We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5th Avenue Gooseberry Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$353
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reef Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$291
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
60
14
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
14
5
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

what an amazing experience in this hotel. It is lovely, cozy, they have a wifi and I got such a nice warm welcome. Love the cookies in my room and how clean everything was. People are there very sweet. Wanna return soon.

Michaela

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 97michaelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Micheala, We enjoy so much having guests and it is always interesting to hear where they are coming from, where they are going to and what they are doing.-The world is coming to us. Thanks so much for writing a review. Kindest regards, Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Everything you want for a guest house in the city. Big breakfast included. Very friendly and helpful staff and spacious rooms and quiet neigbourhood with bidd garden and pool. The rooms are serviced every day and are neat and tidy. The staff can do laundry on request. Secure parking outside. Great stay of 3 nights and central for business appointments in greater Johannesburg.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Ratego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hannes, thanks so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. Kind regards, Susan Berry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

One of most amazingly stunning places to stay. If you are in Johannesburg area - i would suggest - look no further - this is the place to stay. Nice and helpful staff, superb cleanliness and old colonial charm. Perfect place to stay for Africa trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martins K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Martins, so many thanks for your positive feed back and all of the best for you with your career. Kindest regards, Susan Berry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Enchanting olde worlde Linden home, rich in texture, art and manner. The room was attic style, with a small charming balcony. The pretty bathroom offered a deep bathtub and supplied a wondrous hot bubble delight for me every chilly evening. The breakfasts were delicious and fresh, and the staff were utterly charming.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 482Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Gill, so many thanks for your beautiful review! Kind regards, Susan Berry & ladies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My family and I have been to 5th Avenue Gooseberry on a number of occasions and we have been happy everytime with the excellent service. The ladies are always so helpful and we have never had any complaints. I would recommend them to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joelle_mahomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews