We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That place is awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
5th Avenue Gooseberry
Ranked #66 of 293 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Swakopmund, Namibia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“That place is awesome!”
Reviewed 11 May 2011

If you are looking for something very central in Joburg which feels like it is situated on a farm because of the friendliness and hospitality, this is the place you want to be. Extremey warm and inviting, excellent service, and the coffee was the best I've ever tasted :-)

Room Tip: The balcony has a cool view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronniecloete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    14
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
16
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaborone, Botswana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Communicate with staff about your choice of breakfast. We weren't given any option on what we would prefer, and my rather fussy husband was not impressed with the hard boiled egg covered in cheese sauce. He would have preferred a plain fried egg with his bacon.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moni058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry, responded to this review, 10 May 2011
We at 5th Avenue Gooseberry, really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay here. Being transparent is of utmost importance to us and that is why we encourage all of our guests to write a review. We did communicate with the staff again about the breakfast. How it works is: On arrival all new guests do complete a form, where they have to list if there is anything they do not eat at all, or do have any allergies. We then know then what we must not serve for breakfast. We make hearty breakfasts with always a special touch.Eggs Benedict, that your husband had, is one of our well known favourite breakfasts according to most of our guests and any guest is most welcome to ask for a specific breakfast.Many thanks once again for taking the time to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Gooseberry is the perfect place to relax, forget your stress and get lost in their magical retreat. The beauty of the place is the attention to detail. From the gorgeous antiques, to the sherry and roses by the bed, from the mirrors and stunning tablecloths in the garden and the wondefully scented rooms. (And of course, the bowtied lions by the pool!) Esther was there to wait on us hand and foot. Our every wish was speedily taken care of. We spent 24hrs of absolute pampering and loved every second!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Brilliant and highly recommendable.I have stayed in many hotels and B&B's on my business travels , but none can compare to Gooseberry. The decor and attention to detail is so evident and you can see this is more than a business , it is its owners pride and joy.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClintonWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2011

The Gooseberry Guest House is a nice, charming, beautifull and relaxing guesthouse.
The people are warm friendly and helpfull. The breakfast is excellent. The garden is perfect with a nice and clean swimming pool.
Thanks Susan for my enjoyable stay.
Carlo

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koraaltje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Great value stay and staff very helpful. Quiet garden with pool. Rooms are clean and all towels are washed every day. Breakfast is great with fruit and juice served prior to a semi kind of English breakfast. A big plus is FREE WI-FI though you will have to ask for a voucher.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller_58023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
Many thanks for the review! Concerning the vouchers for free internet:
The supplier recommended that we give vouchers, (which the guestmust receive on arrival- guests shouldn't need to ask for it) instead of the option to log on directly to the internet due to the following reasons:
1.The users computer remains anonymous and private on the network.
2.Thwarts wireless hackers from accessing private information on the users computer.
3.By joining the network and seeing the guest house landing page the user knows that they have joined the correct network which is protected by our radius servers and are not joining a rogue network which is set up to hack them. Radius servers provide far more security than simple wpa or wep networks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mokopane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Gooseberry is a b&b where I wish I could stay, amidst the romantic, charming and tranqual gardens and personal attention of the staff and owner . The food was excellent, the music calming and refreshing. Personal attention to detail from the cup of coffee, to the most elaborate breakfast feast..
Although the B&B is located near the Business Centre of Johannesburg, quiet and peaceful surroundings at the facility allowed us to really rest and charge our batteries.
The owner personally oversees the breakfast but the staff members are capable, friendly and highly professional and trained to make everybody feel at home and to relax.
Ample coffee and tea and a welcome sherry made our arrival so special.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FransieMokopane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#7 of 68 in Johannesburg
666 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 48 in Sandton
838 reviews
3.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
0.9 mi away
Orangerie Guesthouse
Orangerie Guesthouse
#17 of 293 in Johannesburg
47 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blackheath Manor Guest House
Blackheath Manor Guest House
#7 of 293 in Johannesburg
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5th Avenue Gooseberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5th Avenue Gooseberry

Property: 5th Avenue Gooseberry
Address: 44 - 5th Avenue | Linden, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 293 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 5th Avenue Gooseberry 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, 4-star Guest House, with an artistic touch, in a quiet, charming neighbourhood of Johannesburg. The 11 en-suite rooms each have their own character. Centrally situated, close to major attractions. Transfers to and from OR Tambo Airport. Easy accessible from main roads, 33 km from airport. Unforgettable day tours can be arranged to Apartheids Museum, Soweto, Rhino and Lion Park and many more. Free Wi-Fi access and secure parking on premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 5th Avenue Gooseberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing