We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Lugano Guesthouse
Ranked #28 of 299 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My friend and I stayed at Villa Lugano in Johannesburg on our way the a game park in Kwazulu Natal. The accommodations were so beautiful and quiet. We were met by friendly staff who went out of their way to help us get settled and show us where to find everything. The rooms are quite unique, quiet and comfortable and the breakfast served the next morning was delicious. The B&B is located in a residential neighborhood and was rather difficult to find. Once there, we were concerned that if we left to drive out to find dinner we might not find out way back, but that problem was solved when we found that there is an excellent italian restaurant located right across the street. The pool was a great place to hang out and recover from our jet lag. I wholeheartedly recommend this B&B for anyone traveling through Johannesburg who wants a truly luxurious opportunity to rest and relax before traveling on.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amestey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaLugano, Owner at Villa Lugano Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for an excellent review.

There are great restaurants in the area as well and easy to find.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards

Eddie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed with my wive for the long weekend and we were very impressed with our room neat and comfortable....on saturday we chilled in the pool area...we had the most wonderful time ever....we will consider staying here again when we visit that part of Joburg

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smokone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie B, Owner at Villa Lugano Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi Guys,

Thank you for a great review.

Kind Regards, Eddie, Irma & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We were surprised that there was no honesty bar where we could get a cooldrink or a beer Airconditioning is lacking. Staff were good but did not know what a poached egg was- brought boiled eggs. the room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Have stayed at Villa Lugano a few times and dissappointed with variability in rooms. While some are really spacious and comfortable I was assigned a small substandard room on latest visit (in house closest to road). My room also shared a balcony with an adjacent room which the occupant used for smoking. Result was that I was unable to open outside door. Breakfast and location OK. Try the Italian restaurant accross the road for an excellent meal.

Room Tip: Stay away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paarlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I booked up with Villa Lugano at short notice. Emails were responded to very quickly. The Villa is beautiful, the single room comfortable and the pool area and garden are stunning. The atmosphere is very tranquil, peaceful and quiet.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful and there is also the most adorable parrot on the premises. Breakfast is more than adequate!

One can come and go as one pleases and I would definitely book here again when I return to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindaRossDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My company booked a few of Scania Finance people at the lodge. I was allocated a room that was not satisfactory to my needs. The room did not have its own bathroom, the bed was small and old and felt like i was sleeping in a cot. When i asked for the room to be changed i was told that there were no other rooms available. However on the bright side the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suren_naicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I really appreciated my stay in Villa Lugano. All the people there are very nice and helpful. The guesthouse is clean and decorated with the very good taste of the artists in the place. Just had one dinner there and it was excellent. It is located in a very nice and safe area of Johannesburg. I strongly advise it. The only thing missing is a bar, where to drink, relax or meet other travellers in the evenings...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marie-Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
10.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
2.1 mi away
Thaba Eco Hotel
Thaba Eco Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
272 reviews
10.4 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 299 in Johannesburg
204 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hands On Retreat Craighall
Hands On Retreat Craighall
#3 of 299 in Johannesburg
289 reviews
8.7 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#4 of 299 in Johannesburg
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lugano Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lugano Guesthouse

Address: 100 Broad Street | Mulbarton X2, Johannesburg 2001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £43 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Lugano Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Lugano is an exclusive multi award winning Mediterranean styled luxury 4 STAR guest house ideally situated in the heart of friendly Mulbarton in the South of South Africa's City of Gold, Johannesburg. It is within close proximity to the Soccer City Stadium where most of the big concerts and shows take place. The OR Tambo Int. Airport is conveniently situated 20 minutes away. Villa Lugano is also suitably accessible to Sandton City, Johannesburg and surrounding areas. Close to shopping centres, schools, restaurants, golf courses, Nasrec Exhibition Centre, Apartheid Museum, casinos, theme parks etc. We can arrange the following tours for our guests please enquire with our front desk, Soweto Fair tour, Footsteps of Mandela and Ghandi, Cradle of humankind, Lion and Rhino Park, Plumari Game reserve, De Wildt Cheetah Farm, Elephant Sanctuary and many more. Our guest house consists of comfortable, tastefully furnished bedrooms ranging from single to deluxe twin/double rooms with adjoined spacious en suit bathrooms. En-suite bathrooms come equipped with hairdryer / electric shave facility. Villa Lugano is located in a large and attractive emerging garden which adds ambience to a pleasant and memorable stay. Secure off street parking is provided by means of double automated garages and lots of entertainment areas, interior and exterior (with water features etc.) create a relaxing atmosphere. Scrumptious breakfasts are available either in the dining area or weather permitting on the adjoining patio. Home cooked dinners are available on request by prior arrangement should guests wish not to venture out in the evening. All rooms are equipped with TV sets that provide DSTV with a hotel bouquet. Free Wi Fi is provided and each room is equipped with an adequate table should guests wish to work after hours. Visitors to Villa Lugano can enjoy the beautiful natural countryside on numerous hiking trails or mountain biking trails 5min away and maybe play a round of golf at one of the nearby golf courses or visit one of the nearby museums, or go spend time at one of the surrounding casinos or enjoy the theatre or cinemas. We have numerous top quality restaurants on our doorstep or just relax with a sundowner at the Villa Lugano pool. - Int. Airport (20 min) - Bush Lodges (40 min drive) - Braai facilities - communal - Car hire (less than 10 km) - Casino (less than 15 km) - Exercise facility (10 km) - Golf Country Club (less than 4 km) - Internet facilities (Wireless) (24 hour) - Laundry facilities (provided) - Live entertainment (less than 15 km) - Movies / cinema (less than 4 km) - Parking on site (garages) - Italian Restaurant (less than 120m) - EXPO Centre Johannesburg(less than 8 km) - Tea /coffee making facilities - Television in all rooms (DSTV) - In house Cinema/TV - Full room service - Swimming Pool - 24 Hour Security ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Lugano Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing