We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has potential but needs a good cleaning”
Review of Villa Schreiner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Schreiner
Ranked #36 of 295 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East sussex
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Has potential but needs a good cleaning”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed in the family house. Location is perfect, outside area is marvellous, whole entire house looks good but the downfall is that the place is dirty it needs a proper cleaning otherwise it's only a matter of time before its run down. There is loads of spider webs in the cupboard near the stair case. Insects in the room due to the thatched roof.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spaghetti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beagleJohannesburg, Owner at Villa Schreiner, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Unfortunately, we experienced heavy rainfall combined very hot periods of sunshine. January is our 'wet season', which may cause spiders etc due to thatched roof. We will do everything to remedy this effectively and will inspect rooms on a daily basis. Michiel Schreiner. Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    28
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
37
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

The location of the guest house is good, especially when you arrive for Lanseria Airport. The owner Michiel is very friendly and helpful. If you want to stay for diner it is no problem. I stayed in a very big room and everything you needed was there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob72CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlstad, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I strongly recomend this guesthouse. excllent rooms,excellent staff, Michiel and mark welcomes you and make your stay very comfortable. There generous hospitality are rare to find. Marks personel guided tour are well organized and very professional. I enjoyed every minute of my stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanE189873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

With four people coming and going, the Studio was perfect. Our own private balcony offered extended living space while the small kitchenette and fridge allowed us to self cater when we felt like it. Michiel and Mark offered both Braie and a traditional Voortrekker's dish cooked slowly over for several hours over the coals. Both meals were highlights of our holiday.

Mark's personal guided tours are value packed. Michiel and Mark's generous hospitality are rare gems. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The house, room, bathroom and decorations were beautiful, stylish, warm and comfortable.
We were allowed to spend the evening reading in the lapa and listen to the sounds of the crickets and birds.
We had to wait a little for breakfast and could choose between English or continental breakfast which were both fine.
I really enjoyed the conversation with Michiel who took his time for us in the morning and was very helpful with directions. My daughter wanted to stay longer. Need I say more?

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madwitch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballito, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This should really be a room renting establishment. I would not call it a guesthouse as the word implies that people staying here are treated as guests which is not what we expereinced. I would also not call this a B & B as we were not able to get breakfast for the 2 mornings that we stayed.I was staying at this dump(unbeknown to me beforehand) because it is centrally situated to do business in Gauteng. The first evening I said that I would have to leave at 6h30 to be on time for a meeting. I made the mistake of assuming that breakfast would be ready in order to have a quick bite at 6h15. I arrived in the dining room to be told by the owner/host that there was no staff available which meant nor breakfast.....so sorry. The second morning we had to leave only at 8h00. Quarter to 8 there was not a sole in the kitchen or dining room and no sign that breakfast was even being contemplated, in fact the dirty dishes of the previous evening was still standing on the kitchen tops.
On entering the front door a strong, old stale smell of smoke permiated the place. This was explained the first morning after the host enjoyed an evening in front of the TV smoking away. It was however too much trouble for him to empty his ashtray before retireing.
We got the best room in the house which was the main bedroom with a bathroom en suite.This was the only part of the house that was acceptable and seemed to be kept clean.
As this was obviously a 3 bedroomed home that was converted to room rental establishment, the other two rooms had to share a bathroom with an entrance 1 meter from the main bedroom.The chance was therefore good to find some other unfortunate guest dashing from the bathroom in the hall to his room on the other side of the passage.
As often happens 2 single beds were pushed together and made up as an double bed. This usually is not a problem however in this case the height of the 2 beds were different which affected quality of sleep.
Up to our leaving the host forgot to introduce himself
Terrible. Give this one a miss.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eugeneduplessis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beagleJohannesburg, Owner at Villa Schreiner, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Sadly enough, we could not satisfy these guests at Villa Schreiner.
Due to the "odd-hours" of checking in & checking out, and unable to serve breakfast at 06.00 a.m.,
these guests should opt for a hotel with 24-hour room service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We had a great time in villa schreiner. What a fantastic pool and garden. The braai was great and well organised by the owner Michiel. Nice varied breakfast and lots to do in the neighbourhood. Rooms are just renovated. Stay here for 2-3 days prior to your safari.

Will come back in some years

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
19.2 mi away
Malandela Guest Manor
Malandela Guest Manor
#37 of 295 in Johannesburg
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
33 on First Guest House
33 on First Guest House
#32 of 295 in Johannesburg
66 reviews
9.3 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 295 in Johannesburg
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Villa D'or Guest House
Villa D'or Guest House
#4 of 12 in Fourways
40 reviews
2.3 mi away
North Haven Country Estate
North Haven Country Estate
#199 of 295 in Johannesburg
1 reviews
5.5 mi away
Aquanzi Lodge
Aquanzi Lodge
#16 of 295 in Johannesburg
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Schreiner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Schreiner

Property: Villa Schreiner
Address: 2, Saffier Street | Jukskei Park, Johannesburg 2165, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 295 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Schreiner 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Owner from November 2014. Only 8 minutes from Fourways Mall and the famous Montecasino, 6 min from Olivedale Clinic, 12 min from the Coca Cola Dome and Sandton Medi-Clinic and 20 min from Sandton City, Villa Schreiner guest house under thatch is situated in the quiet residential suburb of Jukskei Park. Five beautiful, individually decorated rooms overlook the large beautiful tropical garden and pool and the Family Studio for 7 people has its own separate entrance, large living room and private large outside patio and bar area. Flat Screen TV, DSTV in every room and free Wireless Internet on property. A full English and continental breakfast is served outside on the sun patio or in the formal dining room. Villa Schreiner welcomes you to enjoy a warm hospitality, personal charm & true tranquility. There are two excellent gourmet restaurants, a coffee shop,5 Take away shops and boutique shops at the Douglasdale Shopping Centre, only five minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Villa Schreiner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing