We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Crowne Plaza in S. Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Crowne Plaza in S. Africa”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

As my father was an Israeli diplomat - we used to stay in this hotel but after 15 years I flew to S. africa alone to see my friends and stayed at this hotel. The hotel is so beautiful and the desine is one of the best. The staff gives you a great welcome at front desk and in a few moments you are in your room with a view that is the line of Crowne Plaze. The service and the food is outstanding and if you need a tour at the Saffari - the staff will help you at once. MOST RECOMENDED when you are in Johansburg for night-over or a week

Room Tip: I think the best rooms are on the South side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear "Natan L",

We are humbled by your spectacular review! Thank you for the support and for choosing to stay at our beloved Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank.

Do make sure you pay us another visit soon when returning to South Africa.

Warm regards,


Alwyn Hoffman - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    285
    99
    34
    24
See reviews for
50
106
50
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel a few times in the past few months. It's well managed. As a guest you have a feeling that staff is motivated to excel. There is always room for improvement but the overall experience is great.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room on the north tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZvikaGl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear "1stAccidentalTourist",

Its "always a pleasure" to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Johannesburg! Thank you so much for your kind recommendations on TripAdvisor.

The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,


Allan Clingham - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stopped off in Joburg to see some friends on the way to the Cape, were recommened to stay in either Sandton or Rosebank - choose Rosebank as price wise it's cheaper, the hotel itself it very nice, good facilities and has a mall very near by with a lot of restaurant - see separate review for The Grillhouse. Overall very good for our brief stop.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krippy1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_CPJ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear "Krippy1999",

Glad to hear we have been able to create a comfortable and relaxing "stop over" when visiting Johannesburg! Do make sure you pay us another visit soon.

Warm regards,

Alwyn Hoffman - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Positives: Safe Location, Parking space.
Average: Breakfast Buffet.
Negatives: The rooms are terribly small, the service is unimaginably slow, the check-in process is lengthy and they are not efficient with payments. I had to stand on counter for more than an hour to complete the formalities. The people will take their sweet time to deliver something to your room. While having breakfast I was struggling with the cloche of a dish and the lady was looking at me from a distance to know how I will figure it out instead of coming and helping me. They simply dont care, there is no motivation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear "Chandan M",

Thank you for taking the time and effort to provide us with your feedback! You can imagine I was unpleasantly surprised to read your review and would like to offer my sincere apologies for the disappointing experience.

The quality and speed of service you have received is certainly not reflective of the levels we strive to offer to every single guest of our hotel. I can however assure you that our team members "do care" about your quality of stay and are definitely motivated to provide efficient and effective guest service to every guest at the hotel. So, I am convinced that your experience is a rare and isolated one and not a repeating occurrence.

I will carefully review your comments with the senior management team and evaluate how this could have been avoided. Thank you for assisting us in our ongoing drive for quality and enabling us to improve the hospitality offered to our guests.

I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again and welcoming you to the Crowne Plaza Johannesburg again soon.

Yours sincerely,


Allan Clingham - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, clean and close to rosebank mall with plenty of shops and restaurants. So close on fact that you can walk.

Internet is free for IHG reward members and more often than not normal members as well. Speed and connectivity are great.

Breakfast is good not the best.

Rooms are clean and bed is comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmate182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear "travelmate182",

Thank you for the great recommendations! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Allan Clingham - General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Crowne Plaza (Rosebank) has always been one of my favorite hotels (I spend 60 - 90 nights a year in hotels) and I stay there exclusively when in Johannesburg (as reviewed previously on this site). But a couple months ago I had a less-than-wonderful experience there: things just didnt seem to be going right with the room, check out, etc. I was worried things were slipping. But I had accumulated points and decided to redeem them and give the hotel another try. I was so pleased to find the hotel even exceeded my expectations; this was easily my best experience at the venue and that is saying a lot. I was warmly greeted not only by a member of staff but the manager. Check-in took 3 minutes and I was in my room (even using points, I was still upgraded which was a pleasant surprise). Everything in the room was clean and perfect. As I've written before, the Crowne's rooms are among the most comfortable and quiet hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. I've never heard a sound from outside my room. The only downside is you truly don't want to get out of the comfortable bed in the morning! Easy and safe walking distance to the Rosebank shopping complex (although, be warned, Rosebank mall is largely a construction site at the moment with more than half the shops and restaurants closed so if you are eager to do some serious shopping I recommend you jump on the Rosebank Gautrain and head to Sandton). Had room service for the first time - ordered a double burger because usually room service burgers are small. This was excellent and huge - couldn't finish! Fortunately the gym at Crowne is first rate and the perfect place to work off that burger! In short, Crowne definitely won me back and I'm looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear "John H",

What a great review! We sincerely appreciate your loyalty and support to the Crowne Plaza Johannesburg.

Dropping the ball is only acceptable if it's followed up by a relentless focus on fixing the issue, getting it right and driving ongoing improvement. We are so pleased to hear we have been able to win back your trust.

We can't wait to hosting you again soon when returning to our beautiful country.

Warm regards,

Allan Clingham - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We enjoyed a brief stay after our safari and were really impressed. Clean, modern and a very attentive staff. Great location for seeing the sights. Not a choice if you want to stay close to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear "Dennis G",

Excellent feedback!

We are thrilled to hear we have been able to create a comfortable and relaxing stay upon your return from the bush!

Do make sure you stay with us for a bit longer and check out the sights and sounds of Johannesburg, when returning to South Africa!

Warm regards,

Allan Clingham - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
0.3 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
390 reviews
3.8 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#12 of 68 in Johannesburg
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#7 of 68 in Johannesburg
666 reviews
1.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank

Property: Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Address: CNR Tyrwhitt & Sturdee Avenues | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2132, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#12 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg – The Rosebank is a modern and stylish Johannesburg Hotel that is ideally located for business and leisure travel. The establishment is only 30 minutes drive from O.R.Tambo International Airport and a short drive from the Johannesburg and Sandton Business Districts. The hotel is in walking distance of the Rosebank Mall and the African Craft Market that offers visiting guests a wide array of up-market shopping and dining options. The hotel’s central location makes it the ideal base to access famous Johannesburg tourist attractions such as the Apartheid Museum, Lion Park and Soweto. Coca Cola Park Stadium and Wanderers Cricket Ground , both major sports stadiums are within 10 minutes drive from the hotel.If you do not feel the need to venture out of the hotel, we offer the various dining options such as the Butcher Block, Fresh Restaurant and the Rosebank Cafe. For some of the most famous cocktails in Johannesburg, our very own funky and trendy Circle Bar is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank Hotel Rosebank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing