We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and Charming little Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 5th Avenue Gooseberry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
5th Avenue Gooseberry
Ranked #60 of 293 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Arusha
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Charming little Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

My business partners and I stayed two nights at the Gooseberry, having found it on trip advisor.
The staff was exceptionally kind and attentive, the breakfast was delicious (they even waited to shut breakfast down so we could get some exercise first.
Many nice little touches, and not the tacky ones, but little things like the staff offering to bring me full coffee service just because I was sitting outside working on my computer.
The rooms are a bit smaller, but it is an inn so that is to be expected. Sherry and chocolates in the room, and the owners art on the walls. Not a place I would bring kids, mostly because of the dainty glassware and calm quiet atmosphere.
I would recommend this to anyone looking for a quiet place to stay, for business or a getaway to Joberg.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    14
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
16
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We spent the night of our 30th wedding anniversary at Gooseberry Lodge ( Our function was closeby at the Blou Hond Teatre Restaurant). We were warmly received at midnight and escorted up to our room. The beautiful room nr 8 was alight with candels strewn with rose petals and the champagne was on ice!! How wonderful. The next morning we were treated to a fantastic breakfast in the lovely breakfast room.
This was not our first stay at Gooseberry; we always go back for the special treatment, the lovely vibe and the enjoyment of the interesting decor, Susan's art and the beautiful garden.
Indeed a haven for anyone having to stay over in Johannesburg.

Room Tip: Room nr 8 has a balcony overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Great interior full of antiques, very elegant and cozy. The walls are covered with the painings of the owner, Susan Berry. The staff was more than friendly, very helpful and smiley. The breakbast was huge, and the cook asked for possible allergies. I loved it, it felt like home, but a truly elegant home "with a history".

Room Tip: Room number 8 is just great - second floor, balcony, isolated, so you won't hear the neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

My wife and I spent 2 nights in Johannesburg from Cape Town for a family Birthday.
The "Arty-Charming" Goosberry was perfect. Received a warm wellcome, excellent service, special touches like flowers,leaves & petals in the bedroom and bathroom, night-chocolates on the pillows, cookies with tea & coffee and sherry in thebedroom for a night-cap and a full breakfast. Safe and Peaceful. Very good value for money for a B&B!

Room Tip: Large room upstairs with private balcony, with double bed and en-suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fttt2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

For years I am coming to Susan and her girls, it's my home when I am in Johannesburg and my base in SA. For business as well as for leasure the Guesthouse is centrally located in Linden, a nice and safe area with cosy restaurants close by, and it's a great choice to 'feel' and enjoy Jo'burg.
The service is great (in the times each room did not have a little fridge yet, staying for two weeks, I could even have some space in the kitchens fridge), it has a good old South African flair of cosiness and being a guest of the family. Breakfast (nice! and plenty) is a time you can meet the hosts and other guests and, if you wish, chat a bit.
The whole premises is at your disposal, so have a dip in the swimmingpool or make yourself a coffee with some home-baked cookies and set yourself in a cosy corner of the garden in front of the house or at the back, in the lounge or on a balcony you can discover.
The whole house, including the rooms, is full of art and antique furniture, not the standard stuff that you find in all those hotels. Each room is different again and is large enough to easily let me live in it with all the working and sporting gear that I bring with, for a few days or even weeks. After a night cap, a port wine or a cup of tea, I dose off for a good night's sleep to be revived for a next day.
The little chocolat on my pillow though, I take to the office, it "spoils" my coffee at ten! ; - )

Room Tip: Each room has its charme. If you insist on having a shower (apart from a bath tube), say so during r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nunspeet, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

We were in SA many times, this time rather unexpectedly, due to the sudden death and funeral of a dear cousin..
We found the Gooseberry via internet.and were happy to be there.
The very personal welcome, Anna's coffee and the other many little extra's made us really feel at home. You can go your way undisturbed as much as you like (you have your own keys) and at the same time, any help you need is available.Susan printed some very helpfull maps ( google) to find our way in Joburg!The rooms are charming ( a bit like the old "bed- and breakfasts" in England) , and comfortable, The garden is beautiful and very restfull,We had some interesting conversations with Susan, and admired her work ( plenty of that to look at)
To be recommended : a very good pizzarestaurant in the small shoppingcentre within walking distance!.
Shortly: a safe homely space in a big city

Room Tip: leave it to the owner : if you explain what you are looking for she will help you when possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corien s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

I was in South Africa on business and was lodged in the Gooseberry. It is a lovely place - very quiet, peaceful and beautiful. Service is excellent, from check-in to full breakfast, to the little things in your room like cookies, sherry, and a very large bathtub. Price is more than reasonable. Very quiet, very safe area, shops within walking distance as is a very good gym. Try it!

Room Tip: They are all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EgyptTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Mzanzi Rock Guest House B&B
#182 of 293 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sleepy Gecko Guesthouse
Sleepy Gecko Guesthouse
#83 of 293 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cherry Tree Cottage B&B
Cherry Tree Cottage B&B
#47 of 293 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.9 mi away
Orangerie Guesthouse
Orangerie Guesthouse
#15 of 293 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.2 mi away
Northcliff Manor Guest House
Northcliff Manor Guest House
#26 of 293 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5th Avenue Gooseberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5th Avenue Gooseberry

Property: 5th Avenue Gooseberry
Address: 44 - 5th Avenue | Linden, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 293 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 5th Avenue Gooseberry 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, 4-star Guest House, with an artistic touch, in a quiet, charming neighbourhood of Johannesburg. The 11 en-suite rooms each have their own character. Centrally situated, close to major attractions. Transfers to and from OR Tambo Airport. Easy accessible from main roads, 33 km from airport. Unforgettable day tours can be arranged to Apartheids Museum, Soweto, Rhino and Lion Park and many more. Free Wi-Fi access and secure parking on premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your 5th Avenue Gooseberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing