We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had potential but major problems not worth a stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Had potential but major problems not worth a stay”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Firstly I have to say the rooms are modern, fairly large and generally we'll equipped. They are functional and comfortable but for one major flaw. There is no airconditioning! I am an airline pilot and stay in hotels all over the world and this is the first hotel I have seen without airconditioning. They have taken the trouble to install heating - in a city that experiences moderate to hot conditions for about 9 months of the year and a short winter for the remaining 3 months and they could not even install an overhead fan in rooms that can reach over 30 degrees. Absurd!
The rooms are located above a shopping mall in an atrium like structure. The sounds of talking, doors slamming, traffic and all the general noises associated with a shopping center are echoed and magnified. Sleep would be impossible when the center opens in the morning - exacerbated by the fact that windows have to be left open to allow for ventilation.
I note that General Manager is aware of the criticisms on this website and undertakes to address them but of course he has no intention of doing so.
The hotel has potential but the designers were unbelievably short sighted. I cannot recommend this place

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Genesis Suites & Conferencing on Trip Advisor.

While we are pleased that you find our suites comfortable and well equipped, it troubles us to hear that your stay in general was not a memorable one.

We do undertake to address all of our guests` criticisms and have made some exciting progress in this area. For example we have just opened our brand new Fitness Centre, which is open 24 hours a day to all of our guests free of charge. All of the equipment in the Fitness Centre is state of the art Techno Gym equipment. We have also just completed the upgrade of our swimming pool area and will soon be embarking on soft upgrades for all of our Suites. As the business allows we will continue to make further improvements to our Suites and our offerings to our guests.

In a very competitive market, we are still managing to offer competitive room rates and are maintaining very high occupancies throughout the year.

Kind Regards
Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    124
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
133
49
21
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Denis, Reunion Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I stayed at genesis for 2 days at the beginning of my vacations ,it was just amazing because it wasn't just a room but a really apartment where were able to settle and better than at our home. It was quite spacious, functional. the bedrooms were confortable, pretty. We have a nice view on the balcony, I remember the beautiful sunrise/sunset.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
The supermarket on the building also help us a lot!!!, we didn't have to worry about finding a place to buy food or anything else.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arwen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete a Trip Adviser Review after staying with us at Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. It is the goal of our team here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing that our guests feel as comfortable as possible, so that your stay will be as pleasant and successful as it can be, which might give us the chance to establish a long-lasting relationship.

We appreciate reading your comments and it will give us a great pleasure to welcome you back to Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

Perhaps when planning your next visit to Johannesburg, you would be kind enough to contact my office directly in order that I can make the necessary arrangements to personally ensure that your stay is a comfortable and enjoyable one.

Yours sincerely,

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Convenient with a shopping centre downstairs that has a supermarket and restaurant and secure underground parking. Only marred by a funny smell in the living area and a heavily soiled carpet in the lounge.

Room Tip: 3rd level can be a bit dodgy if it is raining because of the relatively open roof and water on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete a Trip Advisor Review.

We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. It is the goal of our team here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible, so that your stay will be as pleasant and successful as it can be, which might give us the chance to establish a long-lasting relationship with you.

We very much appreciate reading your comments regarding the carpets in the suites as well as the rain issues on the 3rd floor. We have already made arrangements to remove and upgrade the carperts in the suites and are in the process of covering the open passages on the 3rd floor.
It is only by receiving such information from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that you may have.

It will give us a great pleasure to welcome you back to Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

Yours sincerely,

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

To my surprise I got an upgrade to a huge suite. It's a modern decorated mini-apartment, I felt like I could live there. Very comfortable and lots of space to accommodate my belongings, the only con was the bed, too firm for my taste. It also has a huge balcony. Also don't like the fact that fre wifi only works in the lobby and restaurant, and for it to work in the room you have to pay extra. at night I found the place quite noisy and never figured out where the noise came from, as if they were vacuuming the corridors or something. but it is still a good option in joburg.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abobrinhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete a Trip Advisor Review following your recent stay with us at Genesis Suites.

We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your positive feedback regarding our suites.

We very much appreciate reading your comments regarding our Wifi and nightly cleaning, as it is only by receiving such information from valued Guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that our guests may have.

It will give us a great pleasure to welcome you back to Genesis Suites in the futue.

Kind Regards
Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Unexpected stay ,upon short notice we were well accomadated.We have noticed there is a remarkable improvement from our last stay ,the chocolate with a turn down is a nice touch.Had a good reception from Management [Nico Steenkamp and staff] keep up the good work.
Thanks to all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MohamedRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete a Trip Advisor review following your recent stay with us at Genesis Suites.

We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. It is the goal of our team here at Genesis Suites that our guests feel as comfortable as possible, so that your stay will be as pleasant and successful as it can be.
We are so pleased that you noticed and appreciate our improvments as it is only by receiving such information from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what additional improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that you may have.

It will give us a great pleasure to welcome you back to Genesis Suites. Perhaps when planning your next trip, you would be kind enough to contact my office directly in order that I can make the necessary arrangements to personally ensure that your stay is a comfortable and enjoyable one.

Yours sincerely,
Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Genesis Suites and Conferencing is an interesting hotel. Well actually it is not a hotel (as the name also suggests) but a building where you can rent apartments (one night at a time). We came across the place thanks to the tripadvisor positive reviews. And the reviews were quite correct - it is a very good lodging option in Joburg. At least if you have a car. It is situated in northern suburbs of the city, in the quiet neighborhood.
The building itself is a multifunctional building - there are shops (incl a supermarket) on the ground floor and also a restaurant that offers quite good food. At the time of our visit (10/2013, 2 nights) the first floor was under a renovation but that was not a problem at all. So during the day the building is quite busy but the area goes quiet at night. We liked the secure underground parking for hotel guests.
The apartment itself was really nice - it had a living room (flat screen tv, couches, desk etc), 1 bedroom, kitchen (with utensils) small ablution area and a huge balcony. Everything was clean and tidy and the value for money was simply great.
The staff at the reception was very helpful and welcoming and they even managed to organize a tour to Soweto for the next morning although this idea came to us quite late in the evening. The strange thing was that every evening there was a maid knocking at our door and giving us 2 small chocolates. I did not quite understand what was the point of this :)
What we did not like was the fact that the highest floor (where our apartment was) did not have a roof all the way from the elevators to the apartment door. On one night there was heavy rain and if this happens you will get wet going to your room. But this was minor inconvenience.
So all in all I would definitely suggest Genesis Suites and Conferencing, if I'm ever in Joburg again, this place would be my first choice once more.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EstTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete the Trip Advisor Guest Questionnaire following your recent stay here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. It is the goal of our team here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing that our guests feel as comfortable as possible, so that your stay will be as pleasant and successful as it can be, which might give us the chance to establish a long-lasting relationship.

We very much appreciate reading your comments, as it is only by receiving such information from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that you may have.

It will give us a great pleasure to welcome you back to Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

Yours sincerely,

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I'm an American, and of course in the US we are spoiled to the finer things in life, and I must say this place by far met all of my expectations. The only complaint.. I have, is my fiancee, and his son came to stay, and there was no face cloths. I had to go out, and purchase them. I really enjoyed my stay, it helped me bond more with my future husband and,son. I would love to purchase one of these apartments, for my home away from home..I love them!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovemydeltaairlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer

Thank you for your detailed review of Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of looking into supplying face cloths in our suites.

We look forward welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
5.7 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
4.4 mi away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#26 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Genesis All-Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Genesis All-Suite Hotel

Property: Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Address: 10 Sandler Road | Fairmount, Johannesburg 2191, South Africa (Formerly Genesis Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Genesis All-Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now you can mix business with pleasure. Genesis All-Suite Hotel S offers the best of all worlds. Ideal for work, perfect for play. Set in Africa's economic hub, Genesis is ideally and centrally located. With easy access to OR Tambo International Airport, the resurgent Central Business District and the cosmopolitan business and leisure suburb of Sandton, Genesis is close enough for you to experience the most attractive of what the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Genesis All-Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genesis Suites And Conferencing Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing