We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amber Rose Country Estate
Ranked #21 of 297 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
“Very good”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Was a wonderful stay - home away from home!
Staff were very friendly & helpful.
Room was comfortable and ensured a good nights sleep!
Breakfast was just right a balance of fresh food and a hot breakfast!
We will be back !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, Owner at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Lara
you really enjoyed your stay with us by rating us a perfect 10. thank you ! it is most appreciated.
All the Amber Rose staff love their jobs and try their most to make a guests stay perfect in every way - Comfortable, pleasant surroundings, a clean room, with luxurious furnishings and good food.

we look forward to seeing you again shortly.

kind regards
Lynne
Amber Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    29
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
17
31
7
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Was a nice place to stay. Rooms were clean, staff were friendly and the grounds were nice and quiet.

Only problem for us was we couldn't get wireless in our room (signal too weak). We chose this hotel as it listed free wireless in room. I had to sit on the step outside reception at night or take computer in the main room during the day to get to emails that we were waiting on etc.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to main reception for better internet signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nightshade81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, Owner at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Nightshade
thank you for taking the trouble to write about your experience. we have had the Wi Fi , coverage reviewed, the technicians found that the station for your area, was burnt out by lightening due to a storm the previous day. Amber Rose in is a lightening belt and during the summer we are prone to severe lightening. South Africa is still very dependant on the National service provider for internet, which also limits the band width and slows us down.

although we are exposed to the repeated threat f lightening we believe customers value the wi fi service and we will continue to offer the service, even though at times with difficulty.
we will strive to improve as new technology is made available.
kind regards
Lynne
Amber Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Amber Rose. The room was clean and tidy and the grounds were nice, and the staff were helpful.

Our only problem was we couldn't get internet access in our room which was one of the main reasons we booked this hotel (free wireless in room). So I had to sit on the step outside the main reception area late at night or inside when the door was open to check email etc. that we were waiting on.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bronwen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, Owner at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Bronwen
thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding our wi fi in your room. we have had the wi fi technicians out to review our wi fi status in all our rooms. Perhaps you will recall that the grounds were wet after rain. we had had a sever thunderstorm and lightening. the lightening had burnt out 2 wi fi stations on the estate. The result was poor coverage for your area. The other problem that we have is that we are reliant on a Telkom Wymax service , the best we can get for the area, and the speed does slow down especially in the afternoons. to date we have improved the service but we are dependant on our National service provider.

We are glad that you experienced your stay as positive despite the Wi Fi problem and were still able to be connected all over the world 24/7, although in the main guest house lounge.

We look forward to hosting you again one day should you come back to Johannesburg and the Fourways area.

kind regards
Lynne Amber Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The manager was very nice and here to help. Great place to saty. The accomocation is peacefull. Pool was clean and garden also.15 mim from montecasino. Which is not too far. I recommend it if you are looking for something quit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gildas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, Owner at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Gaborone,
Mr Gildas, It was a pleasure to welcome you to Amber Rose Country Estate.
we pride ourselves on our standards of cleanliness, and staff service, hoping, as you mentioned that our guests feel special on our beautiful estate in the country just north of Fourways.

we hope you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

My company had its annual 3 day conference at Amber Rose Country Estate. About half an hour from the madness of Sandton you are in the countryside with wonderful views of rolling hills with shops and restaurants a short drive away.
The rooms are lovely with large comfortable beds, soft duvets and best of all airconditioning which was a necessity as it was 37 degrees during our stay. There is a sparkling pool to cool off in and a very beautiful garden to enjoy. Its only 10 minutes from Lanseria Airport and if your business is on this side of Johannesburg or you are looking for a breakaway not too far from home then this is the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKvisitor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, Owner at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Our Valued Client,
thank you for the feedback you posted on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to host your conference group at Amber Rose Country Estate. We are very aware that the cost of a conference needs to add value to the executive. As a result, we especially pay attention to detail and offer personal service so that the maximum benefit can be obtained. Good planning and efficiency allow for a seamless and enjoyable experience. Amber Rose offers an secluded, relaxed and beautiful setting for conferences and guests.

We hope to see you back at Amber Rose soon
you are most welcome
kind regards
Lynne, Jason and the Amber Rose team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We have just returned to the UK from a 10 day stay at the Amber Rose Country Estate, we was party of 13 people of mixed ages from children to adults. We had a fabulous time. The hotel was Excellent, spotless clean, the staff was lovely, they couldn't do enough for you, always smiling, helpful so much so that we plan to return next year and are counting the days if you do get chance to go before us please say hello to Lynne, Ron, Jason, Brave and the rest of the staff at the Amber Rose

Room Tip: all rooms are very comfortable and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, Owner at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Dear Sharon
thank you for your excellent review, it was a pleasure to host your group. The gals were so glamorous and guys so friendly and I hope your wonderful suntans achieved around the swimming pool can be seen by friends and family.
We miss your smiles and upbeat banter already and look forward to seeing you next year in sunny SA
love from the Amber Rose staff
Lynne, Ron , Jason and Brave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We had planned on staying the second week of our SA trip in Sandton suburb of Joburg but the place we had reserved turned out to be a bust (dirty, noisy, and triggered my sons asthma). At the recommendation of our earlier guest house owner, we booked three nights at the Amber Rose. We had a wonderful, and clean two bedroom suite with kitchen and a wonderful second story covered porch overlooking the gardens and valley. The decor and the view from the porch made us feel like we were at a Tuscan Villa. I am sure it would be even more beautiful in the summer. It turned out to be close to the Cradle of Human Kind and also easy to jump back into the city for the SciBono Museum and the SAB World of Beer. Both Jason and Lynn who ran the place were delightful and helpful. They even let us check out lat 5pm when two of our kids were not feeling well and we had a 9pm flight back to the states. A wonderful place we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, Owner at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Dear Chris,
it was a pleasure to host you and your family, thank you for your kind words.
we hope to see you back at Amber Rose when visiting South Africa again
sorry about the late response to you, but at last I have access to reply
Regards
Lynne, Jason and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
4.2 mi away
Riverbend Country House
Riverbend Country House
#41 of 66 in Johannesburg
24 reviews
3.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
2.7 mi away
Aquanzi Lodge
Aquanzi Lodge
#16 of 297 in Johannesburg
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Villa D'or Guest House
Villa D'or Guest House
#4 of 12 in Fourways
43 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hoopoe Haven Guest House
Hoopoe Haven Guest House
#1 of 3 in Chartwell
124 reviews
10.2 mi away
Orangerie Guesthouse
Orangerie Guesthouse
#19 of 297 in Johannesburg
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Rose Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Rose Country Estate

Property: Amber Rose Country Estate
Address: 15 Zandspruit Road | Farmall, Chartwell West, Johannesburg 2055, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Rose Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sandton, on the slopes of the Chartwell Hills, horse country, just North of Fourways, Amber Rose Country Estate, is ideal for a peaceful country getaway, for the discerning traveller or business man…. The garden, a place of refuge, invites you to explore its beauty. You may even hear the lions and hyenas from the nearby Lion Park while sipping a refreshing cocktail on the patio. Absorb the peace and tranquillity from one of the many shaded benches after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Amber Rose Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing