We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very "Hollywood" and extremely comfortable...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very "Hollywood" and extremely comfortable...”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Just spent three nights at the Fire & Ice Hotel in Melrose Arch. It's a very cool hotel and not too expensive - rooms are big and very comfortable. Staff are exceptional, especially the Receptionists...tons of good restaurants and shops within walking distance, all on the same complex...recommend Moyo, which does fantastic African food - the Moroccan Ostrich Special is AWESOME! Definitely be staying here next time I go to Jo'Burg...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeTalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear SherbertWade

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us. We value GUEST feedback as it motivates the TEAM to always deliver the best GUEST service. The TEAM continuously strives to exceed GUEST expectations and we are happy to share your wonderful feedback with the TEAM.

We will certainly extend your compliments to the management TEAM of the Melrose Arch Precinct, and in particular the Moyo restaurant.

It was a pleasure hosting you at the hottest place in Jozi and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warmest Regards,

Anton Gillis & the Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    416
    118
    52
    43
See reviews for
88
254
58
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I enjoyed many trips to JoBerg and usually stayed in this hotel. The quality of the service (especially at the reception) varied strongly. The rooms were mostly clean and very convenient with a good bed and nice bathroom. The deco is nicely chosen and the meals in the restaurant delicious. The coffee shop at the reception is a great place to have side-meetings or to just rest and enjoy a espresso. I will definitively go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markjmoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I stayed there a few times during work trips and I love the design of this hotel! Very comfortable beds, nice swimming pool and great restaurant!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesireBotha, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Lucya M

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

It really is rewarding to receive such positive comments from our special GUESTS and we will be sure to extend your kind words to the rest of the TEAM.

It was an absolute pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back for many future visits to come!

Warmest Regards,

The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

If you like weird room design (as I see some of the reviewers do) where the shower and handbasin are actually in the bedroom and not in a separate one, then this is definitely for you. If you like badly lighted lifts that feel like a morgue then this place is definitely for you. If you like being swamped by foreign tourists in the dining room at 06:30 when you're trying to eat quickly before going to work, then this place if for you. If you're not there on business and so don't really care if the 150Mb you were promised free runs out in about an hour or so of not-very-extensive-use then this place is for you. If you think paying £200 quid a night is a fair deal for a 'quirky' experience, then this place is for you. If you don't mind not having a fridge to store your own food or drink in, then this place is for you. If you're happy when you report room faults at reception in the morning and none of them are fixed by the time you get back in the evening, then this place is for you.

What more can I say?

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blikskottel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Amazing hotel interior design. Very comfortable. Just the room is not sound proof. Breakfast buffet is so good. Staff were helpful. Location is expensive but very social.

Room Tip: Choose audrey hepburn's room very cozy and beaitful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marycherries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Marycherries

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

It is fantastic to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us and that our buffet breakfast was good. We will most definitely share your great comments with our food and beverage TEAM!

Please do feel free to contact me directly on any future trips and we will ensure that you are allocated a quiet “Audrey Hepburn room”.

It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warmest Regards,

The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Located in melrose arch everything is nearby. U can easily miss the glass door entrance as there is no signage there. Loved the rooms & the theme of movies. Really like the concept of the bath n wash area it's unique n I saw it for the 1st time in this hotel.
Room service menu is limited with no steaks on the menu, however when I asked room service order taker about ordering steaks n red wine, they said they would happily do it for me.

I was very pleased with the check in n check out facilities.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zareen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

A friend and I spent a night at this lovely urban hotel, to celebrate her birthday. Having walked past the lobby many times, and having attended one or two functions upstairs at the bar, I'd always wanted to see inside. But I wasn't prepared for how absolutely cool the place was.

Lots of retro wallpaper, glass, Monroe and Hepburn prints, chandeliers, mirror. Very glam. Check-in was quick and easy and up we went, to be pleasantly surprised by our room. Lovely decor. Lovely (although small) bathroom with shower. Nice size room. Comfy bed and chaise. A great view - although ours was an entry-level room - of the pool, lawns and bustling bar area below.

After unpacking we enjoyed milkshakes (for which the hotel is famous) on one of the massive shaded loungers by the pool, where we were able to watch the crowds begin to descend on the bar for their night's entertainment. We then showered, changed and headed off for an evening's window shopping and dining at one of the nearby plethora of restaurants (Reception was kind enough to make us a booking at the Indian restaurant, where we had a magnificent meal).

We had a good night's sleep and surprisingly weren't at all bothered by noise from the bar below, even tho we went to bed quite early, and the party was only beginning. Breakfast was quite average and quite pricey, tho there was a generous spread. And check-out was easy.

Bottom line? This hotel is superbly located in one of Joburg's best and most popular shopping districts. So there's awesome nearby night-life, where the shops stay open late and the restaurants are good. The prices are good too - although breakfast is expensive (I'd suggest taking just the accommodation and dining at one of the many outside options instead.)

So if you're a budget traveller, a business traveller or a chic urban couple and you'd still like a bit of glitz and charm, Protea Fire & Ice! will satisfy you. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyMarkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.1 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
2.3 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.8 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
398 reviews
2.3 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#14 of 68 in Johannesburg
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch

Property: Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#21 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic 'out-of-office' experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it's too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing