We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Genesis All-Suite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Uganda
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

My family and I have stayed at Genesis Suites quite a few times. The apartments are modern and spacious. There are a few shops within the building (Eastgate shopping mall not far). Staff are very helpful. Not far from the airport. They have free wifi.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for your positive and constructive feedback.

We hope that we can welcome you back to Genesis Suites in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    119
    20
    10
    8
See reviews for
126
44
21
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I cannot fault any of the staff at Genesis. The cleaners did an excellent job - even returning to turn down the bed during the evening! The reception staff were extremely helpful, from ordering cabs, booking tours - even finding out the weather. The only slightly downside was the lack of functioning wifi in the rooms but the wifi did wok reliably downstairs. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a Trip Advisor Review following your stay with us at Genesis Suites and Conferencing.

Thank you very much for your kind review of Genesis Suites & Conferencing. It is always a pleasure to receive such great feedback from our Guests. We are in the process to improve WiFi connectivity to all the suites.

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife to Genesis Suites & Conferencing !

Kind regards

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

The service and support, the accommodation as well as the conference facilities were great! Our lunches and refreshments at the conference facility was good. The menu available for dinner was unfortunately a disappointment. I will next time not include dinner in my booking.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Adri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Genesis Suites & Conferencing following your recent stay.

My sincere apologies for not exceeding all your expectations and in particular dinner at the Fairmount Grill.

I am glad that you did enjoy your stay and conferencing at Genesis Conference Centre.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With warm regards
Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Recently returned from 10 days at Genesis. Great location for our purposes. Room was nice,clean & comfortable; we were supplied with all cutlery, crockery, microwave, fridge etc. however NO TABLE & CHAIRS TO EAT ON! Staff were friendly & competent, but reception staff totally disinterested (they were rude enough to look away whilst talking to you). Great food shopping & restaurant downstairs. We would like to stay there again on our next trip; however unless they get airconditioning in every apartment, we will have to look at the many B & B's and guest houses in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JACOB N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Genesis Suites & Conferencing on Trip Advisor.

While we are pleased that you find our suites comfortable and well equipped, it troubles us to hear that your stay in general was not a memorable one.

We do undertake to address all of our guests` criticisms and have made some exciting progress in this area. For example we have just opened our brand new Fitness Centre, which is open 24 hours a day to all of our guests free of charge. We also offer free wifi to all guest staying at Genesis Suites & Conferencing. As the business allows we will continue to make further improvements to our Suites and our offerings to our guests.

In a very competitive market, we are still managing to offer competitive room rates and are maintaining very high occupancies throughout the year.

Kind Regards
Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed for 10 days at Genesis.Staff in general friendly however the front desk/reception staff could improve. Maintenance was carried out promptly which was pleasing.Room was nice,clean & comfortable.The water & biscuits provided when beds were turned down at night was a nice touch.
Found the room we were allocated (No. 3) noisy as it directly over the open air parking lot on the west side of the building.We would nevertheless stay at Genesis again. Enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: A room away from the lifts and the west side open air parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Headmaster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete a Trip Advisor Review following your recent stay here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing

We very much appreciate reading your comments, as it is only by receiving such information from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that you may have.

It will give us a great pleasure to welcome you back to Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

Yours sincerely
Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We loved every minute of our stay at Genesis suites. It is central and we were able to go out for the day and return to our rolled down sheets with a little something special placed on our pillows. Place was always clean, staff super friendly. We had everything we needed and it was very affordable. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneJ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Based in Joburg for 5 days the suites were perfect for work and well appointed for rest.
The facilities are excellent as is the service and security. Not the best location for bars and restaurants, but I was not looking for that on this trip. Fully kitted out kitchen.
Highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete the Trip Advisor Questionnaire following your recent stay, here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. It is the goal of our team here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing that our guests feel as comfortable as possible, so that your stay will be as pleasant and successful as it can be, which might give us the chance to establish a long-lasting relationship.

It will give us a great pleasure to welcome you back to Genesis Suites & Conferencing . Indeed, perhaps when planning your next visit to Johannesburg, you would be kind enough to contact my office directly in order that I can make the necessary arrangements to personally ensure that your stay is a comfortable and enjoyable one.

Yours sincerely,

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
5.7 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
4.4 mi away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#28 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Genesis All-Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Genesis All-Suite Hotel

Property: Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Address: 10 Sandler Road | Fairmount, Johannesburg 2191, South Africa (Formerly Genesis Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Genesis All-Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now you can mix business with pleasure. Genesis All-Suite Hotel S offers the best of all worlds. Ideal for work, perfect for play. Set in Africa's economic hub, Genesis is ideally and centrally located. With easy access to OR Tambo International Airport, the resurgent Central Business District and the cosmopolitan business and leisure suburb of Sandton, Genesis is close enough for you to experience the most attractive of what the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Genesis All-Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genesis Suites And Conferencing Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing