We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amber Rose Country Estate
Ranked #21 of 297 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Knysna, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have been to Amber Rose quite a few times and once again found the service and amenities to be great. It is such a pleasure to return to Amber Rose, keep up the good work and may you go from strength to strength.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, General Manager at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Cecil H
thank you for your high rating and positive feedback on your experience.
We are so glad that you keep coming back to stay with us.
We certainly enjoy your support and friendship which has developed over the years, from you staying with us.
It is a pleasure to host you .
kind regards
Lynne
Owner
Amber Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    29
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
17
31
7
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our reception at Amber Rose was unbelievable. A real great country venue just 15 minutes from suburbia. The attention from our reception when we were welcomed to our check out was really exceptional. I will definitely be back...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Spiro Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, General Manager at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Spiro
thank you for our excellent review!
We are glad that your experience was so positive.
We want all our guests to have an exceptional stay.
We look forward to hosting you again soon

kind regards
Lynne
Owner
Amber Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed for 4 nights, rooms large and well furnished with good expensive taste, of beaten track. Small details present, staff and owners friendly. Money very well spend. Dstv, aircon, heaters, in and outside shower. Big bath. Own varanda.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordfinsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, Owner at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Lord Finsbury
thank you for taking the trouble to write about your stay at Amber Rose. Your comments on the quality finishes, furnishings and extra attention to detail make a difference .
We hope to see you again when back in the Fourways area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Only consider staying at Amber Rose if you don't mind a terrible road to the main arterial road, Wi-Fi that only works intermittently, shoddy food. I can not speak about the other rooms but the room I was in was dirty and dusty. Maybe the problems might be addressed in the future

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TempusFugit12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, Owner at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Tempus
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
We are confused by some of the points you have raised as you did not bring them to our attention during the time of your stay.

You requested for your room NOT TO BE cleaned for a few days and it is understandable that this would impact on the cleanliness. We were not sure of the reason behind this request, but respected your wishes.
We have identified the wireless to be an issue and are in the process of having an enterprise solution installed by an IT provider. We are also sorry that you were unable to use the 3G dongle provided as an alternative.

At no time did you indicate that you were unhappy with meals and we did go out of our way to accommodate your special requests.

Given your concerns we were surprised that you extended your stay with us to nearly three weeks.
Sincerest apologies
Lynne
Amber Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

After staying at Amber Rose I would like to thank Lynne, Jason, and the team for an excellent stay. A more friendly customer orientated establishment is hard to find.
As a seasoned traveller I would recommend a stay here to anyone.
It is easy to find, the road is a little bumpy but worth the journey.
I live in UK and found Amber Rose safe, comfortable, with great gardens and a lovely well maintained pool.
Will definitely stay there on my next visit.

Room Tip: Go for the large room with the outside shower. French windows and private veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, Owner at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Mr C
Thank you for the compliments on Tripadvisor. Great value and service 5/5.!!
After staying for more than 6 weeks you certainly had the time and opportunity to evaluate your stay at Amber Rose Country Estate. Being close to the office in Fourways, with beautiful country scenery, peace and the space on the estate met your accommodation requirements. We will remember our evening chats on the patio with sundowners, listening to your stories from the aviation industry and your travels to the various places where you conduct your training. It certainly was interesting and pleasurable. We look forward to hosting you again , hopefully soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

It is a very difficult place to find....located on rough dirt roads in a rural area. Finding it at night took a couple hours.....the gps directed me via washed out roads.

I was billed incorrectly after departing and it took weeks and many messages to get the errors corrected.

The electricity went out several times while I was there. The internet only worked in the lobby area. The TV channel selection was highly limited and the TV set itself was very very small.

The bathroom lighting was nearly non existent. The furniture was dowdy. It has the feel of a grandmothers farm house from 1950.

Except for the constant sound of jets landing and departing from nearby Lanseria Airport.

Cleanliness was just ok. There was mold growing in the bathroom.

The staff was very agreeable. The food was OK (just).

The place was full up while I was there...but it felt like I was on an isolated farm.

The price seemed high compared to other guest houses near Lanseria.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinstonIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, Manager at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Winston iowa
Thank you for your feedback. We regret that your refund was delayed, but we are subject to the processes of a third party.

You described our establishment as having a farmhouse feel. Whereas the style is modern Tuscan built in 2004 which is located in a country setting with neo classical solid wood furnishings, original oil paintings and Persian carpets.

thank you for extending your stay

kind regards
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manzini
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Guest House, It is well located, Places of entertainment are nearby. The rooms are well furnished, clean and Spacious. The rooms also had complimentary coffee station, luxurious bath products, heater etc.I would not have second thoughts in future if I decide to go on holiday I would definetely stay at Amber Rose.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Phetsile F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberRoseCountryEst, Owner at Amber Rose Country Estate, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Phetsile
high praise from Swaziland
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Thank you for your kind words.
We look forward to hosting you again soon at Amber Rose.

kind regards
Lynne
Amber Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
4.2 mi away
Riverbend Country House
Riverbend Country House
#41 of 66 in Johannesburg
24 reviews
3.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
2.7 mi away
Aquanzi Lodge
Aquanzi Lodge
#16 of 297 in Johannesburg
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Villa D'or Guest House
Villa D'or Guest House
#4 of 12 in Fourways
43 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hoopoe Haven Guest House
Hoopoe Haven Guest House
#1 of 3 in Chartwell
124 reviews
10.2 mi away
Orangerie Guesthouse
Orangerie Guesthouse
#19 of 297 in Johannesburg
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Rose Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Rose Country Estate

Property: Amber Rose Country Estate
Address: 15 Zandspruit Road | Farmall, Chartwell West, Johannesburg 2055, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Rose Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sandton, on the slopes of the Chartwell Hills, horse country, just North of Fourways, Amber Rose Country Estate, is ideal for a peaceful country getaway, for the discerning traveller or business man…. The garden, a place of refuge, invites you to explore its beauty. You may even hear the lions and hyenas from the nearby Lion Park while sipping a refreshing cocktail on the patio. Absorb the peace and tranquillity from one of the many shaded benches after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Amber Rose Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing