We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Ashdown House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashdown House
Ranked #44 of 298 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed at Ashdown for a two-week business trip - felt extremely cosy at all times. The staff are extremely attentive and go the extra mile to make you feel more at home. Small things like putting my laundry in the bag in my room one morning and finding all my washed, dried, and ironed clothes hung up or folded up in the wardrobe a few hours later when I returned was a very pleasant surprise.

In addition, my colleagues and I went on a safari one morning and the staff made us breakfast packs (including cut up Nutella sandwiches) for us to take - this was very thoughtful. We also requested burgers for one night and sure enough, we got burgers for dinner a few nights later - they were amazing!

All in all, I would definitely stay again and would recommend Ashdown to family and friends!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraceHGraceH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Owner at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We love hearing words like “cosy”, “attentive” and “thoughtful”. We in return thoroughly enjoyed having you for two weeks. You are all such a lovely bunch of youngsters, and I am sure you will all be very successful in your future careers. Your parents should all be proud of you!
Warmest regards
The Ashdown Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

We chose this really nice B&B as we fell in love with it from the first website visit and as it was liked by 100% at tripadvisor. I can now align myselfo on this ranking :-)!
The location is beautiful, with a little garden and all persons are nice and always helpful.
It is outside of Jo'burg, but was perfect located for our stay.
We enjoyed our stay there very much, by feeling always safe. Also the driver Prince was great and reliable. The rooms are big, always clean, have everything you need. The bed was very comfortable.
I would alwas choose AshDown House again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Owner at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Hi Britta
Thank you so much for taking time to review AshDown House. We love that you felt safe and comfortable during your stay. We will pass the compliment on to Prince. He is always extremely reliable, professional and friendly. We really enjoyed having you both and hopefully one day you will be back!
Warm regards
The Ashdown Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is the place! We spent 2 nights here to relax after a 6 day safari in Kruger. The house was like everything else in Sandton/Bryanston and seemed like a compound--so it was very safe. The rooms were immaculate, modern, clean, comfortable, and after not having wi-fi for a week we were excited about the awesome connectivity here :) It was a very pleasant and quiet stay and Chantal was very helpful in arranging transfers, day trips, and helping with any questions we had. The breakfast options were great and the food was very good.

The grounds were also very clean and the courtyard was beautiful. The pool looked delightful, but it was a tad cool when we stayed so we didn't partake. The the outdoor seating/bar/clubhouse is also very nice.

If you need a stopover before or after safari, or heading elsewhere in South Africa, I couldn't recommend a better place to stay than Ashdown House.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Utah_Birdtographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Owner at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

We must have left a lasting impression for you to write a review 4 months after your stay and that makes us feel very special – thank you! The staff at Ashdown House strive for perfection daily and that includes helping to organise guests tours, transfers, etc. Thank you for your recommendation to other tourists and hopefully you will be back again. PS We loved the photographs of our bird life!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We opted for a suite (and were given room 10) which is the furthest away from the main house which provides a bit of privacy. Essentially, it's a very long room, with long double bed (my husband is 6 foot 6, so we know it's long!) which leads onto a sitting area. The bathroom has both bath and separate shower and a nice touch is that you get four large towels so if (like me) you fancy a bath in the evening and shower in the morning, you can do so with fresh towels!

There's complementary fruit, sherry and fresh milk (Yay!) to go with your tea and coffee tray

Outside is a lovely pool and lappa.

Only negatives for us were:
1. It's not the easiest place to find if you don't have a GPS as it's inside a secure estate (and the street maps and map on their website don't show this
2. They may have Dstv (for lots of channels on the t.v.) but we couldn't figure how to work it out and we were hoping to catch up on a sporting event and for us (and this is a personal view which I am sure others might not share), it felt very slightly corporate

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roodeberglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Owner at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of Ashdown House. We appreciate all the positive comments, especially about the fresh milk! We are turning your negatives into positives and we will be making changes to the map on our website. Unfortunately, there is not much we can do about the GPS and street maps. Our apologies for not ensuring that you could work the TV and in future we will offer a small demonstration on check in. We hope you enjoyed your short stay with us and hopefully we will see you again one day!
Warm regards
Glynis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Hi Chantal, this was first stay anywhere in JHB and I do not want to stay anywhere else in JHB. You guys have a beautiful garden and a great variety of birdlife. You are secure and tranquil and I will recommend Ashdown house to everybody wanting to overnight in JHB.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Okkie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantal B, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Okkie O

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of AshDown House! We are delighted to hear that you would not want to stay at any other establishment! We absolutely love all the birds in our garden and encourage them by putting fruit and seeds out daily. We would appreciate any recommendations and look forward to seeing you at Ashdown House the next time you are in Johannesburg!

The AshDown House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed at Ashdown House for one week on a business trip from Australia. The rooms were beautiful and the staff so incredibly friendly. I would most definitely stay there again. The accommodation and the area in which it is located was very secure. The decor very quaint, I loved sitting in the dining and lounge area each day. I stayed in a delux suite and the only issue was lugging my bag up the stairs on the way in and out. It was totally worth it though as the room was fantastic.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FiMC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantal B, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear FiMC2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of AshDown House and scoring us 10 out of 10! Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed the upgrade to a Deluxe Room and next time we will be sure to help you with your luggage! We hope to see you again the next time you are in South Africa!

The AshDown House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Third time we stayed at the Ashdown Guesthouse; the perfect place to stay when you are visiting JHB. Place is wonderful as well as the staff. Luxury and comfortable. Next time, we will again return to Ashdown, I do not have any reason to look further.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ernst J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantal B, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Ernst J

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of AshDown House on TripAdvisor! We really love the fact that you keep returning to AshDown House every time you are in Johannesburg and we look forward to welcoming you both back again next year!

The AshDown House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
6.9 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
343 reviews
2.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.1 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 66 in Johannesburg
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#35 of 66 in Johannesburg
21 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
4.9 mi away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#41 of 66 in Johannesburg
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashdown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashdown House

Address: 14b George Street | Bryanston, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £113 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashdown House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashdown House is an upmarket, exclusive guesthouse in Bryanston, Johannesburg. Relax at the pool, enjoy a drink at the "Club House" before retiring to one of the beautifully appointed rooms. Unwind in 5 star luxury and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ashdown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing