interieur looks modern but if you look closer everything is a bit old and not so clean. In the morning they don't serve the full english breakfast that is mentioned. Both mornings the bread was frozen and nothing is really fresh.
At arrival we could join in for a braai. The salads were good, the meat somewhat dry. At the dinnertable a nice conversation amongst guests turned into an awkward political discussion because of the dominant presence of the owner, Michiel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marieke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Villa Schreiner and its owner Michiel epitomizes what hospitality should be all about. From the moment I arrived to the day I left I felt welcome and at home. To top this the excellent service, well appointed rooms and the huge garden with its chill areas, beautiful lawns and sparkling pool makes this the ideal home away from home for everyone from businessman to families. I can without hesitation recommend Villa Scheiner and categorically state that this was easily the best value for money I have experienced for a very long time.

Room Tip: Just ask Michiel, he will ensure that you stay in a room that fits your requirements
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohanHuisamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at Villa Schreiner for 2 weeks whilst having medical treatment at a local clinic. We needed somewhere quiet and relaxing. Michiel (the owner) made us feel so welcome. He arranged an airport pick-up for us and showed us the best places to eat locally.
Our room was large and comfortable and well equipped with a lovely view of the large garden with its pool and the gorgeous "summer house" which was a joy to sit in.
The B&B is in a residential area and about 20 minutes walk from Douglasdale centre which has restaurants, bars and supermarkets. It is just across the road from Jukskei Park with its charming river.
Michiel has been in the tourism business for many years and runs a business organising safaris. We needed a few days away and he kindly organised a superb trip for us and booked the accommodation and organised a Hire Car that was delivered to us at the B&B. He event lent us his SatNav !
All in all, if you are looking for a good value, friendly, relaxing place to stay then we recommedn you consider Villa Schriener.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S_Waters806084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
7.8 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#29 of 66 in Johannesburg
170 reviews
3.3 mi away
Shumba Valley Lodge
Shumba Valley Lodge
#52 of 66 in Johannesburg
54 reviews
10.4 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
#37 of 66 in Johannesburg
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Aquanzi Lodge
Aquanzi Lodge
#16 of 299 in Johannesburg
137 reviews
19.2 mi away
Malandela Guest Manor
Malandela Guest Manor
#28 of 299 in Johannesburg
108 reviews
9.3 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 299 in Johannesburg
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Schreiner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Schreiner

Address: 2, Saffier Street | Jukskei Park, Johannesburg 2165, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £31 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Schreiner 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Owner from November 2014. Only 8 minutes from Fourways Mall and the famous Montecasino, 6 min from Olivedale Clinic, 12 min from the Coca Cola Dome and Sandton Medi-Clinic and 20 min from Sandton City, Villa Schreiner guest house under thatch is situated in the quiet residential suburb of Jukskei Park. Five beautiful, individually decorated rooms overlook the large beautiful tropical garden and pool and the Family Studio for 7 people has its own separate entrance, large living room and private large outside patio and bar area. Flat Screen TV, DSTV in every room and free Wireless Internet on property. A full English and continental breakfast is served outside on the sun patio or in the formal dining room. Villa Schreiner welcomes you to enjoy a warm hospitality, personal charm & true tranquility. There are two excellent gourmet restaurants, a coffee shop,5 Take away shops and boutique shops at the Douglasdale Shopping Centre, only five minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Schreiner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing