We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifull”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashdown House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ashdown House
Ranked #38 of 291 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautifull”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

After a long trip it felt so good to arrive at Ashdown house where Glynis was waiting for us. It was quiet, peacefull, beautifill and not far from NM-square. We both felt really comfortable staying there. Unfortunatly it was only for 1 night (this time)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlhenrverh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
38
8
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Ashdown house in one of the finest hotels I’ve ever stayed at. The wonderful and warm welcome, the luxurious rooms, the spacious garden; it all makes you feel at home in this big city: Johannesburg.
Ashdown house is located in a secured, safe area. I would definitely recommend this hotel for those never been to Jo’burg before.
We booked this hotel on our first and last night. An early arrival was no problem, so wasn’t the late check out (6 pm). We were even upgraded to the luxurious suite without an extra charge.
If you are looking for luxurious accommodation in Johannesburg this is most definitely your best choice.
Thanks ever so much Sue and Glyniss. You have made our stay a memorable one!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent28_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Owner at Ashdown House, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
We are so please that your stay at AshDown House was memorable! Thank you for the compliment of being "The finest hotel you have ever stayed at". Its compliments like this that make our efforts so worth while. It was stunning meeting you both and we were so pleased when you booked again for your final day in South Africa.
Warmest regards
Glynis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Extremeley friendly hotel
Room excellent and bathroom amazing
Gardens tranquil, except for the birds who were fantastic to watch.
Breakfast was excellent so much to choose from and the staff were so helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Owner at Ashdown House, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Hi Vivienne, thank you so much for the great review. I really enjoyed having you both and discussing South Africa both past and present. So pleased you enjoyed our beautiful country and I am sure you will return.
Warm regards
Glynis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

secure, quiet, clean, comfort & cozy, friendly staff.
the breakfast was the best I ever had.
we really enjoyed our time here, and would recommend it to our friends.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Owner at Ashdown House, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Thank you for your positive review JP. We are always proud of our friendly staff and so pleased you enjoyed our breakfast. It was lovely meeting you all and we hope you will be back one day.
Kindest regards
Glynis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Personalised service
Awesome breakfast
Huge rooms and bathrooms with great standing bath and shower
Very friendly management - actually care and are interested in you!
Totally private
Fast Internet

Sorry but I think in bullet points

Best place to stay in johannesburg by FAR!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MASguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

The rooms and en suite bathrooms are extremely well appointed and the beds comfortable. The breakfast menu is unusually extensive and the quality and service were flawless. Our stay was brief but I would have no hesitation in recommending Ashdown House to friends and colleagues alike.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orkila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addis Ababa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

Gracious hospitality in a peaceful secure community of one of Johannesburg’s wealthier parts of this huge city. Thanks to Greenwood Guides for preselecting this gem. Ashdown house is a classic: with silk carpets, a leathered lounge and spacious perfectly appointed rooms - pure comfort. Their breakfast was amazing with a generous and extensive menu. As a Canadian I was most impressed with their bacon! Sue took great care of my entire family and went above and beyond in her service, kindness and knowledge of the area. Sue has years of experience in the industry and can pretty much solve any challenge that comes her way. We will be forever in her debt.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandererAddisAbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
1.9 mi away
Annabel's of Bryanston
Annabel's of Bryanston
#1 of 3 in Bryanston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fountain Hill Guest Lodge
Fountain Hill Guest Lodge
#6 of 15 in Bryanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Golden Gate Guest House
#55 of 98 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
A Peaceful Retreat Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Radiance Guest Lodge and Conference Center
1.5 mi away
Dunton Guest House
Dunton Guest House
#1 of 11 in Rivonia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashdown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashdown House

Property: Ashdown House
Address: 14b George Street | Bryanston, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 291 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashdown House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashdown House is an upmarket, exclusive guesthouse in Bryanston, Johannesburg. Relax at the pool, enjoy a drink at the "Club House" before retiring to one of the beautifully appointed rooms. Unwind in 5 star luxury and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ashdown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing