We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Linden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
5th Avenue Gooseberry
Ranked #72 of 300 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My family and I have been to 5th Avenue Gooseberry on a number of occasions and we have been happy everytime with the excellent service. The ladies are always so helpful and we have never had any complaints. I would recommend them to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joelle_mahomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for 5th Avenue Gooseberry
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

I highly recommend to businessmen who want to be in a calm place but still very close to EXPO Center in Sandton.
Service is great and all the staff members kind and hospitable.
The place is amazing just have a look on photos. Great breakfast and everything has an artistic soul.

PS. I was here for 9 days always using taxi service of Vincent 076 846 4027, he can drive you everywhere at a good price and is a very kind man.

Room Tip: close to exhibition center in Sandton
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomaszSolarPVTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Tomasz, so many thanks for your review, the photos that you have posted as well as all the other photos that you had given to us. We enjoyed having you as our guest! All of the best, Susan & the ladies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

With great pleasure I have stayed in Gooseberry Guest House. Pleasant and clean rooms. Friendly staff and a good breakfast. A must. I'll gladly go back there. Enjoy your stay at Gooseberry.

Harm Schoneveld

Room Tip: Ask a room with a view on the garden.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Harm, Thank you for your review. It was so interesting to have the group here, listening to which schools you have been visiting for your research. Kind regards, Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The food, the people, the free wi-fi... everything super incredible!
Felt right at home!
I love the warmth of the guesthouse and I loved finding new elements each day to photograph!
Thank you Susan and Staff for incredible service!

Room Tip: Come hungry - their food is incredible!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnickeNovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

It has been our privilege to spend many a quiet romantic evening at 5th Avenue Gooseberry. The staff is exceptional - remembering our names from previous visits! They also go our of their way to make sure that you are comfortable and have everything you need, and we are always amazed by the attention to detail and a personal touch to our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquesBornman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We traveled for first time to SA and stayed at Gooseberry. Experience was amazing. Gooseberry staffs made us feel comfortable and at home. Their behavior and response to our request was very nice. B&B arrangement did wonders. Guesthouse has some very nice paintings by owner and myself being a art lover really enjoyed them.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhishek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you dear Abhishek. We enjoyed having you and your wife here and we are looking forward to have you again as our guests. Regards, Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I have been staying over at Gooseberry on my business trip during the past 18 months. I have the benefit of choosing wherever I want to stay but since my first stay over here, I have not sought accommodation anywhere else. Management and staff are just wonderful- welcoming, courteous and very professional. The rooms are great-comfortable and well maintained. The little touches just adds to more homely feel. Breakfast is a must-and staff are willing to accommodate your little quirky requests. The surroundings are splendid- the lushness adds considerable to de-stress after a hard day at work.
Evert trip to Goosebery is a pleasure-and the only time that I have been disappointed is when I couldn't stay there when it was taken over by the SA Idols 2013 contestants for over two months! And by the accolades written both by celebrity guests and ordinary folk like me on the breakfast venue walls bears testimony that Gooseberry caters for every taste and need.
Thank you Susan and the wonderful staff for making every stay very special!!!!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms- one can appreciate the beauty of the surroundings
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junaid333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Our dear guest, we know you by now so well and appreciate the loyalty and the time you took to write a review even in your busy schedule. For us, the compliment of ' Home away from home' is one of the best compliments we could get. That is our aim with the guest house: to be the second home for our guests. Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
3.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
2.8 mi away
Ten Bompas
Ten Bompas
#1 of 1 in Dunkeld West
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
615 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
357 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#9 of 66 in Johannesburg
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5th Avenue Gooseberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5th Avenue Gooseberry

Address: 44 - 5th Avenue | Linden, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 300 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £39 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 5th Avenue Gooseberry 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, 4-star Guest House, with an artistic touch, in a quiet, charming neighbourhood of Johannesburg. The 11 en-suite rooms each have their own character. Centrally situated, close to major attractions. Transfers to and from OR Tambo Airport. Easy accessible from main roads, 33 km from airport. Unforgettable day tours can be arranged to Apartheids Museum, Soweto, Rhino and Lion Park and many more. Free Wi-Fi access and secure parking on premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 5th Avenue Gooseberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing