We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Northcliff Manor Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$104
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg(Johannesburg)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$377
US$320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
54 on Bath(Johannesburg)
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$123
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$217
US$175
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$185
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$253
US$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reef Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
104
18
2
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
18
2
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful artworklarge showerfantastic staybreakfast was amazingpersonal attentionstayed for one nightilseguesthousetenniscourtweddingjozivenue
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We had a wonderful stay in the Northcliff Manor during our business visit in Joburg. Great location with wonderfull views over the countryside and the garden. Excellent service and flexibility made our stay as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huub66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at Northcliff Manor for two nights during the football World Cup in July. The guest house is beautiful - very colonial feeling, decorated with artwork (most of which was painted by Ilse, one of the owners) and antiques which give a real sense of character. The owners are very hospitable and the breakfasts were fantastic!

Our room (bedroom 4, I think) had a lovely ensuite shower room, but the bedroom itself was very small and rather dark (albeit beautifully furnished). The bed was incredinly comfortable though.

The location of the guest house is good insofar as the area is concerned - it's one of the safer areas of the city and patrolled regularly by guards. We didn't hire a car so were reliant on taxis, which isn't recommended - it is very expensive to get just about anywhere from Northcliff. For example, we paid over £20 each way to get to the Apartheid museum and over £50 to get to the airport. Having your own car is definitely worth doing if you plan to stay out of the centre of town.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Citylawyer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

I stayed at NorthCliff Manor for 2 nights in July 2010 whilst over in Johannesburg to watch the World Cup Final. The house is, literally, a work of art itself with beautiful paintings and antiques as well as a pool, tennis court and garden. The owners, Ilse and Johnny were extremely helpful and clearly care about making their guests stay as comfortable and trouble free as possible - the breakfasts were great! The location is convenient for areas such as Sandton or even for people looking for a place to stay before heading North or West to Rustenburg or one of the game reserves. The property and area are well-secured though you will need your own transport to get there or need to take a taxi - if doing the latter it is worth taking your own directions as many taxi drivers do not seem to have maps! Overall a very pleasant stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

I stayed at this Guest House during June 2010 whilst attending several games of the FIFA World Cup. I had a great stay and felt thoroughly looked after by Ilse, Johnny and their excellent team. They took the trouble to understand us, our objectives of our trip, travel patterns etc and then made sure that the Guest House team did all they could to enhance our experience. I wrote a blog of my trip including the Guest House experience, some sightseeing as well as the World Cup and this can be seen at http://blogginworldcup2010.blogspot.com.

Any 'issues' that we had during our stay were promptly attended to, to the extent that they were solvable by the Guest House. Breafast was a highlight each day, and on each of 8 days of our stay they managed to offer a different breakfast menu which also took account of our likes and dislikes. In addition to all that we were recommended to the Thunder Gun, a local pub/restraurant with great steaks, and to Rosebank Craft Market and Mall when we might have gone somewhere more ordinary. We also enjoyed meeting the other guests who were like minded and also complemented our stay. Ideally guests here should have a self-drive car as it makes access easier but taxis are practical if not - Northcliff is a lovely and safe-feeling area.

Our stay at Northcliff Manor enhanced our World Cup experience and it was a great place to stay and we are sure that other travellers would receive the same welcome if they chose to stay there whether on a business or leisure trip.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tophillgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer zum Garten nehmen.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews