We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is all about expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amber Rose Country Estate
Ranked #21 of 297 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It is all about expectations”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

It is a very nice place with a lot of green around. The food is really tasty but choices are limited and you have to give a prior notice. If you need to be isolated in a lazy vacation; it will be a good choice. Wi-fi was down most of the time, TV cable was not working probably and the road is really bad. Overall I liked the experience even the negative parts. I would go again with my expectations really managed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, General Manager at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Mohammed
Thank you for posting a review, and for the compliment that you will return to stay at beautiful Amber Rose Country Estate. Heavy rain and floods caused potholes on the road, to which the community responded very quickly and graded the road, it now a pleasure to drive on.

In a country with rapid growth , there is great demand for services and infrastructure. The road is a priority which we hope will soon be addressed by local government. On the wi fi and TV we will investigate as we and other guests had excellent reception except for the one day with the rolling power outage nationally.

kind regards
Lynne
Amber Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    29
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
17
31
7
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Great B&B with great staff and amazing service. will definitely stay here again. The owner and the staff are so willing to help. I highly recommend Amber Rose. Roads leading there are bad though but that is a municipal issue.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, Manager at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Sean
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review. It was most unexpected that you rated us 5/5 on all points. The staff at Amber Rose do go the extra mile to make guests enjoy their stay and especially on the unseen things, like everything in good working order, cleanliness and comfort. It is much appreciated that you noticed. We certainly will pass on your excellent review to the staff on duty at the time. On the road you may be surprised as we are engaging with Gautrans who have promised repairs and a new surface. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Kind regards
Lynne
Amber Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Amazing tranquil property outside of fourways. Quiet and peaceful - beautiful scenery - a great escape from city life without having travel far. Great service and privacy! The suites are luxurious and clean ! Great weekend away thanks !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, General Manager at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Jen
wow! thank you for the excellent review on all counts. 5/5 . We are so glad your stay at Amber Rose was so pleasant. We are very fortunate to have such a venue of beauty and tranquillity in the Chartwell Valley amongst the roses, yet we are so close to the city and Montecasino night-life.

It was a pleasure to host you both. We hope to see you again, soon.

kind regards
Lynne
Amber Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We liked our stay here. The road leading up to the guesthouse is very bad, but the peace and quite makes up for it. I had my bookings a little wrong with the meals, but the staff helped me out quickly and the friendliness and helpfulness was a bonus. The rooms are beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank travellady777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, General Manager at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Travellady
thank you for taking time to review Amber Rose.
Thank you for the compliments regarding the room furnishings, and staff friendliness.
Being in the beautiful countryside of Amber Rose, yet so close to town and services, enables one to getaway for peace and rejuvenation. on the road, the community continue to meet with government to fully tar the road, and hopefully the road will be tarred soon. Currently they have serviced the road with a grader.
Lynne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Well located outside the bustle of Joburg, if a bit remote. Rooms are very good and we had an outside shower which was a welcome bonus. I would go there just for the peace of the gardens and the pool. The roses really are a treat. Excellent service from the onsite manager and very good breakfasts

Room Tip: Try to get an outside shower. Its such a pleasure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, General Manager at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Cos Moss from New Zealand
thank you for taking the time to review Amber Rose Country Estate, in Fourways.
We note that you are knowledgeable having reviewed many hotels before us, and we are glad that you gave us top accolades on your experience of the room, with the extra treat of the outside shower, our breakfasts and overall experience at the pool and garden.

Being in the country, we have the extra space to develop the garden, and to follow our passion with the many roses. We would welcome you back to stay at our peaceful country estate. It was a pleasure to host you and the family.

kind regards
General Manager
Amber Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Within close proximity to Monte Casino & shopping malls. Very good location. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms was clean and tidy. Breakfast was scrumptious. Lovely garden. Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Riaz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, General Manager at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Riaz,
It was a pleasure to host you and your wife at Amber Rose. It is our aim as hoteliers to achieve a 5/5 revue from all our guests. Thank you. We are so glad you had you had such a good experience even when we were full. The staff certainly always do their best, to make guests enjoy their stay.
we look forward to hosting you again.
kind regards
Amber Rose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Very pretty place.Unfortunately I wouldn't stay there again.Worst experience.Rude approach from owner and dishonesty from the manager, my birthday braai was a mess.If I had known what I know now...no thanks to the manager I would have gone elsewhere....Great views, nice breakfast but such dishonest service and rudeness.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, General Manager at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Samantha
We are very surprised by your review as you were in agreement with the terms and conditions under which your party would be held at Amber Rose. "Music to be toned down by 10pm and shut down by 11.30 pm."
Amber Rose is a much desired venue and our local reputation and respect for neighbours is important. The estate is situated within the Greater Johannesburg Metropolitan area and is subject to the Johannesburg bylaws. Late night sound and loud music is required to be limited.
It was 01h30 - 02h00 when the owner requested that guests come inside and quieten down.
Guests were abusive and very reluctant to comply, it was clear that Samantha's guests were not aware of the terms and conditions under which the party was to be held.
Please see below the email sent in writing to Samantha in terms of conduct on the property
We regret that it was necessary to shut the party down at 01h45 but it had become unruly and far exceeded the time agreed.
Terms
*No sound system as you said you will bring your own DJ
*Music to be toned down by 10pm and shut down by 11.30 pm.
*All music outside the patio to be turned off. Guests may move inside and play music at a reasonable . sound only to be heard by the guests in the Guest House.
*Amber Rose and its management have the right to control and request the DJ to play at a certain volume should they feel it is over the limit.
*Right of Admission reserved to Amber Rose.
*Extra people not included in the original quote will be R200 per head.
*Venue is from 18.00 till 00.00. Should the function run over time, it has to be in doors, music toned down or off.
*Guests may use the dinning room and lounge for the rest of the night provided that they conduct themselves in an orderly fashion at all times.
*Damage or loss of any Amber Rose Property will incur replacement costs.

Kind regards
General Manager
Amber Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
4.2 mi away
Riverbend Country House
Riverbend Country House
#41 of 66 in Johannesburg
24 reviews
3.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
2.7 mi away
Aquanzi Lodge
Aquanzi Lodge
#16 of 297 in Johannesburg
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Villa D'or Guest House
Villa D'or Guest House
#4 of 12 in Fourways
43 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hoopoe Haven Guest House
Hoopoe Haven Guest House
#1 of 3 in Chartwell
124 reviews
10.2 mi away
Orangerie Guesthouse
Orangerie Guesthouse
#19 of 297 in Johannesburg
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Rose Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Rose Country Estate

Property: Amber Rose Country Estate
Address: 15 Zandspruit Road | Farmall, Chartwell West, Johannesburg 2055, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Rose Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sandton, on the slopes of the Chartwell Hills, horse country, just North of Fourways, Amber Rose Country Estate, is ideal for a peaceful country getaway, for the discerning traveller or business man…. The garden, a place of refuge, invites you to explore its beauty. You may even hear the lions and hyenas from the nearby Lion Park while sipping a refreshing cocktail on the patio. Absorb the peace and tranquillity from one of the many shaded benches after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Amber Rose Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing