We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Nearby Hotels
US$353
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
54 on Bath(Johannesburg)
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reef Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (729)
Filter reviews
729 results
Traveller rating
235
324
106
38
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
324
106
38
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutcher blockfresh restaurantnorth towertravel deskihg memberbusiness loungebusiness hotelclub loungeroom servicegautrain stationrain showerbreakfast buffetbusiness triphousekeeping staffmodern hotelrooms are comfortableshopping mall
Filter
Updating list...
418 - 423 of 729 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Picked the Crowne Plaza Rosebank this trip instead of the Holiday Inn Rosebank because of a cheaper price and to try a different hotel. The Crowne Plaza is an older hotel compared to the other IHG property up the road. I stayed in the South Tower which seemed tired and had a lack of electrical outlets in the room. (Had to pull the clock radio out to charge my phone) The bathroom was probably as large as a closet. It was very tiny with a shower/toilet/sink all wedged in. The service from the Front Desk and Bell Desk was ok, however it seemed like to were disturbing them when you were asking a question. The Zone (Mall) is a couple blocks away from the hotel which gives you a variety of eating options if you wanted to get away from the property. Overall, the property was fine maybe a refresh of the rooms would bring it up to par.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADashFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear "CODashFlyer",

Thank you for the honest feedback on your stay. Clearly, we are very disappointed to hear that we have not fully lived up to your expectations. Our hotel is indeed an historical location as its been a hotel for many many decades in the funky suburb called Rosebank.

Our public areas as well as the rooms have been refurbished a few years ago, hence have been provided with a new and fresh Crowne Plaza look and feel. However, we have noted your points of improvement when it comes to the facilities on offer and will certainly discuss this with the management team in detail.

We do hope that your recent experience will not deter you from visiting us again in future, as we would love to host you once more, upon your return to Johannesburg.

Warm regards,

Allan Clingham - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed here only for one night, so can't say much. However I have to say I was extremely disappointed with the room. It's not much to look at. Stayed at a couple of Crowne Plaza's in the US and the one in New Delhi was opulent. This one was no better than a Holiday Inn (and there's a Holiday Inn around the corner). The room was small and didn't look like anything in the pictures on the website. It was plain and grey. The bathroom was tight. Breakfast was great. The staff was friendly but I still haven't received my IHG reward points!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear "brianonthego",

We appreciate your kind feedback on your recent stay with us. Although, I am somewhat concerned to hear your comments on your room experience. Although, we have been around as a hotel for quite some time, we do not feel that our rooms are outdated in look and feel. Although there are Crowne Plaza hotels in the world that have recently opened up that are more advanced in its look and feel of the room facilities, we do however feel that our rooms are well on par and are reflected on our website correctly.

If you would like, you can send us some more details on what was your main concern and / or disappointment when it comes to the room facilities, so we can take further learning from it. Please contact us via guestrelationsmanager@therosebank.co.za so we can further assist you.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

Warm regards,

Allan Clingham - General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is the 4th time I'm stay with crowne plaza. Check-in process and other services are extremely organized and smooth. One of the restaurants which serve food in Jo'burg real late (Very bad city, when it comes to food 24/7). They have a decent gym and rental car service which makes it convenient. Rosebank mall is near by and the mall is a very good source of restaurants and stuff to while away time on weekends. Its a good hotel to stay if you are no a business trip.

Room Tip: Choose the north tower, has good view
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear "Ajith S",

Thank you for being a loyal guests to our hotel! We thank you for sharing your kind recommendations with the TripAdvisor community!

Its much appreciated!

Warm regards,

Allan Clingham - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We went here for a two night stay , we had a bussiness function the one evening. The public areas was very funky and interesting. the service at breakfast was not. For such a beautiful hotel , the service was surprisingly poor? no interest and it was if there was a lack of training?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heilavh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear "Heilavh",

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Crowne Plaza Johannesburg! Although you indicate to have had a comfortable stay with us, we regret to hear the service in our breakfast room has let you down. We have already discussed your service experience with the management team and have implemented appropriate action already.

I can assure you that staff training & development is a key focus of the hotel, hence we will strive to rectify this issue soonest.

We do hope you will pay us another visit soon when back in Johannesburg.

Your sincerely,

Allan Clingham - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Rooms clean and well equipped, location is very good, safe to walk around. The mall almost next door, by the way, visit the African market at the Mall, very reasonable prices and lots of souvenirs, wait if you can for the Roof Market on Sundays, even more things to see and fun. Very good Fitness room. Great restaurant, try the beef and the $R300.00 local pinotage wine! Very high quality of breakfast (included in the room rate) too!!

Room Tip: It does not really make much difference, at least not that I know.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leomex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear "LeoMex",

Greetings from the team at the Crowne Plaza Johannesburg!

We are thrilled to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and soaked up the Rosebank atmosphere and energetic surroundings. The Rosebank market is indeed an ideal place to buy affordable but beautiful local arts and crafts.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Allan Clingham - General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews