We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Le Chatelat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Chatelat
Ranked #136 of 293 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

All staff were excellent - Fraser, Sharon, Deela, MC and Ronald, very nice people. My stay was pleasurable and nothing but good words to say. I look forward to having the Presidential suite sometime. I will be back again.

Best wishes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmers i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    2
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
8
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Have stayed here numerous times and on each occasion the service and catering only gets better and better. Situated at the foot of Sandton, this Hotel is perfectly suited for any business trip or smart occasion. The owners take pride in what they do and the place really has a special feel to it with lovely grounds and friendly staff.

Room Tip: The main suite is sensational!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeffreyJ719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Really lovely grounds and good land scaping, pretty to look at and to take pictures. Beautiful warm interior with tasteful pieces of art and lots of fresh potted orchids. If only everything else lived up to it's prettiness. Firstly, nobody greated and welcomed us to the venue but we were lucky enough that they thoughtfully set up a sign with our company name and an arrow so we knew which way to go. We were a work delegation of 13 guests using the conference facilities over 2 days. The conference room was inadequate as we sat so close to each other our elbows touched - some of our group moved off the table to create more space and we worked with notebooks and laptops on our laps. Our water supply was not replaced after breaks on both days except only after we requested for more. Meal choices were limited to 2 options, beef or vegetarian and the next day chicken or vegetarian with dessert being the same warm pudding on both days - again no other choices. Our meal portions were too small and most of our team were still hungry after lunch - the staff then walked around the table with bowls of food offering guests to help themselves to more (I think they overheard our table state the need for more food......lol...). the worst part for our group was that we had access to one single toilet, so at any point during breaks we stood in a queue, men and woman, waiting to use the single cubicle....seriously.......literally one toilet for 13 people! The parking space was a nightmare, no markings or much space with a parking attendant guiding you......I was extremely uncomfortable trying to park a SUV in the little spaces. We broke into work groups but could not use the seating areas on the balcony as the chairshad wrought iron frames but not all had cushions, we moved and dragged chairs to get a group seating......so weird? Would I suggest this venue for a work conference? No I would not. Would I suggest this venue for a stay over romantic/holiday get away, I cannot say except take your guidance from those visitors who did stay over.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lucrecia1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lechatelat, General Manager at Le Chatelat, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback as it is only by receiving feedback that we can make corrections to exceed our guests expectations. We are ever vigilant to ensure that your experience is enjoyable and professional so ensuring your continued support.

This is our first ever negative comment and we take your comments to heart and will make every effort to meet your expectations in the future.

Kind Regards
Ronald Sibanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2013

my partner and I had an amazing stay here, amazing hospitality, great food and wine and it boasts the most breathtakingly beautiful garden, a piece of France right on our doorsteps. we spent Valentines here and the staff went out of their way to make our day extra special.. we will definately return to Le Chatelat

Room Tip: the courtyard suites are great value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiaJ787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2013

What an amazing place, an oasis in the heart of the business district of Sandton, awesome staff, the best beds and linen, superb coffee. I had the pleasure of sitting and chatting to the staff in the open plan kitchen whilst my breakfast was being prepared. Talk about eggs made to order !!!

Room Tip: the suites upstairs are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sethan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

When I think about a boutique guesthouse in Sandhurst, JHB - and a French-style one at that - I think gilt, pretension, expense. Le Chatelat took me completely by surprise. For starters, it's good value - we stayed in a magnificent suite, with an exquisite view of the gardens and pool - for roughly the same price per night as many standard urban hotels. Then, the food and wine (served in our room and ordered specially) was outstanding. Finally, the staff were amazing - friendly, engaging, sincere. None of that awkward fawning nonsense I'm used to from upmarket hotels. I would definitely stay at Le Chatelat again, and not just for an anniversary (although it is one of the most romantic spots I've ever been to, and perfect for a special occasion). If you have a party or function, I'd grab the private cellar. Those guys know what they're doing.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool-facing room if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiffanyMarkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I have just come back from my second stay at this wonderful place. Lets start with the decour. What an eye for detail and what stunning taste. The service is second to none and so warm and friendly. I do a lot of business travel and le Chatelat sets the bench mark for anything that I have experienced before. If you are staying in Johannesburg either for business or pleasure this is the only place to consider.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieO1455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
4.4 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#11 of 68 in Johannesburg
315 reviews
4.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
3.9 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
9.8 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#45 of 68 in Johannesburg
16 reviews
11.6 mi away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#39 of 68 in Johannesburg
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chatelat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chatelat

Property: Le Chatelat
Address: 60 Cleveland Road | Sandhurst, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 293 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing