We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable stay at an excellent price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingsway B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kingsway B&B
Ranked #191 of 293 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay at an excellent price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Usually I don't care about the star ratings as they can be misleading more often than my liking. But this B&B proved to be a perfect accommodation on all counts. Beautiful gardens, extremely cozy rooms, and the biggest plus - The personal attention the owner gives to all the guests. In addition to that, when I consider the price range, it is probably one of the best value for money B&B in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deeparnak B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    0
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beacon Bay; East London
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

After reading the other reviews I had to check again to see if this was the same establishment! Perhaps I was given a bad room but, based on my experience, I can but wonder how Kingsway earned the TGCSA four star rating they claim to have. The missing light fitting; tiles that have fallen off the wall and a tiny bathroom would not have passed a 3 star grading never mind 4.

They are inded conveniently located near Rivonia Road in Sandton and close to the highways. I stayed in room 2, more of a basement - the room had poor lighting with two lamps that weren't working; a broken door lock and blinds that couldn't be adjusted. I found myself checking their rating certificates which are displayed on the wall and was unable to find one that was currently valid, the latest one on view expired in 2012.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omegacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

I had stayed at this location (http://www.kingswaybandb.co.za) for 6 days from 25-May-2013 to 31-May-2013. The owner always kept on inquiring about the comfort and extended all the possible help from their end. I am a pure vegetarian and they always maintained a very good comfort and food for me in the breakfast. A day in advance they use to come and ask for the next day breakfast timings - I had to travel to site and so had to get the breakfast by 6:30 AM. The rooms are well maintained with other facilities like internet, LED, Disc TV, Room Heater, table, etc., The electrical plugs in SA are different from India - they shared with me their Laptop charger. The replenishment of tea / coffee/ fruits / water was always done before I had to demand. The best thing is the swimming pool with a pool side bar. They are masters in providing SPA services (http://www.kingswayspa.co.za) - all based on herbal - Best suggestion to stay at Kingsway B&B and enjoy the Spa

Room Tip: I stayed in room no. 4 - please try to get the same one - you have the whole view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dipeshmehta1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

Kingsway B&B is one of the best I have ever stayed in. Friendly staff, good breakfast, excellent rooms, great facilities, just great!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cjpret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
12.7 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
12.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
11.1 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
11.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
17.4 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#44 of 70 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway B&B

Property: Kingsway B&B
Address: 18B Homestead Rd Cnr | 10th Ave, Rivonia, Johannesburg 2128, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 293 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing