We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and tired”
Review of Villa Schreiner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Schreiner
Ranked #37 of 297 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Old and tired”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Villa Schreiner, is showing it's age, and is in need of some TLC and some money to get it up to standard. I was given the wrong keys to my room, so had to sleep with my door unlocked. There were many maintenance issues, which the owner blamed on staff not reporting them to him, but it is not the fault of the staff, it is just disinterest. The sheets on my bed were dirty, and the owner promised to change them the next day (why couldn't he change them then and there), but they were not changed. The only plus about this place is the location

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 247LiveLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    28
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
37
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The location is very nice, Michiel and his team are helpful and very friendly. We have had the appartment and it's perfect for a family with 2 separated rooms/bathrooms and a big lounge and nice terrace, however some traffic noise in the morning. Breakfast is also good with enough variety and quantity. The bathroom downstairs are not convenient because under stairs. This is deserving some working-party to modify a bit the structure of this bathroom.
All in one, very good address at a decent price.

Room Tip: Apartment is good for family of 4 and more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stéphane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Disappointment was the only way to describe our stay, our two bedroom unit looked nothing like the website photographs, it was dirty, the carpets stained, towels old, bathroom mats well used, the cupboards, blinds and lights were damaged, the crockery cracked and the shower full of mildew the only good thing to say about the accommodation was the outside deck. No sign of management and only a male domestic to hand us our keys. Great location but in urgent need of an upgrade!

Room Tip: Ask if any rooms have sound proofing and black out lining, our curtains were very light in colour an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer196807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Wow ! Our stay was made so comfortable ! We received 5 star service and paid for a 3 star stay! I highly recommend villa schreiner for absolute value and 5 star accomodation at 3 star pricing !
We stayed there for 2 weeks and were made to feel like we were at home .
Thank you Michiel and Mark for a wonderful experience

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank migfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This was our first place we stayed at for our South African trip and what a great place to start our holiday. When we first arrived there was a mistake with our rooms, but our host was so helpful and let us take a 3rd room no problem. The rooms were extremely comfortable and well equipped with tea/coffee facilities and TV's.
The breakfasts were plentiful with a huge selection of cold meats, cheeses, breads and then also available was the cooked breakfast. We also had a really nice BBQ and beers one evening which was really well prepared.
We also had a really nice tour with Mark to Soweto which was really wicked. We jumped off the Orlando Cooling Towers!
I would highly recommend you to stay here and I will definitely stay here again if I return to Joburg.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiDiverAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I really enjoyed staying at Villa Schreiner Guest House. Owner Michiel is very friendly and gives you a lot of tips, where to dine & wine, etc. The rooms are nice, overlooking the beautiful garden & pool. Very quiet area also. Mark, the tour guide can take you to all interesting places. He is a lot of fun, and has good knowledge of the country. I certailnly can recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: I loved the upstairs superior room (Winnifred). It has a stunning garden view and is very charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East sussex
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed in the family house. Location is perfect, outside area is marvellous, whole entire house looks good but the downfall is that the place is dirty it needs a proper cleaning otherwise it's only a matter of time before its run down. There is loads of spider webs in the cupboard near the stair case. Insects in the room due to the thatched roof.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spaghetti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beagleJohannesburg, Owner at Villa Schreiner, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Unfortunately, we experienced heavy rainfall combined very hot periods of sunshine. January is our 'wet season', which may cause spiders etc due to thatched roof. We will do everything to remedy this effectively and will inspect rooms on a daily basis. Michiel Schreiner. Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.0 mi away
33 on First Guest House
33 on First Guest House
#34 of 297 in Johannesburg
66 reviews
19.2 mi away
Malandela Guest Manor
Malandela Guest Manor
#30 of 297 in Johannesburg
102 reviews
5.5 mi away
Aquanzi Lodge
Aquanzi Lodge
#16 of 297 in Johannesburg
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
North Haven Country Estate
North Haven Country Estate
#199 of 297 in Johannesburg
1 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa D'or Guest House
Villa D'or Guest House
#4 of 12 in Fourways
43 reviews
1.1 mi away
Twin Waters Guest House
Twin Waters Guest House
#5 of 55 in Randburg
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Schreiner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Schreiner

Property: Villa Schreiner
Address: 2, Saffier Street | Jukskei Park, Johannesburg 2165, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Schreiner 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Owner from November 2014. Only 8 minutes from Fourways Mall and the famous Montecasino, 6 min from Olivedale Clinic, 12 min from the Coca Cola Dome and Sandton Medi-Clinic and 20 min from Sandton City, Villa Schreiner guest house under thatch is situated in the quiet residential suburb of Jukskei Park. Five beautiful, individually decorated rooms overlook the large beautiful tropical garden and pool and the Family Studio for 7 people has its own separate entrance, large living room and private large outside patio and bar area. Flat Screen TV, DSTV in every room and free Wireless Internet on property. A full English and continental breakfast is served outside on the sun patio or in the formal dining room. Villa Schreiner welcomes you to enjoy a warm hospitality, personal charm & true tranquility. There are two excellent gourmet restaurants, a coffee shop,5 Take away shops and boutique shops at the Douglasdale Shopping Centre, only five minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Schreiner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing