We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ninety North Guest House
Ranked #50 of 291 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Itzgrund
1 review
“Great staff”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are big and clean. Good breakfast.
Only problem is the location. Not even Taxi drivers are finding it.
I enjoyed my stay at Ninety North Guest House and will come again gladly.



  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dieter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndavan, Owner at Ninety North Guest House, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
So sorry that the taxi drivers could not find us. We are listed on Google Maps so every map and directions device/app has us listed by name. However, it means we are quiet even if not too far off the beaten track, and despite this, we were pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff came up to your expectations. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a helpful review. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sasolburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I had a wonderful stay at Ninety North Guest House. Brenda was a wonderful hostess. She even made me coffee while I was sitting in the lounge. The lovely rooms and good breakfasts made it an home from home experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndavan, Owner at Ninety North Guest House, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us, Elaine. We appreciate your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I had such fantastic & friendly service at Ninety North guest house, and the room was very comfortable. I would definitely go again if I needed to stay in the area and would recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The B&B is clearly set up for SA business not visitors, it is clean & modern but lacking in warmth,it is sterile. We arrived on a Sat. morning, and being from UK wanted information on safety & security, local restaurants,shopping and tourist info., non was available, just a page of rules & regs., but Brenda the lady who met us would ask the owner Lynda on Monday. The TV in our room was not working or the free WIFI but it would be fixed on Monday. The breakfasts were OK but if a menu was available it would be better. The accom. is very good and with the addition of a normal fridge, better information about the facilities and area, staff who can advise ( perhaps a visit from the elusive Lynda ) our stay would have been much improved.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndavan, Owner at Ninety North Guest House, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
So sorry that I was not at the guest house to assist you, as we were on business in Swaziland, otherwise it would have been my greatest pleasure to give you tips and guidance and welcome you personally to Ninety North.
We have two Internet access systems - our free one is via satellite but has been giving endless problems and I am so sorry it was not working when you were staying with us - and it is unfortunate that Brenda was unable to access information for you on places to see and visit. (Our other internet access is a Hot Spot whereby guests can choose to purchase data and time which can be used around the country)
Your issues have been taken up, repairs have been undertaken and we shall ensure that more tourist information by way of brochures, maps and booklets are made available and that all staff are better informed.
I am so sorry that your welcome to Johannesburg was not as warm as we normally give and we thank you for taking the time and effort to write your review to enable us to give better service in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

An exceptional guest house ideal for a quiet time with fantastic staff, tasty breakfast, and excellent service. This guest house is within a quiet location in Ranburg and highly recommended for business trips.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndavan, Owner at Ninety North Guest House, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Ninety North. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you come to Johannesburg and thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Ninety North on the recommendation of a close friend who lived nearby. Rooms were spacious, decent breakfast prepared fresh and friendly staff. Agreed for a late check out which was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Uttam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone, Botswana
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Every time we stay there is like its getting better all the time. Traveling from Botswana, Ninety North is the place to relax in luxury. Service is top of the range. Linda has always gone out of her way to make our stay awesome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndavan, Owner at Ninety North Guest House, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you! It was great to see you both again and to meet your most beautiful baby boy. 'til next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
7.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
8.1 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
9.1 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
6.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ninety North Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ninety North Guest House

Property: Ninety North Guest House
Address: 90 North Street | Ferndale, Johannesburg 2194, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 291 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ninety North Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 En suite bedrooms plus one single self contained studio available in a garden villa in the northern suburbs of Johannesburg. Queen, king and twin bedded suites available. Sumptuous breakfast served each morning - dinner on request - and tea and coffee available all day.Close to highway access, central to Randburg, Sandton, Cresta and Cocoa Cola Dome at Northgate. 20 Minutes to Sandton and 30 minutes from Jhb city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ninety North Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing