We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conferencing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Conferencing”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

The ambience of the conference rooms is very conducive even for a reasonable small group of participants.The range of eats at tea break and service was excellent since early breakfast is not for me.The set up for tea break allowed for opportunities to network since there was somewhere to sit and chat during tea break.The variety of dishes for main course for lunch on offer might have been limited by the conference rate so maybe under normal circumstances its better since the desert was quite broad and delicious.I also liked the closeness to the mall .

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
don j, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, 26 September 2016
Dear Rose M

Your feedback is much appreciated.
The hotel and it's staff will be ensuring that we turn the feedback into an improved guest experience.

We look forward to your return

Kind regards
Don Jesseman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    282
    97
    33
    23
See reviews for
49
106
50
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Over all the hotel is a great stay with friendly staff. I did upgrade my room to club room for couple of rands as a special upgrade. club room has pool view and comparatively more cozy then executive standard room. Rooms are quite and nearly no noise from outside though the hotel is situated near road side. breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_CPJ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
I am delighted that you had a GREAT STAY with us at The Crowne Plaza and Im looking forward to your return visit.
Kind regards
Alwyn Hoffman
Head Concierge
The Crowne Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I used to work in the hotel industry before. So I have something to compare with. "Crowne Plaza" is very modern. Our room was very clean and looked presentable. We had the breakfast in the restaurant. They have great variety of breakfast menu which can satisfy all the customers. We ordered the room service in the evening. The food presentation was excellent. It was very tasty. The delivery was quite fast. All staff which we met around the hotel (Housekeeping, F&B, Reception, etc) was very polite and grateful. I know how hard it is to work in the hospitality industry. However those employees made my day. Me and my husband really enjoyed our stay. Keep it up,"Crowne Plaza"!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liudmila77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_CPJ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Liudmila77

Thank You for the wonderful feed back received from a Ex Hotelier and it is indeed rewarding to see that all our hardworking in training our staff have paid off and seen by our guests.

I have sent a copy of your replied survey onto our Front Office Manager , The Food and Beverage Manager as well as to Human resources to have this mentioned to all our staff.

I do hope that we will be seeing you back at The Crowne Plaza soon.

Kind regards
Alwyn Hoffman
Head Concierge
The Crowne Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Well generally the hotel was okay except for when i left some change on the table and when i came back it was gone! Of course i learnt how to use the safe afterwards. Haha. Breakfast was delicious and the rooms were okay. The staff seemed polite.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredvaingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
don j, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, 26 September 2016
Dear Guest
Your feedback is much appreciated.
The hotel and it's staff will be ensuring that we turn the feedback into an improved guest experience.

Kind regards
Don Jesseman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I expected the Crowne Plaza brand of old but was pleasantly surprised by a very modern, fresh, efficient and beautiful experience. Felt more like a boutique hotel than a large hotel brand - which was great! The decor is fab too!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TGX2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_CPJ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
I am deligghted that you had a great stay in our " Modern Boutique hotel " namely The Crown Paza Rosebank. I am looking forward to yuour next visit to us. Kind regards Alwyn Hoffman Head Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
231 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed here for a business trip with my wife and was due to stay 4 days but stayed only 1 and checked out. On check in the hotel lobby was so busy and a lobby was a mess and one of the lifts is not working and you wait for an age for it to arrive. In the room the cupboard door did not move so could not get to the safe, the cupboard was broken, there is only a plug on the desk and you have to unplug the lamps to get a plug next to the bed, the room floor was not clean, the shower leaked all over the floor, there is only a rain shower and no side shower so you have to get your hair wet to have a shower and generally the room was tired and below the expected standard.

Walking here from the train is not recommended at night if you do not know the route, we arrived about 8pm and asked 3 security guards for the way to the hotel and they could not direct us, we had to walk through some busy bar area and down a street that smelt of urine and was not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SforSani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_CPJ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear SforSani

I regret that you did not experience the true hospitality that both the Crowne Plaza and the Rosebank area has to offer from the time that you arrived and had to cut short your trip.

I see from your arrival at the Rosebank Station and walking to the hotel that you used some quite roads to get to the hotel. Tyrwhitt Avenue is the main road leading from the Station and shopping Mall district to the hotel . This is a busy road and is also serviced by our community police force .

The lifts at the hotel are currently being fitted with brand new system and I am proud to advise that we have one new lift in operation and the second one in the South Tower is being worked on currently. This one will be fully running in May. We do have the service lift that guest are using as well .

I must apologize for the maintenance and housekeeping issues that you were faced with in your room. Please will you advise me on your booking name or your room number and date that you stayed so that I can have my team investigate who let us down .

I do hope that you will be returning to The Crowne Plaza again to experience our True Excellent service soon.

Kind regards
Alwyn Hoffman
Head Concierge
The Crowne Plaza Rosebank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel during a business trip. The room was really nice and modern - the bathrooms are really interesting if you are staying as a family (they are kind of see-through). The windows are huge! Really great!
The breakfast was nice, many fruits and fruit purees. The cappuccino was delicious! A bit more desserts choice would be nice.
Elevators- really slow and frustrating!!! And you cannot use the stairs to go to the ground floor(!?!). You have to wait 3-4 minutes just to go to the first floor!(And you cannot use the stairs!)

Room Tip: Choose room from the new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeddieVelkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear TeddieVelkova,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied the features of our room accommodation and breakfast selection. I am sorry that your stay was negatively affected because the elevators were slow. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We are highly motivated by your words and ensure you that we shall continue to strive for excellence. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
0.3 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#7 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
3.8 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#12 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank

Property: Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Address: CNR Tyrwhitt & Sturdee Avenues | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2132, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#12 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg – The Rosebank is a modern and stylish Johannesburg Hotel that is ideally located for business and leisure travel. The establishment is only 30 minutes drive from O.R.Tambo International Airport and a short drive from the Johannesburg and Sandton Business Districts. The hotel is in walking distance of the Rosebank Mall and the African Craft Market that offers visiting guests a wide array of up-market shopping and dining options. The hotel’s central location makes it the ideal base to access famous Johannesburg tourist attractions such as the Apartheid Museum, Lion Park and Soweto. Coca Cola Park Stadium and Wanderers Cricket Ground , both major sports stadiums are within 10 minutes drive from the hotel.If you do not feel the need to venture out of the hotel, we offer the various dining options such as the Butcher Block, Fresh Restaurant and the Rosebank Cafe. For some of the most famous cocktails in Johannesburg, our very own funky and trendy Circle Bar is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank Hotel Rosebank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing