We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Arrived quite late from Sun City and stayed for one night before leaving for Cape Town in the morning. As mentioned by others, great vibe in the lobby/reception area upon arrival. The place looks like it has been refurbished recently but I don't really fancy the look they went for (a bit tacky and lacked warmth). Bed was comfy, bathroom a tad tiny. Breakfast was splendid. I would say 3.5/5 stars.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidkwchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikola J, Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

The Crowne Plaza, Johannesburg - The Rosebank team thanks you for your great feedback.

It is true that we have recently renovated our hotel. We were going for a trendy, chic look.

We value your positive and constructive comments regarding the warmth and attitude of our team members. It is indeed our core value to welcome all our guests with genuine care and to pamper them throughout their stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at our Hotel name] and we do hope that you will give us the opportunity to be of service to you again and welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Kathleen Hedges - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

557 - 563 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

The Crowne Plaza Rosebank is one of the most well maintained and stylish Crowne Plazas that I have stayed at. Located in Rosebank, close to the police station, this place is about ten minutes on foot to the closest mall. The place around is considerably safe. Rooms are clean and very stylish again. The bathroom is a little cramped up but that can be ignored. The staff are very friendly. In terms of food, their breakfast buffet spread is lavish. They have the famous Butchers Block that is any meat lovers paradise. Their trendy bar also serves some of the best local and international alcohol brands. However if someone wishes to dine elsewhere, the mall offers a plethora of options like Mimohs, Ninos, Europa etc. The hotels decor, combined with the courteous staff definitely makes this place a hit

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors offer an awesome view of the skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank emKYUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikola J, Owner at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing us with your all-round great feedback.
I have shared all your great comments with my team. We look forward to welcome you back to our stylish hotel very soon.

Till we meet again,

Warm regards,

Allan Clingham – General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We spent 3 nights here, taking 2 rooms. It looks newly renovated with the stylish elements of most three or four-star hotels. The rooms and bathrooms were small but comfortable enough. Warm and friendly staff but I think that is typically South African hospitality. The details weren't great - floor light was broken and took 2 days and a reminder to fix; the lights are wired strangely, when someone swtiches on a bathroom light in the middle of the night, the wall light over the writing table comes on and wakes up the other person (same in both rooms). There were other minor irritations which I have now forgotten. I would still recommend this hotel for value; it is not expensive given the location. Short walk to the mall with so many places to eat; also not a long to the train station. Very safe to walk in the area, even at night. Lots of police on guard.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleSin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikola J, Owner at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

Dear Crowne Plaza guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We appreciate it, and it helps us to stay on top of our game.
I have passed your feedback regarding the wiring in our rooms on to our Maintenance manager, and he will be looking into it personally. I can assure you that the problem will be rectified and taken care of.
My team thanks you for all you positive cements. We hope that we can welcome you soon.
Best regards,
Kathleen Hedges- Guest Relations Manager
Crowne Plaza, Johannesburg – The Rosebank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Stayed over for one night arriving late. Despite a small hick-up with the airport pick up, that was quickly rectified, all went smooth. The room was excellent with quite an interesting half-mirror separation to the the bedroom. Well laid out and as promised by the hotel - very quiet...almost overslept!

The lobby and bar area has a good vibe going in the night which I usually miss at other hotels, especially when travelling alone. The bar guys were on top of their game and in for a joke.

Breakfast was good with a wide range of foods and quick service to refill your coffee. The gym looked good, but due to an early meeting (and perhaps one beer too many the night before) I did not try... There is a swimming pool also, however this is not heated and thus only nice in the summer.

Good place to stay!

Room Tip: Get a higher floor to enjoy a view - mine was on the 1st floor ;-(
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikola J, Owner at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at our hotel. I have shared your lovely feedback with my team. They all thank you very much.
We are very happy that you received the quality service and product that you truly deserve.
It is very much important to us that our guests feel at home when they are staying with us, and that they enjoy their stay to the full.
We hope and trust that we can welcome you back soon.
Warmest regards,
Kathleen Hedges – Guest Relations Manager
Crowne Plaza, Johannesburg- The Rosebank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I have stayed at the Rosebank on business trips on a few occasions by now and have always been happy with location and the rooms themselves. Rooms are lovely, very clean and spacious and the beds are most comfortable. Staff is generally very friendly and efficient.

I however have to agree with other reviewers about the extremely high price of internet access. Reducing the costs or providing free internet access, as so many hotels do these days, would make the hotel even more appealing to business travellers.

The other downside is the transport system. Taxis are first very expensive and often late, even when booked in advance. I had a very bad experience during my last stay when my taxi, booked and paid in advance at the hotel's travel desk, showed up 15 minutes late (which makes a big difference when the journey itself takes 15 minutes). When I called to get a pick-up to return to the hotel, even though I called 30 minutes in advance, the taxi was not there at the agreed time. I called the travel desk repeatedly, was told each time that the driver was "close", "on his way", "almost there". After waiting for 30 minutes I had to ask a colleague to drive me to the hotel as the taxi had not shown up. There does not seem to be much communication between the travel desk and the hotel reception, which makes it confusing for guests. Having specifically requested at the time of booking that all airport transfers be charged to my company's corporate credit card, I was still asked by the travel desk to pay for return airport transfers. Better coordination is definitely needed here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie_25555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikola J, Owner at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time and effort to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at our Hotel We can assure you that your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to consistently improve our product and service standards.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Your feedback on our travel desk making repeated errors with your transport, and with the regards to your transport being delayed every time is certainly not reflective of the levels of service and product standards we strive to offer to every single guest of our hotel.
We would therefore like to confirm that your comments have been passed on to our Travel desk Owner, and my General Manager.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I do hope you will allow us the opportunity of welcoming you back to in the not to distant future.
Please do not hesitate to contact me should you need any further assistance in the future.
Kind regards,
Kathleen Hedges – Guest Relations Manager
Crowne Plaza, Johannesburg – The Rosebank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The location, rooms, reception etc. Are all nicely and modern done. The hotel restaurant is really good with reasonable prices on steaks and wine. The best fillet steak i have ever had.

On the downside the hotels pick up service was 2.5 hours late. The driver seemed to be a friend to someone who wored at the hotel with a very old car. In addition he was not able to find the hotel. This fact, together with the staffs inefficiency and ignorance results in my thumb down, and i dont reccomend to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paldrevl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikola J, Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

It is great of you to point out the positives you experienced with our location, and your feedback on enjoying our food.
Please except my apologies for the transport issues that you experienced before and during your stay with us. I certainly would love the opportunity to make this up to you, should you decide to give our lovely property another chance.
We are using an outsourced transport company and will most definitely look into your concerns with regards to this and make sure that this does not happen again in the future to you or any other guest.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Warmest regards,
Allan Clingham – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed here for one night and weren't disappointed. It is a great hotel with great staff. We thought the room was lovely and clean and the room service fantastic. We had food in the evening and the next day for lunch and it really was a fantastic quality and delicious. We also felt very safe. We would definitely recommend staying.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshgirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_2009, Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at Crowne Plaza, Johannesburg- The Rosebank. It’s very much appreciated!

Guest’s perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying at our hotel is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. We can therefore assure you that your feedback is being used constructively to maintain and improve our guest service standards and facilities offered.

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Kathleen Hedges - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
2 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
1.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
0.2 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#9 of 67 in Johannesburg
207 reviews
3.8 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#11 of 67 in Johannesburg
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank

Address: CNR Tyrwhitt & Sturdee Avenues | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2132, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#12 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: £76 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg – The Rosebank is a modern and stylish Johannesburg Hotel that is ideally located for business and leisure travel. The establishment is only 30 minutes drive from O.R.Tambo International Airport and a short drive from the Johannesburg and Sandton Business Districts. The hotel is in walking distance of the Rosebank Mall and the African Craft Market that offers visiting guests a wide array of up-market shopping and dining options. The hotel’s central location makes it the ideal base to access famous Johannesburg tourist attractions such as the Apartheid Museum, Lion Park and Soweto. Coca Cola Park Stadium and Wanderers Cricket Ground , both major sports stadiums are within 10 minutes drive from the hotel.If you do not feel the need to venture out of the hotel, we offer the various dining options such as the Butcher Block, Fresh Restaurant and the Rosebank Cafe. For some of the most famous cocktails in Johannesburg, our very own funky and trendy Circle Bar is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank Hotel Rosebank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing