We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight visit to Joburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashdown House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ashdown House
Ranked #37 of 289 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overnight visit to Joburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

What a lovely guest house with loads of special thoughtful touches. From the fluffy gown and slippers in the room, to the complimentary sherry, and even plunger coffee in the room! I was upgraded to a luxury room - thank you Nicolene (Lovely manageress)! The heating panels were on when i arrived, it was so inviting. I felt like it was a real treat for my quick visit to Joburg for a friend's party. I was so comfortable, the room was divine. The bathroom was luxurious. Wonderful wifi. The breakfast was delicious, with so many options from which to choose. Beautiful garden, and lapa area to relax in, and even a pool for a summer swim! The security is excellent. Less than 30 minutes from OR Tambo. I look forward to staying at Ashdown House again, and will recommend it to all. The great reviews on Trip Advisor were what lead me to choose this spot over others, and I wasn't disappointed. Much better than staying in a soul-less hotel I thought, and pretty much the same price.

Room Tip: All rooms look good to me. I was in Room 6 upstairs overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
38
8
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I've been using Ashdown for 3 years now and have called it home away from home for almost over 120 bed nights and 120 and many more to come. Friendly, warm, inviting, refreshing, private and safe. Thanks!

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are the best, I think only 2 rooms don't face the pool anyway, but all rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ancodottv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our first stop in South Africa. Absolutely lovely accommodation. Staff was great - offered help with everything. Grounds are stunning. Food was outstanding. Arranged an excellent driver for us. Would definitely recommend and return to.

Room Tip: They all appeared to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephOSanFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Absolutely wonderful. LOVELY food and very friendly staff! They were extremely accomodating and helpful. They were in close contact with our driver and ensured that we were on time everyday. AGAIN...food was amazing. Will come back anyday!

Room Tip: THe suites are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesprinses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Beautiful setting, excellent food, friendly staff! This is in a wealthier suburb, so you'll need a car or ride of some kind. Beds are definitely on the firm side and water pressure is a little low, but those are minor issues compared with the advantages.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequent_travellerSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Ashdown was a great final stop before heading back to the states. The property is full of character with garden views, patio seating, fruit trees, outdoor lounge with bar, TV, fire pit. The rooms are just the right size & very clean. Breakfast is AMAZING. Must try the french toast & fired bananas. We used their guide to visit the Apartheid Museum & Soweto which you can drive yourself you have a car. The guide is not necessary & we were rushed & didn't finish the entire museum. The only negative to Ashdown is the internet. Connection is only strong outside near the rear of the property. The staff restarted the internet & it still didn't work properly. There was never a resolution. Other than that I highly suggest Ashdown.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, beds a little stiff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Owner at Ashdown House, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hi Briana M
We are so pleased that you chose Ashdown House as your final stop before returning home! You spent such a short time with us yet you managed to enjoy and notice most of what Ashdown House has to offer. Our apologies for the bad internet connection, something that we are addressing as a matter of urgency. Hopefully you will be back one day and get to spend a bit more time exploring all Johannesburg has to offer!

Warm regards
The Ashdown House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Okay, this is a 4.5 for me but since trip advisor won’t let me put that, I’m rounding off to 4 (not 5, because I do have some suggestions)

My wife and my one year old son stayed in Ashdown place for 2 months while we relocated to Johannesburg recently and I have to begin by saying nothing is too much for Glenys and her team.

She runs a tight ship and while it may seem a little extreme in the beginning (some of the staff is positively terrified of her), but you soon begin to realize that it is this rigorous regime of discipline that results in the consistency that a guest experiences in Ashdown House.

Bear in mind, that this isn’t designed to be a child friendly guest house (mostly corporate guests), but the staff would do everything possible to make it comfortable. They put a microwave, an additional fridge and removed some of the furniture to give us more space. During the stay, when they realized that my child was unwell and was sleeping with his mom, they put an extra bed in my room for no additional charge. Brilliance! As a sendoff, Glenys personally cooked us the most awesome Biryani dinner, which my wife described as the best she has had outside of Hyderabad.

A big shout out to Nicolene, Nadya, Jan, Gertrude and every other member of the staff who made us so comfortable. My wife actually got a little emotional while leaving.

Of course, in all fairness, I also have a few suggestions to make. This is coming from staying in Ashdown for 2 months and would probably affect people in long stays more.

1) The parking space needs to be covered. The amount of bird poo and dry leaves that fall on your vehicle make for a ‘crappy’ situation.
2) In the suites, a sliding door between the bed and sitting area would help immensely in making the space more private when needed. Would have been great with the kid.
3) In the winters, the swimming pool can be covered. I didn’t see one guest use it in the 2 months I was there.
4) The electric sensor on the 1st gate doesn’t work properly. It resulted in my rental car being damaged while exiting one day. Cost me 3200 Rand in excess for insurance, without it being my fault. I didn’t ask the B&B to pay for it since they were just so nice. Any other place, I would have made a big tantrum.
5) The wi-fi in room no. 8 just doesnt work. Had to sit out in the cold many evenings to skype with my family back home

All the above may seem like they are negatives, but the way I see it - these are minor quick fixes.

All said and done, it's a great place with very friendly folks. I would recommend it to everyone I know. My congratulations to Glenys for maintaining such stellar standards.

Room Tip: There are spots with zero wi-fi signal. Check the signal in your room and request for another if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashd0wn, Owner at Ashdown House, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hi Cheemra

Firstly, thank you so much for taking the time to review Ashdown House and secondly, it was really wonderful meeting you and getting to know you all! We really hope that you have settled into your new home and enjoying life in South Africa. We miss having you around! Thank you for the constructive criticisms and all points will be looked at and actioned/changed where possible. Maintaining the “stellar standards” at Ashdown House would not be possible without my staff. They are the backbone of Ashdown House and strive daily to ensure a stay of unequalled standards of cleanliness and service. It was our pleasure to serve you and your lovely wife & son!

Warmest regards

The Ashdown House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
1.9 mi away
Annabel's of Bryanston
Annabel's of Bryanston
#1 of 3 in Bryanston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fountain Hill Guest Lodge
Fountain Hill Guest Lodge
#6 of 15 in Bryanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Golden Gate Guest House
#55 of 98 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
A Peaceful Retreat Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Radiance Guest Lodge and Conference Center
1.5 mi away
Dunton Guest House
Dunton Guest House
#1 of 11 in Rivonia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashdown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashdown House

Property: Ashdown House
Address: 14b George Street | Bryanston, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 289 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashdown House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashdown House is an upmarket, exclusive guesthouse in Bryanston, Johannesburg. Relax at the pool, enjoy a drink at the "Club House" before retiring to one of the beautifully appointed rooms. Unwind in 5 star luxury and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ashdown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing