We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled Ghandi's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ghandi Backpackers Lodge
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Very chilled and peaceful place. Nice bar and pool area and very well appointed seemingly recently revamped kitchen. Very large room. Within walking distance to small shopping centre with cafes and supermarket. Tours offered from the hostel. Good stay and good value overall.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Ghandi Backpackers Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

Nice and friendly staffe. The hostels is one of Ghandihs old residents in the area and the rooms are furnitured in a very nice oldtimy way. the staff is very friendly and forthcomming. Definitly good value. Kensington felt like a safe part of town, but to be safe the Hostel has its own driver for standard taxi rates.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viktor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We arrived in Joburg super early in the morning from an overnight from Maputo. We had asked for a pickup but were told "if no one was there to meet us, just call" this is much easier to say than do when you're arriving without any local currency and nothing is open before 6 in the morning. It took us an hour to try to call, gave up, then got an overpriced taxi, then had to stand outside buzzing to get in for ten minutes.

During our entire time there, no one was ever around to help out and whenever we were in the kitchen area eating breakfast, or making a snack, it felt like we were in the way.

It just felt weird. The property was very nice, but it felt like you were a guest in someone's home who didn't want you to be there. Not to mention it didn't have any kind of wifi service and the computer charge was super expensive to use! No thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thiskentuckygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This hostel is maybe the best in Joburg. The house is very nice and the area where it is located is very safe and close to town and to East Gate. The rooms are clean and very nice.
The owner Heinz is very friendly as well Chris.
Dont miss this nice place..gateway to Jo'burg

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We recently stayed there for one night at the end of our trip in Johanesburg and we were very disapointed with this place.
We arrived around 7.00 pm so it was dark, in the entrance there is pratically no light for a start, then we didn't know where was the reception, which is actually at the bar.
The owner who was at reception was not friendly at all and apathic. The bar is very dark and not very appealing.
He then showed us the house, which is quite nice and our room. The room was very bare, nothing on the wall, which was dirty, ugly and worn-out bed linen. The bed was ok, but the pillows were horrible, the foam was in pieces and there were very unconfortable.
The bathroom is nice, quite new, but wasn't properly cleaned and the towels were stained.
For breakfast, you can help yourself to toast and jam, which is ok, but hard to find, as it is not laid out.
The owner or other person at reception are not very helpful if you want info on the city or on what to do.
Also dont trust the taxi company they use, as we ordered one which never showed up.
Would not recommend people to stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceanemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Having never traveled to Africa, I didn't know what to expect. Traveled from the USA with two of my siblings (ages 27-32), got picked up from OR tambo by chris, and immediately felt safe/comfortable. Stayed there for two nights, and had a blast. Heinz and the rest of the staff were super cool, and we met some great people that were also staying there. Place is more than well secured, and really seemed like a very safe location. Would certainly book again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opticy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I just loved this peaceful place in Joburg. It was the ideal place to start my journey into South Africa and Heinz is very helpful and perfect barman. This place allows you to have a gentle transition into a South African holiday. You feel perfectly safe and surrounded by interesting people with great stories. Even birdwatching is on the agenda, from the balcony on the first floor you could watch weaver birds making their nests! I can recommend the Soweto Tour Gangsta style with a Soweto Local. Thanks for the great service!!!

Room Tip: the double room with balcony on first floor
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
1.1 mi away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#3 of 117 in Johannesburg
66 reviews
4.9 mi away
HomeBase Melville
HomeBase Melville
#11 of 117 in Johannesburg
96 reviews
2.6 mi away
Once in Joburg
Once in Joburg
#1 of 1 in Braamfontein
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
#2 of 117 in Johannesburg
213 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Birches Backpackers
The Birches Backpackers
#6 of 117 in Johannesburg
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamond Diggers Backpackers
Diamond Diggers Backpackers
#53 of 117 in Johannesburg
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghandi Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghandi Backpackers Lodge

Address: 15 Doris Street, Johannesburg 2094, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 117 Speciality Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range: £18 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ghandi Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing