We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful, rude, ridiculous decor, total rip-off” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful, rude, ridiculous decor, total rip-off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

The service at this hotel is ludicrous - untrained waiters and front desk staff, who have no concept of customer service, insult you to your face, and think you owe them favors. Obviously a concept hotel gone way wrong...hard to believe people actually think guests want endless black & white fake photographs of old Hollywood stars peering at you on the walls of your bedroom, and everywhere else. It's hilarious actually. Cheap., tacky, rude, overpriced, and uncomfortable. Do yourselves a favor and don't even consider for a second. Food is a nightmare - thick slabs of cheese supposedly constitute "cuisine". Unbelieveable that this place is in business.

Room Tip: Are you kidding? Rooms are tacky with hard beds, plastic sheets, loud fake disco music pounding thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Mary C,

It displeases me greatly to hear that your stay was so disappointing. We strive to achieve our service philosophy of exuding extensive amounts of positive energy and passion towards our GUESTS to ensure that their stay was nothing less than magical. I know that we do achieve this on many levels based on the volumes of positive comments and feedback we receive daily, many of which pay personal tribute to the server or receptionist who directly assisted them. These service elements and the sincerity of my TEAM clearly did not extend to you on your stay and for that I truly apologise.

I can understand that the decor and layout of the hotel is not to your liking as everyone has different tastes. The dramatic black and white theme with splashes of red, Old Hollywood Glamour and abundance of chandeliers is quite style specific. I am concerned to hear that you did not enjoy a good night sleep as the beds which we use are the same which are supplied to 5 star establishments. I would very interested to know the room you stayed in so that I can personally test and determine why this is so.

I would love to have the opportunity to contact and discuss this with you personally and would be grateful if you could directly email me on gm@fireandice-ma.com. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and to change your first impression of us and prove to you that we are truly passionate about our product and service offerings.

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    394
    112
    48
    42
See reviews for
81
234
54
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trichardt, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

often stay at the fire n ice hotel in Melrose arch on my travels to jhb and 98% of the time its great... hotel is modern and my kids love it!!! (the only thing they complain about is that there is no cartoon network channel)... great hotel , well located and good service..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Mohammed N,

Thank you for such a superb review!

It is pleasing to hear that we are your choice of accommodation whenever you find yourself in Johannesburg; it certainly is very humbling. Our hotel strives to provide a modern yet elegant appeal to our GUESTS at all times.

We look forward to hosting you again and ensuring that your next experience with us is better than the last.

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Quirky yet elegant, formal but relaxed, feels first world... but service is second world. Staff are courteous and polite, but a little too 'cardboard' in demeanor and presentation. One still feels in Africa as service delivery was somewhat lacking. Food, good, wine selection distinctly average. Location excellent if out of town and short on time. Shops and restaurants within spitting distance. Value for money - yes.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter and look out onto the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Upepo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Upepo71,

Thank you for providing us with detailed feedback after your recent stay with us.

Being a Fire & Ice! hotel, we aim to provide our GUESTS with a differentiated ambiance whilst striving to embrace you with elegance, luxury and relaxation from the moment of arrival.

It is one of our principles to provide GUESTS with superior service and it is clear that we have failed in this regard. We sincerely apologize for this as we are on the constant search of excellence; your comment will certainly assist us in achieving this by working on our shortfalls and creating more moments of magic.

We have without a doubt an excellent location that provides our GUESTS who travel to Johannesburg with fantastic accommodation and an abundance of exclusive shopping and restaurants; all this in a safe and secure environment which is of utmost importance.

Should you ever plan on visiting us again, please contact me directly on gm@fireandice-ma.com as we would love to surpass your expectations!

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

My family and I decided to patronise this restaurant. What a sad mistake; never to be repeated. The grilled kingklip I ordered was raw and was returned. Not even a decent apology for ruining our family outing and I do not believe that this measures up to the standards I experience at other Protea Hotels. Is it poor leadership or ill equipped restaurant staff? Nevertheless, the lack of concern is concerning and needs to be visited

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Easygoing282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Easygoing282,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us after your recent stay.

It brings me great displeasure to hear of how we were unable to meet and exceed your expectations as promised. There is absolutely no excuse for the GUEST service that you experienced or the lack thereof. As part of the Fire & Ice! brand, we are always striving to provide the best GUEST service and it seems that we have failed you in this regard. I sincerely apologize for the poor quality of food and falling short in delivering the highest of standards.

One of our Protea Principles is ‘The best GUEST service’ and it goes without a doubt that our TEAM have let you down. Please know that we are not at all happy with how we represented ourselves on this specific occasion.

It would be nothing less than a pleasure to show you exactly what we are about and to change your opinion of us on your next visit. Please contact me directly gm@fireandice-ma.com so that we can anticipate and meet your every request.

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Nicely appointed moodern rooms with a nice bar! High level of service and security! The hotel as a positive vibe and hosts thr Emirates Airlines crew! Shower is in the room and good for honey moon couples...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vijay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Iashivij,

Thank you for such a wonderful review!

We pledge to provide the finest personal service for our GUESTS who will always enjoy a warm and relaxed setting even in such a lively surrounding.

Our rooms are sophisticatedly designed living up to the modern chic of the old Hollywood glamour essence & the vibes which is drawn from our décor and super cool GUESTS resonates throughout the establishment. We are delighted that we host such a fabulous crew, it certainly adds to the ambience which we are so well known for.

The shower is a unique attribute to our rooms and it involves a technique of creating open space; it is unquestionably suited to GUESTS that are comfortable sharing a room together and definitely ideal for a honeymoon couple. I would suggest securing one of our beautiful corner suites on your next visit should you wish for a more private bathroom facility with an added bath facility.

We trust that your previous stay with us is one that will encourage future visits and with that said we hope to not only meet but exceed your future expectations upon your next stay.

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Protea Hotel Melrose Arch comes second to Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge. All at these hotels is excellent. I truly enjoyed myself. If you want out with your family or significant others, trust me, these are the best. Melrose Arch is at the heart of JHB, thus you need a buying power. Style and fashion is all around the Hotel. Come and see!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motsumi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Motsumi M,

It is an absolute pleasure to read your fantastic review of our establishment.

We are pleased to know that you have rated us amongst the very best of hotels which you have stayed at, second to best in fact. Our TEAM take great pride in the work standards they deliver thus providing exceptional service for all of our GUESTS.

Melrose Arch is indeed a façade of style, fashion and all things glam, as a hotel of our stature we blend in quite significantly and in turn our GUESTS benefit from being situated within the precinct as there is much to see and experience with an assortment of stores of dining options.

We would certainly love to welcome you back in the near future to experience more of what our hotel as to offer; being your destination of choice is what we would ultimately strive to achieve!

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We had a night that started out poorly and Matsobhane, the Manager of the restaurant, made a fantastic effort to turn it around. He is an asset to the Hotel. We will return because of his impressive customer service and the way he redeemed the situation.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Blissful_Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Blissful_Voyager,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us; it certainly is pleasing to hear that we had changed a moment of misery to a moment of magic!

Despite having started the evening off on a bad note, I am thrilled to hear that Matsobane had salvaged the situation and created positive memories. You have definitely experienced true Fire & Ice! Hospitality and I will certainly be making a prime example of Matsobane’s efforts – thank you for recognizing this brilliance.

We look forward to hosting you again and ensuring that your next experience with us is better than the last.

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.1 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.8 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
2.3 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch

Property: Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#21 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic 'out-of-office' experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it's too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing