We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ashdown House
Nearby Hotels
US$304
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monarch Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reef Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
108
13
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
13
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattention to detailcold buffeta great place to stayfresh milknice guesthousecontinental breakfasttea and coffeeguest housepersonal touchenjoyed our stayfree wifisherryjhbconnectivitygardencomfortrelaxation
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A very lovely and elegant guest house situated in the heart of exclusive Bryanston district in Johannesburg is where we stayed one night before our flight to start our African safari at Kruger, Zambia and Botswana and another night before we fly out of Africa to come home.

The room which overlook the lovely garden was absolutely beautiful, spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was equally spacious and lovely. the room has everything one will probably need. It was very peaceful and we got our very much needed good night sleep on a very comfortable bed.

From check in to check out everything went smoothly. The staff were very friendly, and provided us with excellent service. they gave attention to detail and was always there to help. They accommodated our request to store the luggage that we can not take on safari which we are very grateful.They went over and beyond our expectation and were truly amazing! Adele and rest of the staff were truly awesome.

The breakfast was delicious and the dinner they prepared for us was really very good!

We wish we could have stayed longer and hopefully someday soon we can!

It was Almost a year ago on 09/12/2012/ & 09/20/2012 when we stayed at this absolutely beautiful place!

Nanette & Stuart Duzan,
Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

I

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms one on the first floor and one on the second floor and we think that they are both wonderful.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racoonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Racoonia

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of AshDown House –even after a year. We appreciate you giving us a 10 out of 10 score! You have written such a lovely description of AshDown House. We always try to do our best to make our guests feel comfortable and at home. I will be sure to tell the staff how great you thought the service was. Thank you for all the wonderful comments. We hope to see you back again for another South African trip!

Kind regards
The AshDown House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The place was clean, service good, food nice and decor beautiful. Will highly recommend it to anyone. There was a good vibe during our stay with other guests using the braai area without it becoming a disturbance to us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear Philip

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of AshDown House –thank you for all the wonderful comments! It was wonderful meeting you and your colleague. Hopefully we will see you again at AshDown House!

The AshDown House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Very comfortable and quiet rooms based around a lovely garden and pool. A bit cold for the Highveld winter nights, as the doors are not that well insulated, but compensated by a good heating / aircon system. Was a great base for a business trip and was perfectly located for meetings based in Bryanston. Only missed having access to a fitness room, but preferred being here to an impersonal hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLM_Swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear JLK08

Thank you for taking the time to write a Review for AshDown House on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to know the heating system worked well in your room, despite the cold nights. It was wonderful having you and your colleague use as for the first time, and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Johannesburg!

AshDown House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Nice room and good service. Altough we had a late arrival, we were assisted properly.
The room and the breakfast room were nicely decorated. Excellent breakfast prepared by the cock and a quite neighborhood.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kees v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Kees

Thank you so much for your review of AshDown House! We always try to assist late and early arrivals. Thank you for noting our Room décor, which is continuously evolving into stylish elegance. We appreciate the fact that you loved the quiet neighborhood, which luckily is also within easy access to the major business centers and important highways. We hope you will be back at AshDown House the next time you are in Johannesburg.

AshDown House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

After a long safari in Botswana we had 3 nights in Johannesburg and we were overjoyed to have stayed in this wonderful Guest House! The decor was elegant, the rooms were spacious and comfortable, and the service was fantastic! As you really need a car to get anywhere in Joburg, we were also very pleased to be able to use the services of the "house driver" Prince who was reliable, dependable, knowledgeable, and reasonable on his rates. Also worth noting was the breakfast which was relaxed and delicious (loved the french toast and fried banana!). We highly recommend the Ashdown house and will definitely stay there again the next time we travel through Johannesburg!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 6 and 7 on the 2nd floor which was perfect for us and our 3 kids.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Greg

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of AshDown House –and what a great Review it is! Thank you for the lovely comments about the guesthouse as well as the rooms. We always use Prince for our taxi transfers and tours as he has proven to be very reliable as well as knowledgeable about Johannesburg. I’m pleased that you and your family were able to experience and enjoy our breakfasts. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to AshDown House the next time you are in South Africa!

AshDown House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews