We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, yet relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Northcliff Manor Guest House
Ranked #30 of 298 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Beautiful, luxurious, amazing and clean guest house! Warm, friendly and welcoming owners and staff ! Views to die for, excellent food. We (my daughter and I ) could only stay one night, BUT this is definitely a guest house that I will recommend to one and all !

Room Tip: Based on the 2 rooms (room 1 and 4 ) we stayed in, I CAN say that all rooms are amazing, yet relaxin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the guesthouse for a few days on our last trip to South Africa. The house was gorgeous and the staff were friendly and very welcoming. Our stay was short but wonderful and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Beautiful guest house, extremely friendly and helpful staff! Beautiful decor, massive garden, swimming pool, tennis court and jacuzzi! Rooms are spacious and well equipped. Food was perfect. Convenient location not far from Gautrain station! I will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K0bi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

A very stylish guesthouse tucked away in a lovely garden with pool, tennis court and a splendid breakfast. The hoastess is gracious and the rooms well appointed and very nicely decorated. the whole house has a 1920s to 1930s feel about it and very cosy. The bathrooms need a bit of tlc especially in the larger honeymoon suite but also in the gold room. The tiling was a bit tired and worn in the shower.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SushiX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the guest house for 3 days and it was wonderful! The room was big, a nice bed and a great breakfast, including fruits, toasts, etc.
All the staff was very kind and pretty helpful with tours and tips about Johannesburg.
The "animal" staff (four lovely dogs) added a special touch to the hotel, being all very sociable and available for petting.
Overall, I strongly recommend it and when I go back to Johannesburg I would most likely stay there again

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GustavoMolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We were received by an extremely friendly Ilse. The room we occupied is brilliantly furnished with superb decor. The Manor itself is out of this world with an extremely relaxing ambience. All facilities are accessible with an extremely tranquil garden and pool. There is a well stocked mini bar and plenty of information wrt places to eat and visit. The breakfast is excellent. We were treated like royalty for the duration of our stay. This is a remarkable and professionally run venue and we will certainly be back. Ilse even packed in some padkos for us!! Bravo zulu to Ilse and Johnny.

Room Tip: See if the matress is of your liking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Having just come back from a 1 month trip to South Africa, I rush to tell about this wonderful nobel place. This was our first place to stay in SA and it was a very warm welcome to the country. Ilse received us as houseguests and took care of us in all ways. Since we had not rented a car, she took us to Cresta where she showed us the best places to eat. She even offered to fetch us at the restaurant after dinner.
We stayed in Room 3, which was beautifully decorated with antic furnitures and Ilse's paintings.
The ensuite bathroom was spacious with a shower for at least two people to share..... and flowers and leaves from their beautiful garden decorated the room. The breakfast was delicious with lots of fruits and other goodies.
But it is essential to have a car, when staying at Northcliff Manor. The taxis are unreliable (you waste a lot of time waiting for them to come) and the guesthouse is located in a residential area with no public transportation. I cannot think of one single negativ point. Everything was perfect. We warmly recommend this lovely guesthouse

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.4 mi away
House Higgo Boutique Guesthouse
House Higgo Boutique Guesthouse
#43 of 298 in Johannesburg
86 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Parkwood
The Parkwood
#11 of 298 in Johannesburg
139 reviews
3.4 mi away
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
#1 of 298 in Johannesburg
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#11 of 66 in Johannesburg
347 reviews
4.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
6.2 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#26 of 66 in Johannesburg
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcliff Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcliff Manor Guest House

Address: 7 Hearn Drive | Northcliff, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £45 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Northcliff Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the quiet upmarket suburb of Northcliff against the hill with a lovely view of Northern Johannesburg. Quiet and peaceful with DSTV and free Wi-Fi in each room. Huge garden with pool, tennis court and Jacuzzi. Owners are award-winning designers and manufacturers of Stage, Film, and TV decor sets. All credit cards welcome and foreign currency accepted. Transport and food can be arranged on prior notice. The owner has a fine collection of European Antiques and Yellow and Stinkwood Africana Furniture. Built in 1937, the manor was recently expertly renovated and refurbished with the comfort of guests in mind. Close to malls, cinemas and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Northcliff Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing