We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Ashdown House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashdown House
Ranked #46 of 305 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A very lovely and elegant guest house situated in the heart of exclusive Bryanston district in Johannesburg is where we stayed one night before our flight to start our African safari at Kruger, Zambia and Botswana and another night before we fly out of Africa to come home.

The room which overlook the lovely garden was absolutely beautiful, spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was equally spacious and lovely. the room has everything one will probably need. It was very peaceful and we got our very much needed good night sleep on a very comfortable bed.

From check in to check out everything went smoothly. The staff were very friendly, and provided us with excellent service. they gave attention to detail and was always there to help. They accommodated our request to store the luggage that we can not take on safari which we are very grateful.They went over and beyond our expectation and were truly amazing! Adele and rest of the staff were truly awesome.

The breakfast was delicious and the dinner they prepared for us was really very good!

We wish we could have stayed longer and hopefully someday soon we can!

It was Almost a year ago on 09/12/2012/ & 09/20/2012 when we stayed at this absolutely beautiful place!

Nanette & Stuart Duzan,
Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

I

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms one on the first floor and one on the second floor and we think that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racoonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Racoonia

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of AshDown House –even after a year. We appreciate you giving us a 10 out of 10 score! You have written such a lovely description of AshDown House. We always try to do our best to make our guests feel comfortable and at home. I will be sure to tell the staff how great you thought the service was. Thank you for all the wonderful comments. We hope to see you back again for another South African trip!

Kind regards
The AshDown House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

The place was clean, service good, food nice and decor beautiful. Will highly recommend it to anyone. There was a good vibe during our stay with other guests using the braai area without it becoming a disturbance to us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear Philip

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of AshDown House –thank you for all the wonderful comments! It was wonderful meeting you and your colleague. Hopefully we will see you again at AshDown House!

The AshDown House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Very comfortable and quiet rooms based around a lovely garden and pool. A bit cold for the Highveld winter nights, as the doors are not that well insulated, but compensated by a good heating / aircon system. Was a great base for a business trip and was perfectly located for meetings based in Bryanston. Only missed having access to a fitness room, but preferred being here to an impersonal hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLM_Swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear JLK08

Thank you for taking the time to write a Review for AshDown House on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to know the heating system worked well in your room, despite the cold nights. It was wonderful having you and your colleague use as for the first time, and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Johannesburg!

AshDown House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Nice room and good service. Altough we had a late arrival, we were assisted properly.
The room and the breakfast room were nicely decorated. Excellent breakfast prepared by the cock and a quite neighborhood.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kees v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Kees

Thank you so much for your review of AshDown House! We always try to assist late and early arrivals. Thank you for noting our Room décor, which is continuously evolving into stylish elegance. We appreciate the fact that you loved the quiet neighborhood, which luckily is also within easy access to the major business centers and important highways. We hope you will be back at AshDown House the next time you are in Johannesburg.

AshDown House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

After a long safari in Botswana we had 3 nights in Johannesburg and we were overjoyed to have stayed in this wonderful Guest House! The decor was elegant, the rooms were spacious and comfortable, and the service was fantastic! As you really need a car to get anywhere in Joburg, we were also very pleased to be able to use the services of the "house driver" Prince who was reliable, dependable, knowledgeable, and reasonable on his rates. Also worth noting was the breakfast which was relaxed and delicious (loved the french toast and fried banana!). We highly recommend the Ashdown house and will definitely stay there again the next time we travel through Johannesburg!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 6 and 7 on the 2nd floor which was perfect for us and our 3 kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Greg

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of AshDown House –and what a great Review it is! Thank you for the lovely comments about the guesthouse as well as the rooms. We always use Prince for our taxi transfers and tours as he has proven to be very reliable as well as knowledgeable about Johannesburg. I’m pleased that you and your family were able to experience and enjoy our breakfasts. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to AshDown House the next time you are in South Africa!

AshDown House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Although I only stayed for one night and didn't have an opportunity to enjoy any of the other facilities - I was very impressed with the service and everything Ashdown House has to offer.
It was great to use the Internet access from my room. Breakfast was good too :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Michelle
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I will be sure to tell all the staff about how they made your stay at AshDown House more enjoyable. I’m glad the complimentary Wi-Fi worked well for you. Hopefully next time you will be back to stay longer and thus get the chance to fully enjoy AshDown House and all its extra amenities.

The AshDown House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We loved our two nights at Ashdown House, at the end of a family holiday. The rooms were very comfortable, service excellent, and the breakfasts were really good. We will be returning when we are next in Johannesburg! We would definitely recommend Ashdown House.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Mike

Thank you for writing such a great review for AshDown House. It was wonderful to finally meet you and your family. Thanks for all the lovely comments about AshDown House. I’m glad it gave your holiday a good closure. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Jo’burg!

The AshDown House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
15.5 mi away
No photo provided
Guesthouse Macauly
#161 of 305 in Johannesburg
7 reviews
8.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
7.6 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#10 of 67 in Johannesburg
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 67 in Johannesburg
810 reviews
3.4 mi away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#19 of 67 in Johannesburg
210 reviews
4.9 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#34 of 67 in Johannesburg
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashdown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashdown House

Address: 14b George Street | Bryanston, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £107 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashdown House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashdown House is an upmarket, exclusive guesthouse in Bryanston, Johannesburg. Relax at the pool, enjoy a drink at the "Club House" before retiring to one of the beautifully appointed rooms. Unwind in 5 star luxury and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ashdown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing