We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Is a nice hotel in a secure community, with lots of facilities. Rooms are clean and spacious, very strange bathroom set up... Everything is in the room... Don't stay here if you want privacy! Staff very friendly, room service was very efficient. And try the milkshakes! They are amazing!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goundar-morton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesireBotha, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear tomwmorton

It goes without saying that we delighted to be receiving such a superb review!

We pride ourselves in offering fantastic accommodation, wonderful STAFF and of course pristine facilities. My housekeeping department will be thrilled to hear about your praises.

Our milkshakes are certainly a must when visiting us and it’s great to hear that you enjoyed this delicious drink; do feel free to let us know which one is your favourite!

Thank you for commenting on your stay with us and we hope to be seeing you more often.

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (972)
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

620 - 626 of 972 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here after spending two night at the African pride Melrose arch. Far better hotel by way of service and staff.

Rooms obviously smaller but that is understandable due to price point.

Couple of things would like, towel rails in room, as towels don't dry properly between use, and smaller fridge for water etc.

Service could be better in restaurant.

But all in all very happy and would return again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kinetic46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesireBotha, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear kinetic46

A visit to Fire & Ice often means getting to see something unexpected and this was certainly a great way for us to showcase our beautiful property and service excellence.

My TEAM is service orientated and if the STAFF is engaged and motivated our GUESTS will notice. Your service experience echoes the true warmth we are so proud to offer despite having experienced poor service in the restaurant. There is always room for improvement and the restaurant TEAM can only learn from your constructive comments.

Your comfort and enjoyment receive top priority and we will certainly be using your suggestions to improve our offering in the near future. On your next stay, we will gladly place a fridge in your room to add to the convenience. Feel free to highlight this request upon your next reservation.

Please do let me know when you plan on returning and we will, once again, treat you to excellent hospitality.

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at this beautiful hotel. The location is really convenient, right in the middle of the lovely melrose arch. The rooms are tastefully decorated in modern contemporary style. The popular milkshake bar lives up to its reputation and the milkshakes are delicious ! All in all the hotel is good value for money and I would definitely visit again.

The only negative I have is that the parking for the hotel is not validated and therefore we ended up paying R85 a day for parking in the melrose arch basement parking!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesireBotha, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Ash1128

Beautiful is definitely a great word to describe the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

Our most sincere apologies on the trouble you experienced with our parking; we will definitely look into easing our GUESTS experience in this regard. The hotel parking is facilitated by a third party supplier. Being part of a precinct environment, the parking for our hotel GUESTS is owned by Melrose Arch and unfortunately the pricing is a pre-determined rate which is for your own account.

From a design point of view, our rooms have been decorated in such a way to create comfort and space which goes hand in hand with the modern nuances of today’s trends.

The most enjoyable part of any given experience is indulging in one of our famous milkshakes. Our milkshakes are legendary and our reputation certainly promotes discussion!

Please do let me know when you plan on visiting us again. We would love to surpass your expectations on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The hotel is the perfect balance of modern day comforts with old-fashioned charm. The rooms are simply adorned; it's fresh, clean and spacious. The lounges and restaurants have the most exquisite décor imaginable with it's sky-high chair backs and elegant relaxer couches. The pool area is truly cosmopolitan. Their signature gourmet milkshakes are a must! However, if you are very hungry, don't expect very quick service from the restaurant. The wait is worth it, if you aren't in a hurry, since the food was pleasantly enjoyable and very generous portions. Location is fantastic and has a very tourist atmosphere in comparison with other parts of JHB. Staff at the hotel certainly add to the wonderful experience with their professionalism and friendly nature. Be prepared to be ripped off for parking if you need it! All in all, would definitely be going back!

Room Tip: First floor rooms if you like to be where the action is!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRIYANKA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesireBotha, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Priyankan,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on your recent stay.

The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch exemplifies what GUESTS require thus enabling us to be able to create that distinctive balance for the ultimate, well deserved break away.

Melrose Arch is the perfect destination, a city within a city, and creates an exclusive atmosphere that appeals to many GUESTS either local or foreign. A definite must for every GUEST who wishes to experience the urban lifestyle of Jozi.

Our rooms are impeccably designed and well maintained so that our GUESTS will appreciate the beauty of the layout and the crisp, clean finish. The ‘Old Hollywood Glamour’ décor of our hotel is purposely ‘exquisite’ for an unparalleled experience.

We are known for serving the best milkshakes in Johannesburg. It is always so rewarding to hear that you would recommend our milkshakes as they are without a doubt an experience of their own.

Please accept my most sincere apologies that you had received poor service in the restaurant as all of our GUESTS should be receiving the best GUEST service without question. We will definitely be mentoring the TEAM to make positive impressions upon every GUEST interaction by providing superior service. With that said, we are pleased to know that your culinary senses were met because if it looks spectacular it will taste great too!

Unfortunately, the hotel parking is facilitated by a third party supplier. Being part of a precinct environment, the parking for our hotel GUESTS is owned by Melrose Arch and consequently the pricing is a pre-determined rate which is for your own account.

You have certainly given us some great feedback and you are providing us with the opportunity to simply do things better.

We thoroughly look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A clean, modern hotel in an excellent area. Though the decor is a bit unconventional, the rooms are bright, comfortable and functional. There are several restaurants and shops in the area. Breakfasts were excellent with huge variety. Staff attentive and helpful. One of the best stays on our trip to S Africa.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sicamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesireBotha, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear sicamous

Receiving a review such as yours is certainly exceptional!

Judging by your experience with us, it is clear that you had an excellent visit and even though you had found our décor to be unconventional, this didn’t deter from your overall stay.

Our STAFF are an integral part of the operation and providing spectacular GUEST service is of paramount importance.

I am delighted to hear that our hotel was a highlight during your travels to South Africa and I do hope we have the chance of hosting you again very soon.

Until then, safe travels!

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel at the last minute when our usual hotel was overbooked, the room was fine, if not a bit on the bling side but I thought the dining area for breakfast was not great and overcrowded

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank globalsafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear globalsafari

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We do apologise that you did not enjoy the dining area for breakfast and that it was too crowded for you; perhaps being treated to breakfast in bed upon your next stay might be satisfactory!

It is great to know that you stayed with us as your alternate option and hopefully we can be your destination of choice! Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch embodies old ‘Hollywood glamour’, creating an air of captivation; therefore the décor in our rooms are structured in such a way that is alluring to the eye.

Please do let me know when you plan on visiting again. It would be wonderful meeting you!

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this modern hotel in northern suburb of Johannesburg.
It is located in a safe, high end area with upscale shops, cafes, bars and restaurants.
It is a medium sized funky boutique style hotel. It has a nice lobby.
It has a modern black and white decore with a famous people , mostly American actors, theme. Lots and lots of pictures in the rooms and common areas.
The rooms are a good size with a very unusual layout. There is no separate bathroom. The shower and sink are in the front of the main room, and the toilet is a separate room located at the very front. A curtain can be drawn to separate them from the rest of the room - unusual. The room has black and white tones, but on the black and white carpet are red spots going the entire lemgh of the room. At first i thought it was blood , but then I figured oit it part of the carpet - very wierd.
The breakfast was top shelf.
All in all, it is a very nice hotel and I would stay there agaiin.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RScharfer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear RScharfer9

Thank you for providing us with such a detailed review regarding your recent stay with us.

We are privileged to be situated in an upmarket location that allows us to provide a safe environment for our GUESTS. We encompass the ‘Old Hollywood Glamour’ feel therefore being within such a high end area the many shops and restaurants are quite favourable for our GUESTS.

My TEAM aims to provide the best possible first impression when GUESTS walk through our front doors. We want them to feel relaxed, yet absorb the beauty of our ‘funky’ hotel. The layout of are rooms are done in such a way to create a feel of open space; Fire & Ice! is not an office nor home, it’s a third space.

Our chefs and restaurant TEAM do their very best to provide exceptional food and service for our GUESTS to delight in a great meal experience. We are happy to hear that you had enjoyed our delicious breakfast offering.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and sharing your experience with us. We would definitely love to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.1 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
3.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
760 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
1.8 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch

Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#19 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: £85 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic 'out-of-office' experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it's too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing