We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Ashdown House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashdown House
Ranked #44 of 298 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Hi Chantal, this was first stay anywhere in JHB and I do not want to stay anywhere else in JHB. You guys have a beautiful garden and a great variety of birdlife. You are secure and tranquil and I will recommend Ashdown house to everybody wanting to overnight in JHB.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Okkie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantal B, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Okkie O

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of AshDown House! We are delighted to hear that you would not want to stay at any other establishment! We absolutely love all the birds in our garden and encourage them by putting fruit and seeds out daily. We would appreciate any recommendations and look forward to seeing you at Ashdown House the next time you are in Johannesburg!

The AshDown House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed at Ashdown House for one week on a business trip from Australia. The rooms were beautiful and the staff so incredibly friendly. I would most definitely stay there again. The accommodation and the area in which it is located was very secure. The decor very quaint, I loved sitting in the dining and lounge area each day. I stayed in a delux suite and the only issue was lugging my bag up the stairs on the way in and out. It was totally worth it though as the room was fantastic.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FiMC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantal B, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear FiMC2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of AshDown House and scoring us 10 out of 10! Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed the upgrade to a Deluxe Room and next time we will be sure to help you with your luggage! We hope to see you again the next time you are in South Africa!

The AshDown House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Third time we stayed at the Ashdown Guesthouse; the perfect place to stay when you are visiting JHB. Place is wonderful as well as the staff. Luxury and comfortable. Next time, we will again return to Ashdown, I do not have any reason to look further.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ernst J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantal B, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Ernst J

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of AshDown House on TripAdvisor! We really love the fact that you keep returning to AshDown House every time you are in Johannesburg and we look forward to welcoming you both back again next year!

The AshDown House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Hi Chantal,Ashdown house is such a wonderful place to stay,the staff are friendly,hospitable and professionals. The environmet is calm and cool. As I said in my mail,I will not hesitate to recommend Ashdown House to people I know coming to Johannesburg. This is my honest review. Do send my regards to your coleauge.I arrived Nigeria safely. Simeon

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simeon Ogbonnaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantal B, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Simeon

Thank you so much for taking the time to right a review of AshDown House –and a perfect 10 out of 10 score! We are so pleased that we met your expectations. We thank you in advance for your referrals! Nicolene sends her regards. We hope to see you back again soon the next time you are in South Africa.

The AshDown House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I will surely return to this wonderful place ...
Very cute, nice and relaxing ...
Loved the decor ... super original and very tasteful ...
The rooms super comfortable, super stuffed a mini bar ... true comfort away from home but at home ...
I recommend!

Room Tip: Deluxe Room facing pool - Nº7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ntaju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantal B, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Ntaju

Thank you so much for you great review –what wonderful comments! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at AshDown House and felt at home. Thank you for recommending us and we hope we see you again soon!


The AshDown House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed in AshDown House for almost 2 weeks during a rescent business trip to Johannesburg and it was like a home far from home. The first thing which I liked about the place was its silence - much needed after a long and tiring day. The rooms were plush, large and comfortable with ample amenities to spoil you with luxury. I would strongly recommend experiencing this beautiful place, be it a official or family trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nalin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantal B, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Nalin

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of AshDown House! It was lovely having you and Krishnendu stay with us, and your long stay enabled you to really experience AshDown House and all it has to offer. The peace and tranquility definitely helps you relax after a long day at work! We are pleased that you enjoyed the Luxury Suites. Thank you for recommending us –hopefully we will see you again when you are back in Johannesburg!

The AshDown House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Ashdown house is a fantastic establishment! The service is excellent, the location great and the bedrooms incredibly well appointed. The breakfasts were expansive and every taste is catered for in both food and drink. There are also a variety of value adds which enhance the whole experience including the "honesty" bar, outside entertainment area and lovely garden. I was particularly struck by the attention to detail in all aspects of the construction and operation of Ashdown house from channelling electrical cables IN the wall for wall mounted heaters (to completely hide cabling) to the surreptitious provision of bloody mary constituents at breakfast to assist the business traveller in recovering from that late night business meeting :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lazyant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantal B, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Lazyant

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at AshDown House –thank you for the stunning review! Thank you for mentioning our breakfasts and the wide variety of choice, as well as the Bloody Mary, which you never know when you might need! Ensuring that all cabling was chased into the wall is just one of the examples of our attention to detail. Thank you once again for your wonderful review –we look forward to welcoming you back to AshDown House in the future!

The AshDown House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
6.9 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
343 reviews
2.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.1 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 66 in Johannesburg
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#35 of 66 in Johannesburg
21 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
4.9 mi away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#41 of 66 in Johannesburg
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashdown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashdown House

Address: 14b George Street | Bryanston, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £114 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashdown House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashdown House is an upmarket, exclusive guesthouse in Bryanston, Johannesburg. Relax at the pool, enjoy a drink at the "Club House" before retiring to one of the beautifully appointed rooms. Unwind in 5 star luxury and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ashdown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing