We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is really a five star guest house”
Review of Ashdown House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashdown House
Ranked #43 of 299 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed there for three nights mid of February 2014 and enjoyed it really very much. Nice and lovely decorated rooms, excellent service and a great and very tasty breakfast selection.
On Valentin's day we found a bottle of champagne, snacks and fruits as a surprise in our room.
We will definitely come again!

Room Tip: All rooms are really very nice and painted in different colors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Owner at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Ashdown House. We loved meeting you both and we are really pleased that your Valentine’s Day treat was enjoyed. Hopefully you have already started planning your next trip and I hope that this time your stay at Ashdown House is longer. Just remember, there are still quite a few golf courses to play in Johannesburg! Warmest regards
The Ashdown Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

Our stay at Ashdown House was awesome. We really felt at home and the surroundings are very peaceful and quiet. The staff are very friendly and the owner, Glyniss, is a superb chef. We had dinner there and it was really outstanding. The room was very comfortable with our own lounge and verandah. We spent a few hours relaxing in the boma in the afternoon which was so peaceful. Awesome place to stay which we will definitely return to when in the area again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicheleEric222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Owner at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you so much! Really please that you enjoyed your dinner and all the facilities at Ashdown house. You were such relaxed wonderful guests, so everything was a pleasure. I do hope that Eric’s day driving a Formula 1 car lived up to his excitement and expectations! Hopefully, you will be back one day.

Warmest regards
The Ashdown Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Our stay in Ashdown House concluded a three week tour of South Africa and I must say we saved the best until last. The room was beautiful, clean and had a private veranda overlooking the garden. Everything was wonderful apart from the staff. The staff were exceptional. I cannot thank them enough. From our complementary room upgrade, welcome drinks, super fast laundry service, allowing us to check-out late and much, much more; nothing was too much trouble. A fabulous hotel staffed with people who go above and beyond for their guests. A must for anyone wishing to stay in Bryanston.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancygirlnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Owner at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

We really love that you “saved the best until last”. What a stunning compliment – thank you! The staff are all very proud and feeling great that all the small details were noticed by you. We do go above and beyond for our guests and so a great big thank you for noticing and for taking the time to write this review.

Warmest regards
The Ashdown Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have stayed here twice now. It is so much nicer than staying in a hotel. The rooms are lovely with a wonderful bath to stretch out in. The room has a nice bottle of sherry to welcome you after your trip and tea and coffee. The fresh cookies are also something to look forward to.
Glenna, the owner, has done a wonderful job decorating with some wonderful old things in the dining room. Each room is a different decor with lovely sheets and furniture.
Don't miss having breakfast which comes with the room. We have had dinner here twice and it was excellent.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: the double rooms come with a lovely sitting area but not necessary since there is such nice seating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Owner at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Hi Linda S

Thank you so much for “highly recommending”us! The fresh cookies are baked by Lorraine and I must agree with you, they are delicious. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the eclectic style of Ashdown House as well as the linen. All our meals are cooked with love so we are always thrilled when someone comments on our breakfasts and dinners. Hopefully you will return to Ashdown House in the not too distant future!

Warmest regards
The Ashdown Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

As the title says, Ashdown House is a B&B with a very "homey" feel due to it's friendly staff and owner, as well as being a beautiful property. They are incredibly accommodating of guests' needs, have french press coffee set up in the rooms, and provide outstanding breakfasts and dinners (dinners on request, which are several courses and very tasty and well-presented). It's an oasis in Johannesburg and a quiet and very welcoming place to relax and rechar

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Owner at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Hi Shaun H

Thank you so much for the review. We are so pleased that you were able to experience all that Ashdown House has to offer and that you enjoyed it all! We love it when guests notice the smaller details, e.g., the French press coffee in the rooms. Cooking for you all was such a pleasure as you enjoyed the presentation and every mouthful. Hopefully you will taste Ostrich Carpaccio again one day!

Warmest regards
The Ashdown Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed at Ashdown for a two-week business trip - felt extremely cosy at all times. The staff are extremely attentive and go the extra mile to make you feel more at home. Small things like putting my laundry in the bag in my room one morning and finding all my washed, dried, and ironed clothes hung up or folded up in the wardrobe a few hours later when I returned was a very pleasant surprise.

In addition, my colleagues and I went on a safari one morning and the staff made us breakfast packs (including cut up Nutella sandwiches) for us to take - this was very thoughtful. We also requested burgers for one night and sure enough, we got burgers for dinner a few nights later - they were amazing!

All in all, I would definitely stay again and would recommend Ashdown to family and friends!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraceHGraceH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Owner at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We love hearing words like “cosy”, “attentive” and “thoughtful”. We in return thoroughly enjoyed having you for two weeks. You are all such a lovely bunch of youngsters, and I am sure you will all be very successful in your future careers. Your parents should all be proud of you!
Warmest regards
The Ashdown Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We chose this really nice B&B as we fell in love with it from the first website visit and as it was liked by 100% at tripadvisor. I can now align myselfo on this ranking :-)!
The location is beautiful, with a little garden and all persons are nice and always helpful.
It is outside of Jo'burg, but was perfect located for our stay.
We enjoyed our stay there very much, by feeling always safe. Also the driver Prince was great and reliable. The rooms are big, always clean, have everything you need. The bed was very comfortable.
I would alwas choose AshDown House again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Owner at Ashdown House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Hi Britta
Thank you so much for taking time to review AshDown House. We love that you felt safe and comfortable during your stay. We will pass the compliment on to Prince. He is always extremely reliable, professional and friendly. We really enjoyed having you both and hopefully one day you will be back!
Warm regards
The Ashdown Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
6.9 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
335 reviews
12.7 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#39 of 66 in Johannesburg
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 66 in Johannesburg
421 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
1.9 mi away
Motel Mi Pi CHi
Motel Mi Pi CHi
#14 of 66 in Johannesburg
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashdown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashdown House

Address: 14b George Street | Bryanston, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £113 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashdown House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashdown House is an upmarket, exclusive guesthouse in Bryanston, Johannesburg. Relax at the pool, enjoy a drink at the "Club House" before retiring to one of the beautifully appointed rooms. Unwind in 5 star luxury and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ashdown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing