We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff. Overpriced and Dowdy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amber Rose Country Estate
Ranked #16 of 299 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

It is a very difficult place to find....located on rough dirt roads in a rural area. Finding it at night took a couple hours.....the gps directed me via washed out roads.

I was billed incorrectly after departing and it took weeks and many messages to get the errors corrected.

The electricity went out several times while I was there. The internet only worked in the lobby area. The TV channel selection was highly limited and the TV set itself was very very small.

The bathroom lighting was nearly non existent. The furniture was dowdy. It has the feel of a grandmothers farm house from 1950.

Except for the constant sound of jets landing and departing from nearby Lanseria Airport.

Cleanliness was just ok. There was mold growing in the bathroom.

The staff was very agreeable. The food was OK (just).

The place was full up while I was there...but it felt like I was on an isolated farm.

The price seemed high compared to other guest houses near Lanseria.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinstonIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, Manager at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Winston iowa
Thank you for your feedback. We regret that your refund was delayed, but we are subject to the processes of a third party.

You described our establishment as having a farmhouse feel. Whereas the style is modern Tuscan built in 2004 which is located in a country setting with neo classical solid wood furnishings, original oil paintings and Persian carpets.

thank you for extending your stay

kind regards
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Guest House, It is well located, Places of entertainment are nearby. The rooms are well furnished, clean and Spacious. The rooms also had complimentary coffee station, luxurious bath products, heater etc.I would not have second thoughts in future if I decide to go on holiday I would definetely stay at Amber Rose.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Phetsile F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, Owner at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Phetsile
high praise from Swaziland
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Thank you for your kind words.
We look forward to hosting you again soon at Amber Rose.

kind regards
Lynne
Amber Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We really had a wonderful stay - the staff were friendly. We arrived late the day we booked in and Ronald, Lynn's husband, was very accommodating and friendly. Lynn and her team were very friendly and welcoming

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, Owner at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Brenda
Thanks for posting a review on your stay at Amber Rose.
It was a pleasure to host you and your family.
It was wonderful to see how your children really enjoyed themselves using the grounds, the pool and feeding the fish and playing their games.
They made the most of their stay with us. They were so well behaved, and no trouble at all.
We look forward to your return.

kind regards
Lynne
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

It is a very nice place with a lot of green around. The food is really tasty but choices are limited and you have to give a prior notice. If you need to be isolated in a lazy vacation; it will be a good choice. Wi-fi was down most of the time, TV cable was not working probably and the road is really bad. Overall I liked the experience even the negative parts. I would go again with my expectations really managed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohamed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, General Manager at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Mohammed
Thank you for posting a review, and for the compliment that you will return to stay at beautiful Amber Rose Country Estate. Heavy rain and floods caused potholes on the road, to which the community responded very quickly and graded the road, it now a pleasure to drive on.

In a country with rapid growth , there is great demand for services and infrastructure. The road is a priority which we hope will soon be addressed by local government. On the wi fi and TV we will investigate as we and other guests had excellent reception except for the one day with the rolling power outage nationally.

kind regards
Lynne
Amber Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Great B&B with great staff and amazing service. will definitely stay here again. The owner and the staff are so willing to help. I highly recommend Amber Rose. Roads leading there are bad though but that is a municipal issue.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, Manager at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Sean
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review. It was most unexpected that you rated us 5/5 on all points. The staff at Amber Rose do go the extra mile to make guests enjoy their stay and especially on the unseen things, like everything in good working order, cleanliness and comfort. It is much appreciated that you noticed. We certainly will pass on your excellent review to the staff on duty at the time. On the road you may be surprised as we are engaging with Gautrans who have promised repairs and a new surface. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Kind regards
Lynne
Amber Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Amazing tranquil property outside of fourways. Quiet and peaceful - beautiful scenery - a great escape from city life without having travel far. Great service and privacy! The suites are luxurious and clean ! Great weekend away thanks !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, General Manager at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Jen
wow! thank you for the excellent review on all counts. 5/5 . We are so glad your stay at Amber Rose was so pleasant. We are very fortunate to have such a venue of beauty and tranquillity in the Chartwell Valley amongst the roses, yet we are so close to the city and Montecasino night-life.

It was a pleasure to host you both. We hope to see you again, soon.

kind regards
Lynne
Amber Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We liked our stay here. The road leading up to the guesthouse is very bad, but the peace and quite makes up for it. I had my bookings a little wrong with the meals, but the staff helped me out quickly and the friendliness and helpfulness was a bonus. The rooms are beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank travellady777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, General Manager at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Travellady
thank you for taking time to review Amber Rose.
Thank you for the compliments regarding the room furnishings, and staff friendliness.
Being in the beautiful countryside of Amber Rose, yet so close to town and services, enables one to getaway for peace and rejuvenation. on the road, the community continue to meet with government to fully tar the road, and hopefully the road will be tarred soon. Currently they have serviced the road with a grader.
Lynne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
13.7 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
335 reviews
5.7 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#21 of 66 in Johannesburg
195 reviews
6.6 mi away
Lanseria Country Estate
Lanseria Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Lanseria
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Aquanzi Lodge
Aquanzi Lodge
#17 of 299 in Johannesburg
137 reviews
9.8 mi away
Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford
9.2 mi away
Hands On Retreat Craighall
Hands On Retreat Craighall
#3 of 299 in Johannesburg
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Rose Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Rose Country Estate

Address: 15 Zandspruit Road | Farmall, Chartwell West, Johannesburg 2055, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £41 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Rose Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sandton, on the slopes of the Chartwell Hills, horse country, just North of Fourways, Amber Rose Country Estate, is ideal for a peaceful country getaway, for the discerning traveller or business man…. The garden, a place of refuge, invites you to explore its beauty. You may even hear the lions and hyenas from the nearby Lion Park while sipping a refreshing cocktail on the patio. Absorb the peace and tranquillity from one of the many shaded benches after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amber Rose Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing