We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, poor customer service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice hotel, poor customer service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

This hotel is very stylish in the decor. I had to use the travel desk and hotel desk frequently during my stay. The travel desk staff were very rude and acted like I was bothering them each time I asked for help. I was rarely greeted in a friendly manner by the hotel check-in. I am not usually one to write complaints, but I filled out one of the feedback cards available at the hotel. The staff did address the issue and hopefully it will be better for future visitors. Great shopping and restaurants in the area. Housekeeping and restaurant staff were very friendly. Breakfast is not free even if they tell you it is.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CP57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaNtswaki, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Dear CP57,

Thank you for posting your response on Trip Advisor. We would like to apologise most sincerely for the frustrations and inconvenience we caused to you. We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with a detailed overview as to what transpired during your stay. This allows us a proper inside view as to how our STAFF are interacting with our GUESTS and dealing with any problems or situations as they arise. This also enables us to correct any problematic behaviour.

Please be assured that we take your concerns very seriously and we will ensure that we get to the root of the occurrences and ensure that they are addressed and rectified. We are truly most displeased that you had such an unpleasant stay with us as a result of our unprofessionalism.

We do value your patronage and we are sincerely sorry that you experienced such an unpleasant stay.

We trust that you will allow us a future occasion to host you and prove to you that we are very proud and passionate of both our service and product.

Warmest Regards,
Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    392
    112
    48
    40
See reviews for
80
232
54
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

This hotel is pure style and glamour on the inside - nothing spectacular from the outside - more like a block of concrete.
The rooms are a good size but the shower is not seperated from the room - not very private.
You can seperate the bathroom from the room by a curtain that looks like a cheap shower curtain - come on guys - really?
Although the toilet is seperate - it is certainly NOT sound proof - you need to be quite intimate with the person you are sharing the room with.
Love the bar area and there is a DJ that plays great music till 22:30.
This was fine for us as we enjoy a party - not sure how exhausted guests would feel about this.
Parking costs R50 overnight.
There is no minibar in the rooms, but they offer 24 hour room service.
Must Have: One of their DELICIOUS milkshakes at the bar area.
Oh yes - the pool is nice and big.
Another Tip - Book the hotel through Kulula Holiday Packages - better rates when buying with flights & car hire included in a package.

Room Tip: Away from Pool area - could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaNtswaki, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear WG1978,

Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor and providing us with an opinion on both our physical features and services that are our product offers.

Your comments will be very helpful especially should the Hotel come to a refurbishment. We are Glad to see that you enjoyed the energy and lively pulse of the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

We hope to have the privilege of hosting you once again.

Warmest Regards,
Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
407 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Fancy schmanzy, but service is good, the hotel is pretty and the beds are excellent. What else can you say about a hotel chain?

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MastaBaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaNtswaki, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear MastaBaba,

Thank you for the Short & Sweet words on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to learn that you had a great experience at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

We hope to be granted the privilege of welcoming you back to the HOTTEST spot in Jozi.

Warmest Regards,
Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

When you walk in the door, you are somewhat overwhelmed by the decor which is quirky and fun; yet elegant and sophisticated. Large black and white photograph canvases adorn the walls, surrounded by mad hatter style chairs - similar decor follows you into the bars and restaurants and into the rooms themselves. The service is great and very friendly. The hotel is situated in Melrose Arch - a gated community and shopping precinct. So incredibly secure and safe, if somewhat artificial feeling for those of us who don't live in a city with a reputation like Jo'Burg. Plenty of restaurants and bars within safe and easy walking distance and the area in the Arch is frequented by locals and visitors alike. Won't go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors as the bar is on the first floor which is a popular spot for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaNtswaki, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear Neneb,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor, we are glad you enjoyed our take on Old Hollywood Glitz and Glamour.

We, at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, pride ourselves in the image we paint for our GUESTS and the services we provide. We make it our business to ensure the safety and security of our GUESTS and to receive such compliments re-assures us that we are still in the right direction.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your Home away from Home in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards,
Fire & ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keizer
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Friends booked my husband and I into this hotel and we had no idea what a great treat was in store. Having travelled for 2 days to reach South Africa, we were tired and hungry. The room's decor was very modern, black, white and silver. The king-sized bed with its comfy duvet helped us sleep well.

But the big surprise was the brunch-style full breakfast: Fresh fruit galore, 4 types of yogurt; 4 kinds of cereal; choice of omelet; beef or pork sausages; a fish dish; cheese and kalamata olives and the largest capers we have ever seen; several choices of sweet rolls and breads; and even diabetic marmalade and Marmite for those with a constitution strong enough to cope ;-)

Friends treated a committee to the tasty Afternoon Tea, complete with cream and the lightest scones we have ever tasted. They were so good that I talked the Chef into sharing his recipe.

We appreciated the fact that room keys are required in order to operate the elevator, and that this hotel is part of the Melrose Arch Precinct with many first class stores as well as a department-store styled Woolworths where we bought large packets of South Africa's famous high anti-oxidant Rooiboos Tea.

The front staff and waiters were all very considerate and helpful. The only negative was the noisy disco on Saturday evening--but we were so tired we slept well, anyway. We highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again if we are in Johannesburg. November is a great time to visit since the Jacarandas are in full bloom all over the city.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritLadyKeizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaNtswaki, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Dearest BritLady,

Thank You for the sensational response recently posted on Trip Advisor. We are overwhelmed by all these fantastic compliments regarding you overall stay. Variety and freshness in our Food & Beverage Department is a vital element in adding value to the GUEST experience.

At the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch we pride ourselves in excellent GUEST service and are consistently striving to obtain GUEST satisfaction.

We cannot wait to host you at your preferred destination on your next visit to the HOTTEST place in Jozi.

Warmest Regards,
Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

I simply loved how funky the whole hotel was. My room was very nicely decorated, with a very comfortable bed. On the downside the shower was in the room itself, with a curtain separating it from the rest of the room. The swimming pool area looked really stylish and the bar was busy with chill out music, which was exactly what I was looking for.
I didn't try any of the food, but I can't wait to go back to Protea Hotel!
'

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oli1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaNtswaki, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the kind words that you have expressed on Trip Advisor. It really warms our hearts to receive such positive feedback from our GUESTS.

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch thrives to acquire and maintain GUESTS at all times. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel and the Food & Beverage TEAM can't wait to provide you with a memorable experience.

Kind Regards,
Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

So...this hotel is really busy being cool but they've not a clue about service...how to provide it, what it means, and how to really excel. All wait staff are slow...they stand in a huddle while you sit and wait. Housekeeping have to be told to vacuum, dust, and put towels in the room. Front desk staff do not take direction well and the management seems incapable of changing that. If you're coming for business, stay in a hotel that wants business travelers and knows how to cater to their needs. Once you get past the semi-sexy space and decorations, it's not so great and certainly staying in Melrose is the only thing that this hotel has going for it...I will not return.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whiteburgundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaNtswaki, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to complete a GUEST comment form and to write down your additional comments after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch. Your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience you experienced. Your feedbacks regarding Housekeeping, Food & Beverage as well as Front Office Departments by no means reflect the high standard of quality and service that Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch is usually proud to offer. We can therefore confirm that we have investigated your comments in a serious light and taken action to rectify the shortcomings.

Your feedback is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS’ expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are doing right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong! Thank you for assisting us to strive for service excellence.

Your interest and concern are much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotels Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch again in the near future.

Best regards,
Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.1 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.8 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.3 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch

Property: Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#21 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic 'out-of-office' experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it's too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing