We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility, charm, natural beauty and amazing team”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
5th Avenue Gooseberry
Ranked #66 of 297 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Tranquility, charm, natural beauty and amazing team”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I have been living and working outside of South Africa for the last 15 years . My work and private life require frequent travel to many countries and I stay in different hotels / guesthouses / spas in Europe , Asia , America and Australasia .

When visiting Johannesburg over the last 8 years I have frequently stayed at the Goossberry. The personal attention and warmth of Susan & Anna, plus other team members is unique and welcome. It stands apart from the impersonal service in many other establishments .The tranquil ambience, good food, beautiful garden, plus decor of rooms and house are a balm for the soul in a busy city. Do not miss the opportunity to experience a unique and warm stay in a busy city .

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    14
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
16
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Johannesburg is a big city that can easily become unpersonal. But when I arrived ath this guesthouse, I immediately realized that I would be received with open arms.
The 'Angels’ welcomed us very warmly & there was even a smart sign with my name on, welcoming me.
Every morning, after I returned from radio & TV interviews, there was fresh fruit & sweets available for me to eat.

This guest house gives off a fealing of unspoilt nature & there's a quietness that can't be disturbed. I even got a chance to meet the lovely Susan Berry - the guest house's owner.

I will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiFourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witbank
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2011

If you are looking for a peaceful and warm stay, surronded by the magic that an artist can infuse from the decoration of the gueshouse to the food, 5th Avenue Gooseberry guest house is a place you will enjoy!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Thank you Susan and the angles (Anna, Esther and Mathope) for a warm and welcomed stay, a beautiful room and a splendid breakfast each day of my stay.

The atmosphere, fire place and music makes this a safe haven to retreat to in the hustle and bustle of Johannesburg.

Room Tip: The corner bath in Room 7 is a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andriavg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I have spent 2 nights at 5th Avenue Gooseberry and enjoyed the quite and peaceful surroundings although a stone throw away from the hussle and bussle of Johannesburg and Cresta. 5th Ave Gooseberry was just what I was looking for. Nice and clean rooms with all the extra touches - sherry in the room and homebaked cookies. The staff was helpful and friendly although a bit noisy by times. A yummy breakfast was served in the diningroom. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this affordable guesthouse.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bollie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Many thanks for your response and feedback. Our aim is to offer our guests a quiet, homely and peaceful atmosphere. We will bring it again to our staff's attention - (especially the quiet). I think they were so excited to see you again!. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potchefstroom
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2011

In all my travels have I never experienced a place where such attention was paid to personal comfort. Gooseberry is beautiful in a warm, creative and artistic sense and staying there feels like a holiday in a friendly manor house.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanliStapela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I came up with my mom to watch Kylie Minogue on 9th July and this was the only place that came to mind! I stayed here on February when I came up with a friend to watch U2.I absolutely love the accommodation and the owner Susan is wonderful and the staff make you feel so at home and the breakfast is top class!!! It was my birthday on the 30th June and when we got into the room on the 9th July, the staff had put a note wishing me happy birthday and Ferrero Rocher chocolates on my bed!!! Those special touches are the best! I would recommend this guest house to anyone looking for homely and truly comfortable accommodation. Of course, all of Susan's art work is truly a pleasure to look at! Thankyou for a lovely stay and see you soon!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy29042002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Dear guest , Many thanks for this beautiful review and taking the time to write it. Hope to see you soon! Susan Berry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
4.8 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 47 in Sandton
880 reviews
3.1 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
600 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5th Avenue Gooseberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5th Avenue Gooseberry

Property: 5th Avenue Gooseberry
Address: 44 - 5th Avenue | Linden, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 5th Avenue Gooseberry 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, 4-star Guest House, with an artistic touch, in a quiet, charming neighbourhood of Johannesburg. The 11 en-suite rooms each have their own character. Centrally situated, close to major attractions. Transfers to and from OR Tambo Airport. Easy accessible from main roads, 33 km from airport. Unforgettable day tours can be arranged to Apartheids Museum, Soweto, Rhino and Lion Park and many more. Free Wi-Fi access and secure parking on premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 5th Avenue Gooseberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing