We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 02/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$387
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$298
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
Free cancellation until 28/05
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Winston Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$301
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/06
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$65/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Reef Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,059)
Filter reviews
1,059 results
Traveller rating
344
458
149
59
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
458
149
59
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmilkshake barmelrose archhollywood thememovie starstrendy hotelfirst floorgated communitytravel desksafe locationrestaurants and shoppinghotel is situatedfelt very safebusiness hotelcape townsouth africamilkshakesshower
Filter
Updating list...
601 - 606 of 1,059 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is part of Protea chain, located in Northern Johannisburg , within walking distance to excellent restaurants! shopping. About 20 min ride from Apartheid Museum. Very contemporary decor, 60 s retro style with crystal chandeliers and shiny wall paper . Hollywood stars photographs are displayed next to each room in the hallway and inside . Rooms are equipped with coffee station, mini fridge, safe. Interesting set up with bathroom as the shower opens to a bedroom. You can actually take a shower and watch TV. Toilet is in a separate room, which is nice for double occupancy. Sheets are crisp and duvet is warm, pillows comfortable. The hotel has free internet limited to one device per room. Ask at the desk for a voucher to connect a second device. The hotel has a restaurant with very extensive menu, bar and milkshake bar. Breakfast buffet was very nice offering omelet station, fruit, cereal and hot dishes. Very nice and comfortable stay

Room Tip: 214 was good. Quiet for a good night sleep
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Olga P,

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are privileged to be located in the Melrose Arch precinct, as there is a variety of wonderful stores and restaurants available for our GUESTS pleasure, and the best part is that it’s all within walking distance. Our location is central to many tourist attractions which is highly beneficial.

Our décor is inspired by the old Hollywood glamour and that is carried out throughout the entire hotel, each room is equipped with all the necessary basics for our GUESTS enjoyment. The room has a unique design and yes you get to enjoy watching some telly whilst freshening up for the day.

The housekeeping TEAM always ensures that you are met with a fresh, crisp, clean bed to lay your head down after a long day.

We provide a wonderful array of meals, breakfast, lunch and dinner, our chefs take pride in delivering the very best and we are glad that you enjoyed the delicious selection.

Once again thank you for the delightful review; it was a pleasure to read.

We look forward to welcoming you back and creating more fond memories.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I realy like the rooms, the way the are decorated and all furniture in hotel. Just around the corner it's meat co. restaurant with amazing steaks and wines. We did the lion park tour, which is great but they will let you be with baby lions for only little while..max 5mins which was disappointing..back to hotel..staff needs to pay more attention to guests,but they where nice at least. breakfast ok, the highlight is milk shake:))

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Alybab,

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us.

Our rooms are uniquely designed with an old Hollywood chic finish; it is a beautiful touch to the modern era.

We are located in the Melrose Arch Precinct which boasts a wonderful selection of restaurants and stores which are beneficial to all of our GUESTS; the Meat Co was indeed a good choice, definitely an opportunity worth trying.

The Lion Park tour is a very popular tour amongst our GUESTS, it is beautiful in terms of the scenery and wildlife available but a true highlight is undoubtedly the baby lion one on one time, the timing is short but that is due to maintaining the safety of all customers.

I do apologize for the inefficiency of our STAFF, I am glad that they were friendly but customer service is imperative therefore the STAFF need not only to be friendly but also treating the GUESTS with the best of what we have to offer as the Fire & Ice! hotel.

I am pleased that the highlight of your stay was the milkshakes; I wonder which was your absolute favorite.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have spent 2 days at Protea Fire and Ice on May 2014 and my overall evaluation is it is just ok.
I like the decoration in black&white and all the stars portraits which can be seen at the corridors and inside the rooms and also the beautiful chandeliers at the bar and restaurant. The location is also very good if you want to have some shops and restaurants around. The room is not big but for a short stay I think is not an issue at all. For me what really bothered me was the service. It does not matter if it is in the front desk or at the restaurant they do their best to be unfriendly. It seems that the hire process requests as “mandatory” not to be nice. I don´t know if it is a rule for increasing staff productivity but definitely does not give us a good impression.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tereza b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear tereza b,

Thank you for your review; it was such a pleasure to accommodate you at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice!

The hotel aims to please its GUESTS with its exquisite décor and its excellent bar and restaurant. Its location is very convenient for the GUESTS who wish to indulge in shopping and eating out.

We would like to apologize for any inconveniences that you had experienced, service is an important attribute to our whole product, and therefore we always need to be on top of our game of which we have let you down in this regard. We will look into these matters as soon as possible and address them thoroughly.

We hope this does not affect your decision to stay here in the future, as we would love to have you back.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Looking for something different from your normal hotel bar - great seating inside and out and the best milkshake selection in Joburg yet ! Ferrero Roche, peppermint crisp, bar one etc - worth repeat Sunday afternoon -after movies visits.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trill-i-am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear trill-i-am,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at the Fire & Ice! hotel.

We aim to provide an experience like no other for our GUESTS, so indeed it is something different. Our hotel is known for its milkshakes and it’s a trade mark that keeps our GUESTS coming back.

The hotel is a great place to relax or wine and dine, depending on your preference.

We love that fact that you enjoyed your Fire & Ice! experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.


Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I really enjoyed staying at Protea Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch. The location was quite convenient, close enough to all the places I needed to be by Johannesburg standards, including the Melrose Arch Mall if a bit of shopping is required. The hotel itself is clean, fresh and fun in terms of the design, and the standard rooms are bigger than those of Fire & Ice in Cape Town and very tasteful. Best for singles and couples, as whilst the toilet is completely private the shower area is only separated from the rest of the room by a curtain. Friends staying together should opt for the only slightly more expensive deluxe rooms in order to get more shower privacy if this sort of thing is an issue for you.

The breakfast was delicious with lots of options and the milkshakes are legendary, don't forgo these when staying there...

Whilst the staff was pleasant and certainly not unfriendly they weren't very informative and we had to prompt and ask a lot of questions to get the info we needed when checking in.

If you are self driving and have a car/hire a car there is ample safe parking in the basement of the mall underneath for a mere ZAR 65 per stay.

One of the things I enjoyed most about the hotel was that it is frequented by all different kinds of people. Young and old, foreign and local, fancy and plain all made an appearance, and helped provide a really great & welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear mmre,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our fabulous hotel, it was quite delightful to read.

The Melrose Arch Precinct is indeed a wonderful location to be situated in; it is convenient and has much to offer. We ensure that the hotel is well maintained making it appealing to all GUESTS that walk through the doors. The rooms boast a unique design, which is indeed tasteful.

We do have 3 corner suites in the hotel for the GUESTS that require more privacy as it has a separate bathroom area. Our culinary TEAM has exceptional skills in preparing super scrumptious meals as well as delicious gourmet milkshakes; an experience isn’t complete without one or the other.

We do apologize that the STAFF were not informative; it is certainly a point that we are going to look into as our STAFF are the face of the hotel, and they need to be equipped with a smile and also information for the benefit of our GUESTS.

The hotel is place where people from different backgrounds come to meet, greet and socialize; a great atmosphere is created for a wonderful platform of people.

We look forward to hosting you once again at our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews