We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very well Managed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amber Rose Country Estate

Amber Rose Country Estate
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amber Rose Country Estate
Ranked #26 of 293 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very well Managed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our reception at Amber Rose was unbelievable. A real great country venue just 15 minutes from suburbia. The attention from our reception when we were welcomed to our check out was really exceptional. I will definitely be back...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Spiro Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, General Manager at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Spiro
thank you for our excellent review!
We are glad that your experience was so positive.
We want all our guests to have an exceptional stay.
We look forward to hosting you again soon

kind regards
Lynne
Owner
Amber Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    26
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
15
28
7
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed for 4 nights, rooms large and well furnished with good expensive taste, of beaten track. Small details present, staff and owners friendly. Money very well spend. Dstv, aircon, heaters, in and outside shower. Big bath. Own varanda.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lordfinsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, Owner at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Lord Finsbury
thank you for taking the trouble to write about your stay at Amber Rose. Your comments on the quality finishes, furnishings and extra attention to detail make a difference .
We hope to see you again when back in the Fourways area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Only consider staying at Amber Rose if you don't mind a terrible road to the main arterial road, Wi-Fi that only works intermittently, shoddy food. I can not speak about the other rooms but the room I was in was dirty and dusty. Maybe the problems might be addressed in the future

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TempusFugit12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, Owner at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Tempus
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
We are confused by some of the points you have raised as you did not bring them to our attention during the time of your stay.

You requested for your room NOT TO BE cleaned for a few days and it is understandable that this would impact on the cleanliness. We were not sure of the reason behind this request, but respected your wishes.
We have identified the wireless to be an issue and are in the process of having an enterprise solution installed by an IT provider. We are also sorry that you were unable to use the 3G dongle provided as an alternative.

At no time did you indicate that you were unhappy with meals and we did go out of our way to accommodate your special requests.

Given your concerns we were surprised that you extended your stay with us to nearly three weeks.
Sincerest apologies
Lynne
Amber Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

After staying at Amber Rose I would like to thank Lynne, Jason, and the team for an excellent stay. A more friendly customer orientated establishment is hard to find.
As a seasoned traveller I would recommend a stay here to anyone.
It is easy to find, the road is a little bumpy but worth the journey.
I live in UK and found Amber Rose safe, comfortable, with great gardens and a lovely well maintained pool.
Will definitely stay there on my next visit.

Room Tip: Go for the large room with the outside shower. French windows and private veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, Owner at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Mr C
Thank you for the compliments on Tripadvisor. Great value and service 5/5.!!
After staying for more than 6 weeks you certainly had the time and opportunity to evaluate your stay at Amber Rose Country Estate. Being close to the office in Fourways, with beautiful country scenery, peace and the space on the estate met your accommodation requirements. We will remember our evening chats on the patio with sundowners, listening to your stories from the aviation industry and your travels to the various places where you conduct your training. It certainly was interesting and pleasurable. We look forward to hosting you again , hopefully soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
143 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

It is a very difficult place to find....located on rough dirt roads in a rural area. Finding it at night took a couple hours.....the gps directed me via washed out roads.

I was billed incorrectly after departing and it took weeks and many messages to get the errors corrected.

The electricity went out several times while I was there. The internet only worked in the lobby area. The TV channel selection was highly limited and the TV set itself was very very small.

The bathroom lighting was nearly non existent. The furniture was dowdy. It has the feel of a grandmothers farm house from 1950.

Except for the constant sound of jets landing and departing from nearby Lanseria Airport.

Cleanliness was just ok. There was mold growing in the bathroom.

The staff was very agreeable. The food was OK (just).

The place was full up while I was there...but it felt like I was on an isolated farm.

The price seemed high compared to other guest houses near Lanseria.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinstonIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, Manager at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Winston iowa
Thank you for your feedback. We regret that your refund was delayed, but we are subject to the processes of a third party.

You described our establishment as having a farmhouse feel. Whereas the style is modern Tuscan built in 2004 which is located in a country setting with neo classical solid wood furnishings, original oil paintings and Persian carpets.

thank you for extending your stay

kind regards
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manzini
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Guest House, It is well located, Places of entertainment are nearby. The rooms are well furnished, clean and Spacious. The rooms also had complimentary coffee station, luxurious bath products, heater etc.I would not have second thoughts in future if I decide to go on holiday I would definetely stay at Amber Rose.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Phetsile F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, Owner at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Phetsile
high praise from Swaziland
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Thank you for your kind words.
We look forward to hosting you again soon at Amber Rose.

kind regards
Lynne
Amber Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maseru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We really had a wonderful stay - the staff were friendly. We arrived late the day we booked in and Ronald, Lynn's husband, was very accommodating and friendly. Lynn and her team were very friendly and welcoming

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, Owner at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Brenda
Thanks for posting a review on your stay at Amber Rose.
It was a pleasure to host you and your family.
It was wonderful to see how your children really enjoyed themselves using the grounds, the pool and feeding the fish and playing their games.
They made the most of their stay with us. They were so well behaved, and no trouble at all.
We look forward to your return.

kind regards
Lynne
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.7 mi away
Aquanzi Lodge
Aquanzi Lodge
#14 of 293 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
9.8 mi away
House Higgo Boutique Guesthouse
House Higgo Boutique Guesthouse
#32 of 293 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
12.7 mi away
Saffron Guest House
Saffron Guest House
#28 of 293 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#7 of 293 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
10.2 mi away
Orangerie Guesthouse
Orangerie Guesthouse
#15 of 293 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ashdown House
Ashdown House
#35 of 293 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Rose Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Rose Country Estate

Property: Amber Rose Country Estate
Address: 15 Zandspruit Road | Farmall, Chartwell West, Johannesburg 2055, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 293 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Rose Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sandton, on the slopes of the Chartwell Hills, horse country, just North of Fourways, Amber Rose Country Estate, is ideal for a peaceful country getaway, for the discerning traveller or business man…. The garden, a place of refuge, invites you to explore its beauty. You may even hear the lions and hyenas from the nearby Lion Park while sipping a refreshing cocktail on the patio. Absorb the peace and tranquillity from one of the many shaded benches after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Amber Rose Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing