We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoke and mirrors no substance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Smoke and mirrors no substance”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

First impressions usually go a long way but in this case what a disappointment.. My husband was a guest speaker and the hotel had been selected for us . The position is nice with plenty of restaurants around. That's where it ends. The hotel is a business hotel and a place for peopl to meet for drinks .The staff are the biggest asset but badly trained. Lip service is the way they deal with challenges... Rooms not properly serviced . it took 5 phone calls over 3 days to get lights fixed and finally a call to guest services to get some reaction. There also fires made each night outside so that you can't open your windows to get fresh air despite or your room smells like a fire pit. We were offered a voucher for dinner as compensation- lovely gesture- until we were subjected to poor service and sub standard food. All explained away by the chef being off. The food on the break fast Buffett was left out too long and my husband landed up with food poisoning on the last day... As a doctor he sent an email of complaint to the hotel but to date - almost 3 weeks - we have yet to hear from them. There were challenges with transfers as well but these were dealt with in a professional manner by the limo company who subcontract to the hotel. Please note you are not offered the option of a metered taxi should you need transport around Johannesburg.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesireBotha, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear DominiqueC27

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

We cannot apologise enough for the unpleasant visit you encountered during your stay with us. As discussed with you in person, the hotel made a number of attempts to make contact with you after receiving your first email and we were unfortunately unsuccessful each time.

We take all GUEST feedback very seriously and it is imperative for us to act on any report of possible food poisoning as a matter of urgency. Please be assured that although we could not get hold of you at the time we took it upon ourselves to ensure the reported products were tested immediately and eliminated from being suspect.

We would also like to assure you that regular unannounced external kitchen audits are conducted, requiring a high level to achieve a pass rate qualification. The testing and inspection is incredibly intense and the hotel is proud to say that we have consistently achieved positive and commendable scoring. We can produce anything up to 3000 dishes per week and as we have limited storage space in the kitchen, the food is ordered and delivered on the day, gets prepared the same day ensuring quality and freshness.

Our chefs are responsible for delivering our GUESTS with dishes that are of a high quality and safety is always a priority. We have an immense number of precautions, procedures and regular training in place to ensure that an optimal product is achieved every time. Aspects such as food preparation, temperature control and correct storage is closely monitored and checked every shift. Storage rotation process is used as the most common preferred practice. All our food service STAFF attends hygiene training and we have ensured that all understand the fundamentals of inspecting the food during preparation and presentation. We do need to stress that the kitchen does not recycle food items from the breakfast buffet and that all food items presented on the day are prepared fresh on the same day.

The hotel and our current transport company are aware that there will always be a cost difference between local meter taxis compared to the luxury vehicles which we use to provide chauffeur and transfer services. Once again GUEST safety and security is a priority to the hotel and we want to ensure that our GUESTS are transported by a reliable service provider. To date we have received numerous complaints from any GUEST who attempted taking meter taxis in the area and we don’t believe it is something we would encourage. We are aware that cheaper transport options are sometimes required and are in the process of including a more economical yet reliable alternative option to our GUESTS.

Thank you for raising your concerns as it is imperative for us to address any issue which did not lead to GUEST satisfaction. We thank you for bringing all to our attention and hope we will one day have the opportunity of welcoming you back and creating a wonderful and lasting experience for you both.

Warmest Regards,

The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    423
    121
    52
    44
See reviews for
90
257
58
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westside
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

If you really have to be there for your business, and don't want to get ripped off at the African Pride of the same group, stay here - still pricy though. It is well located and the are many cute restaurants around.
The hotel itself is waste. Guests get the wrong (already occupied) room, there is no fridge in the room, no soap etc. Call room service and they openly tell you they have no time.
Breakfast is nice but loud ongoing disco makes it difficult to talk to your collegues.

Room Tip: Don't know ig the've got good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingEugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesireBotha, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Traveling Eugene

Thank you very much for taking the time to share the concerns you experienced during your stay.

Although we are inundated with positive feedback from our GUESTS we are aware that all our GUESTS have different needs and expectations and we can also only be judged by our most recent encounter.

We do believe that we have created a winning formula as it has already proven to be successful in the short period the hotel has been open. We will certainly address your comments and attend to where possible as we believe there is always room for improvement. We value your feedback as this assists us to continue to strive towards GUEST satisfaction.

If in the event you do decide to stay with us again in the future, please feel free to contact myself directly and I will gladly assist you with the best possible rate and ensure that you have a comfortable stay.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back and prove to you that we are an establishment that prides ourselves on the services and products that we provide.

Warmest Regards,

The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

First of all this hotel is situated in melrose arch which makes u feel as though u are in another country, not south africa as it has its own streets,is crime free and is completely fenced. That alone is worth alot. Sandton is a 10 minute drive. The hotel is awesome with its funky and sometimes perculiar characteristics. The service received from reception,breakfast,restaurant staff makes u feel like they run on energiser batteries as it was just an awesome experience. They do play loud music on saturday nights so u might want to ask for a street facing room on a high floor to avoid this.

Their milkshakes is a must have for every guest staying here as is their extensive room service menu. Rooms have a hollywood theme, are reasonable in size but do not have bath tubs. Bedding quality is 5 star. Restaurant and lounges on that floor are fantastic and have a 5 star feel.Breakfast variety was exceptional for a 3 star hotel and i will safely say it matches many 5 star hotels . I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 5th floor street facing to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank es786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesireBotha, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Es786

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

Firstly, we cannot thank you enough for such fantastic feedback and praise. It is truly great to know that we have people such as yourself who will always be appreciative of the energy and passion our TEAM have dedicated towards their work. We are absolutely thrilled to be commending our TEAM for a job well done!

We would love to make your next stay more comfortable by allocating you a street facing room. Please feel free to highlight this upon your next reservation and we will gladly accommodate your request.

It was a real pleasure hosting you and your comments really make all the effort worthwhile.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warmest Regards,

The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This booking was created for me by a company that brought me in as speaker for a conference. The pick up at the airport was botched a little, but the representative at the airport made a great save, and I shared a car to the hotel with a great lady from France. We had great conversation, where I found out that she had completed the 7 Summits....impressive. The hotel is definitely unique, all the hosties from Emirates Airlines were staying at the hotel.....unfortunately I had work to do....preparing for my lectures the next day. The breakfast at the hotel was not great, the service was below par....but it was included so why should I complain. Room service food was below par, so the next night decided to look about...checked out trip advisor, and JB corner was recommended. Actually ate the dishes that was recommended....grilled salmon and the Lindt's brownie for desert......all great. Service was pretty good at first, but fell apart as the evening went on, but all in all a large improvement from room service at the hotel. If you want peace and quiet, this is not the hotel to stay......there is plenty of action. Live DJ both nights, and it seemed that people were having great fun despite my need for rest. Not quite appropriate for children. Thought the dimly lit hallways and elevators were neat. All in all not a bad stay.

Room Tip: Cant help you here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodSport1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesireBotha, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear GoodSport1

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate that you have taken the time to provide us with an in depth outline as to what transpired during your recent stay with us.

Firstly, we are disappointed to hear that your airport transfer was botched and relieved at the same time to hear that the representative at the airport had salvaged the situation. We have addressed this concern with the Travel desk and they have assured us that this will not happen again.

We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the disappointment you experienced due to the poor food and service experienced, as it is unfortunate that we did not live up to your expectations. It really is concerning to receive such feedback as we are usually inundated with positive feedback congratulating the TEAM for their great service and excellent food. We can assure you that your experience in no way represents the standard we're constantly striving to achieve and therefore assisting us in continually improving our standards. We know that such issues are not always solved overnight; however we are very positive that with our continuous training and the mentoring structure that we have in place, this will only yield great results.

As The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch thrives on being trendy, young & uber cool, the DJ normally plays till about 23h00 and then the music resumes to the background hotel music. We will be very happy to accommodate you in a street facing room on any future trips to ensure that you have a full nights rest.

If in the event you do decide to stay with us again in the future, please feel free to contact myself directly and I will gladly assist you and ensure that you have a comfortable stay. If the occupancy allows, we would also be happy to extend a late departure to you at no additional cost.

Our TEAM is as committed as ever to provide each GUEST with a most memorable and magnificent Protea Hotel’s service experience, therefore we want to thank you so much for taking the time to address these concerns with us.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back and prove to you that we are an establishment that prides ourselves on the services and products that we provide.

Warmest Regards,

The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Booked in by my company on business. Was fearing the worst after other reports from colleagues. But I found the place chic, well maintained. If you like retro pictures of Audrey Hepburn and Naomi Campbell(??), funky furniture this is the place for you. The room was different, the shower being in the room with the bed, which sounds worse than it actually is. The toilet is thankfully in its own room. The internet in the room was flaky, ranging from exceedingly slow to not too bad.
Didn't try the pool, although from my room I could see its overlooked by a building site next door.

The location is good, with lots of restaurants and bars/cafes nearby in Melrose Arch.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithRowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesireBotha, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear KeithRowson

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

What amazing comments regarding our property and location! Words cannot describe our happy we are that you have experienced our hospitality first hand and that you have formed your own opinion about us.

The reasoning behind our open plan bathrooms is to create more space and the design contributes to the urban style setting which definitely adds to the funky theme of the hotel. As for the concern highlighted regarding the Wi-Fi not working well, this has been addressed and rectified with our IT TEAM and we would like to apologise for the inconsistency of the speed experienced.

It was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warmest Regards,

The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I have stayed here so many times on business trips that I've lost count. This is a great hotel, with great service.

The theme of the Fire & Ice Hotels which are part of the Protea Group, is black & white retro, and the rooms are stylishly decorated accordingly.

The hotels is located in the well known Melrose Arch, a safe area to walk and shop, with many restaurants and shops to choose from. It is about 10 minutes drive from Sandton Square.

There are often live music in the restaurant and lounge area on the 1st floor.I have noticed that YUPPIES like hanging out there after work, which gives an awesome vibe to it.

Because of its popularity, room rates are often higher than the 5 star Melrose Arch Hotel further down the road, which falls in the same stall. I often stay there too. If you can find a better deal at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, I would suggest you opt for the latter.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesireBotha, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Royboy

Thank you very much for the wonderful rating and for the fantastic feedback posted on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us.

Both the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch and the African Pride Melrose Arch fall under the Protea Hotel group and although there are many rate categories and structures available, all rates are based on the BAR (Best Available Rate) structure. Our two properties do not compete with one another instead share the market available within the node. We are concerned that you have mentioned that the 4 star property’s rates can sometimes be higher than its sister 5 star property, as we believe in displaying a transparent rate offering. Should you ever come across such rates please bring it to our attention directly so that it can be addressed and rectified where necessary.

I hope this provides you with some clarity regarding our rates. We look forward to accommodating you again in the near future and hope to have the opportunity of meeting you personally.

Warmest Regards,

The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

In joburg on business and booked into protea Wanderers and following a mess up with reservation was transferred (for free) to fire and ice, fantastic location very chic decor and impeccable, friendly service. Really could not fault anything at all which is very rare. Will definately stay here when next in joburg

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfincham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesireBotha, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Cfincham

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

We were thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us after the reservation mix up at The Protea Hotel Wanderers. It really is rewarding to receive such fantastic praise and we will most definitely commend the TEAM for a job well done.

We look forward to welcoming you back so that we can continue delivering the service you so rightfully deserve.

Warmest Regards,

The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.1 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
3.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
742 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
410 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch

Property: Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#19 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic 'out-of-office' experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it's too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing