We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel Great Location”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is in a very safe section of Johannesburg. There are great shopping opportunities nearby, and excellent restaurants are just down the street. You are quite safe walking around here anytime after day or evening. The hotel itself is very modern, although only having a shower curtain between your bed and the shower is a little disconcerting. However, the staff is friendly and the meals are excellent. The beds are very comfortable and the hotel itself is quiet and well-run. We had an excellent dinner here, and the breakfasts were first rate. There is a drug store nearby as well.

Room Tip: I don't know if there are any rooms with a bathtub, but if you would like that, you would have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crjmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear crjmca,

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us.

Our modern hotel is located within the upmarket area of Melrose Arch. The precinct has a vibrant display of stores, restaurants for the benefit of all our GUESTS. The area is indeed safe for all GUESTS to casually walk around day or night.

The hotel is style specific boasting the new age New York chic within Johannesburg, the shower is a unique attribute to our lavish rooms, maybe not to the taste of all our valuable customers but certainly a point of talk activity. We do have 3 corner suites available in the hotel, for a more private bathroom setting; we would encourage you to reserve a suite upon your next stay as the bathroom area is separate to the room.

The Fire & Ice! STAFF are the face of our hotel, therefore we are pleased that you were met and treated with the best service excellence from our STAFF.

Our expert culinary TEAM honour themselves in providing the delicious meals made available at our hotel, we are indeed joyful that you delighted in our meal assortments.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back as we would love to exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    423
    121
    52
    44
See reviews for
90
257
58
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Benoni, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It was our date night out,great for couples. Nice shopping at Melrose Arch.
We did not have supper at the hotel we walked over to Melrose Arch hotel and had a quiet supper. The hotel is busy at night with lots of young people. We had great milkshakes at the Milkshake Bar. The rooms were small but tasteful. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noeleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Noeleen H,

Thank you for taking time out to write a review on your last stay with us.

We are located within the gated area of the Melrose Arch precinct, which comprises of a vast number of restaurants and shopping facilities all within walking distance from our hotel, making dining out and shopping for our GUESTS a lot more convenient.

As part of the Fire and Ice! brand, we pride ourselves of the dynamics of our milkshakes, from its natural ingredients to its great taste! All our rooms follow a New York style apartment configuration with the shower within the same Hollywood theme of the hotel.

We have greatly skilled and experienced chefs preparing meals around the clock to ensure that all meals served to our GUESTS are nothing but the best.

We look forward to welcome you back in the not too distance future.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Great hotel. Stafff very friendly and helpful. Manager allowed us to say beyond checkout time since we had a late flight back home. Highly recommended.....This hotel was our last stop on the tour to South Africa and Swaziland. And most definitely: "All's well, that ends well".

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eltonr06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear eltonr06,

We are beyond thrilled to receive such wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us.

The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! boasts a lavish interior one of which GUESTS are bound to enjoy, not only do we have chic décor but we have exceptional STAFF as well which just seals the deal, what’s a hotel without the people. Our STAFF are empowered to deliver positive energy in the work they convey thus oozing the forever effervescent ‘Fire & Ice’ nature.

The managers are always equipped with a ‘can do’ attitude making our valuable GUESTS feel as comfortable as possible; we are glad that we were able to assist with a late check due to your evening flight.

We are pleased to have been the ‘cherry on the top’ of your last stretch in South Africa, and we certainly hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Fire & Ice is located in Melrose a nice affluent lifestyle area with mall, shops and tons of restaurants. The hotel itself plays super modern, hip, which i think they are doing quite well. But besides the trendy design, they manage to offer very friendly service. Smiles are not always guaranteed in other 4-5 star hotels in Jo'burg. Rooms are maybe a bit small and you will the cozy bathtup after a long day. Also, the internet is too slow to do any kind of streaming. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Florian W,

Thank you for taking the time to write the above review on your last stay at our establishment.

We are located in the Melrose Arch precinct which can be described as a city within a city bustling with restaurants and shopping facilities for the convenience of our GUESTS within a safe, secure and top-class environment. We aim for all our GUESTS to be met by a ‘vibey’ and energetic ambiance from the second they enter our doors which could also be described as ‘super modern and hip’, thank you so much for realizing this, it is people like you who make the effort we put into our work on a daily basis worthwhile.

As part of the Protea Hotel group one of our principles is to provide the best GUEST service to all our GUESTS at all times and we appreciate your acknowledgement in this regard. All our rooms carry out a New York styled apartment with the shower in the same room as the bed, making the enjoyment of a nice hot shower and jumping straight into bed easier for the GUEST who needs relaxation.

We do apologize however for the inconvenience caused by the internet connection, but I assure you that this will be looked into and bettered for future stays. Our hotel has a great number of highly skilled chefs to ensure that you receive a good dining experience at our restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and whenever you find yourself in our midst, please feel free to disturb.

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as stopover point when traveling to other destinations. Clean, up to date, and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Large breakfast buffet with everything you would ever want and then some.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hursturbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear hursturbo,

Thank you for taking time out to write the above Trip Advisor Review, it is much appreciated.
Wow!

Thank you so much for such a fantastic appraisal; it is GUESTS such as yourself that instill a great passion for GUEST service within us, making us strive to do more. We are conveniently located within the gated Melrose Arch precinct which has a vast variety of shops and restaurants just a mere walking distance away from the hotel providing GUESTS with ample convenience.

We provide a large buffet breakfast every morning in order to ensure that all our GUESTS needs may be catered for.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, FL
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was our final stopping point on a tour of South Africa. We were pretty exhausted by this point and wondering how we were going to manage the time between check out and our 11:00 PM flight home. The hotel manager graciously allowed us to keep our rooms until our transport to the airport - I've never had a hotel let me stay so late without an additional charge. What a blessing to be able to shower and clean up (not to mention relax during the day) before 24 hours of flying!

I loved the hotel decor of "old Hollywood" and found the room and bed very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was the best I had during the tour.

Staff was great, the location is safe (very important for Jo'burg), clean, and has lots of shops, dining, etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4hersheybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear 4hersheybear,

Thank you for writing a review on your last stay with us.

It brings me great pleasure to know that we were able to meet and exceed your needs with a late checkout to ensure that you were well rested before your long flight home.

The decor and layout of our rooms are quite style specific with the dramatic black and white theme with splashes of red to embrace an Old Hollywood Glamour theme carried out throughout the whole hotel. Our breakfast and restaurant meals are prepared by highly skilled chefs with a passion for the culinary arts, I am glad that you had the opportunity to indulge in our divine meal selection.

Our STAFF members strive to provide the best GUEST service at all times, I am happy that this was evident during your stay with us. We are located within the gated area of the Melrose Arch Precinct, a “city within a city”. Melrose Arch offers our GUESTS variety and convenience within a safe, secure and top-class environment within walking distance.

Thank you again for the above review; I cannot express how much it means to us. We look forward to welcoming you back and making more future memories.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel itself is good - reasonable room, good breakfast, beautiful decoration. The people, for some reason, is unfriendly - I don't know what we have to do to get a smile from the desk guys ... Difficult to get a simple information, like "where can I get a taxi?". Wi-Fi service was not available for the three days we stayed, and we always get the answer that it would soon be provided again. I~m quite sure we could get a better hotel for the same price (or cheaper) at the town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nivaldo303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Nivaldo303631,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel, it is much appreciated.

It brings us great displeasure that our STAFF were unable to meet and greet our valuable GUESTS with the persona they deserve, a smile and friendly gesture. It is a matter of concern of which our TEAM is definitely going to look into, as we want our GUESTS to always be treated with the best GUEST service. Our TEAM should be equipped to inform our GUESTS with the necessary information on request; your concerns will definitely not go unnoticed.

Telkom our National Service Provider was in the process of upgrading our Wi Fi system during the time that you had stayed with us, I do apologize for any inconvenience caused but I assure you that it has been rectified.

Although we cannot change what has transpired we would love to restore your faith in our product upon your next visit to South Africa as your customer loyalty is important to us.
We look forward to welcoming you back and providing you with the very best of what we have to offer.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.1 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
3.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
742 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
410 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch

Property: Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#19 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic 'out-of-office' experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it's too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing