We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“John Foster Two night business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Northcliff Manor Guest House
Ranked #27 of 291 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ixopo
1 review
“John Foster Two night business trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Very comfortable and convenient, I enjoyed the independance of my own suite. Scrumptious breakfast and enviroment very welcoming.
The poor cell coms are very frustrating. The shower head although very authentic means you get wet before you get the temperature right, which means you either get frozen or cooked for a short while. Just constructive criticism, the hosts are awesome and everything else is wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    17
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
24
45
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Ilse and Johnny are excellent hosts; they helped us with ideas on where to go in Johannesburg and arrange transport; breakfast is excellent and you get to meet and chat with the other guests at the breakfast table.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rvanheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Everthıng was perfect. Villa and owner and staff so great, helpfull and frıendly. Locatıon so great , amazıng vıew and villa so elegant and comfortable. U feel urself ur home , not foreıgn place. So great place ı wıshed stay more there. Services, breakfast and lovely owner so great.Thnaks for everthıng aloooooot.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fatma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I had to attend meetings in various locations of Johannesburg and found that the Northcliff Manor Guest House's location was great for this purpose due to the fact that all main roads were easy accessible. The staff went out of their way to fulfill all my needs and were always friendly and helpful. The breakfast which is served is of great quality and the room was spacious and beautifully decorated. Although this was a business trip I will surely be bringing my whole family to stay here if I need accommodation in Johannesburg again. Thank you once again for the great experience.


  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Johann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

who is looking for a nice accommodation in a safe and quiet environment is right here. The house is on a hill surrounded by much green area.
The house is in family-owned for a long time. You can see and feel
The price-performance is very good

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Klaus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

It is a very nice guest house in a very nice area. The owner of the guest is truly a good host and so is the staff. The house remind me some what of a top billing house. The garden however was not well maintained. The water in the pool was dirty.

I did not read the add on bookings.com properly and I would have never taught a room at a guest house in this class will not have a on suite room. I was very disappointed with the room because it was not a on suite, had a very small fridge 20 liter, small bed and a portable noisy air-con. I definitely chose the wrong room. The other rooms at the guest house was much nicer. The nice staff made up for all the short comings tho.

Will definitely recommend this guest house. But choose the on suite room and remember there is no pool as the water is dirty. Johannesburg weather in summer is hot and a pool is definitely a plus.

Room Tip: Choose the on suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank faiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The beautiful Northcliff Manor Guest House received me and my business associates with the utmost professionalism, excellent service at every turn and always helpful in a friendly manner. I will recommend this establishment to anyone who needs accommodation in Jhb, for whatever reason, and will not be staying anywhere else on my Business visits to Gauteng in future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AlmineJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.4 mi away
House Higgo Boutique Guesthouse
House Higgo Boutique Guesthouse
#41 of 291 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orangerie Guesthouse
Orangerie Guesthouse
#18 of 291 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dunkeld Manor
Dunkeld Manor
#14 of 291 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Parkwood
The Parkwood
#9 of 291 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hands On Retreat
Hands On Retreat
#7 of 291 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 291 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcliff Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcliff Manor Guest House

Property: Northcliff Manor Guest House
Address: 7 Hearn Drive | Northcliff, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 291 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Northcliff Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the quiet upmarket suburb of Northcliff against the hill with a lovely view of Northern Johannesburg. Quiet and peaceful with DSTV and free Wi-Fi in each room. Huge garden with pool, tennis court and Jacuzzi. Owners are award-winning designers and manufacturers of Stage, Film, and TV decor sets. All credit cards welcome and foreign currency accepted. Transport and food can be arranged on prior notice. The owner has a fine collection of European Antiques and Yellow and Stinkwood Africana Furniture. Built in 1937, the manor was recently expertly renovated and refurbished with the comfort of guests in mind. Close to malls, cinemas and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Northcliff Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing