We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accomodation, Central Location, Well Priced, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great Accomodation, Central Location, Well Priced, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We just spent a week at the Genesis apartments in Fairmount. Such great value for money! The apartment was fantastic - Spacious, modern, clean, stylishly furnished & very pleasant.. The staff were very helpful & friendly. Apartment was serviced daily and kept clean & tidy with fresh linen supplied. Such a central location, quick from JHB airport, and so easy to get anywhere. Woolworths & PicknPay right below the apartments makes it so easy to get anything you need. Will definitely stay there next time we are in Johannesburg. A great experience!

Room Tip: We had atop floor unit with a North facing balcony - Was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for your positive and constructive feedback. We hope that we can welcome you back to Genesis Suites & Conferencing in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    126
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
137
50
21
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Although this hotel might be an excellent choice for people who are re-locating or visiting in this neighborhood, and need a long-term self-contained apartment, it is NOT convenient to the airport and not the best choice for the traveler who is passing through Johannesburg. The "surcharge" for transportation was nearly 40 Rand each way ($40 USD). Not only did WiFi not work, but neither did the internet in the "business center" in the lobby. So many people were complaining in person that it was quite disturbing. The "restaurant" was only slightly above the standards of a coffee shop. TV was on, and other music was loudly playing so it was not a relaxing meal. The hotel staff did try to be helpful with some issues, but this didn't make up for the fact that this is a location in a shopping mall. It was quite industrial in the feel and did not give me a comfortable or relaxed impression at all.

Room Tip: There is little if any sound-proofing. Rooms seem to be all around a central garbage chute and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeresaID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to complete the Trip Advisor Questionnaire following your recent stay with us here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

I was dismayed to read that you were disappointed with your stay overall, and that you had experienced various service issues during your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you in this regard. I can assure you that this is certainly not typical of our usual high standard of service and I have addressed your comments to the relevant Department Heads for further investigation.

We very much appreciate reading your comments, as it is only by receiving such information from valued Guests such as yourself that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that you may have.

It is the goal of our team here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible so that their stay will be as pleasant and successful as it can be, which might give us the chance to establish a long-lasting relationship.

It will give us great pleasure to welcome you back to Genesis Suites & Conferencing. Indeed, perhaps when planning your next visit to Johannesburg you would be kind enough to contact my office directly in order that I can make the necessary arrangements to personally ensure that your next stay with us is a comfortable and enjoyable one.

Kind Regards
Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We recently spent the weekend at Genesis Suites as part of a South Africa/Victoria Falls vacation. Our stay at Genesis easily met our expectations.

The Genesis units are sleekly attractive, roomy and comfortable. There are two supermarkets and other services on the premises. The staff is friendly and helpful. We were very happy with our choice of accommodations.

A note about the layout of the two-bedroom units: There is a very luxurious bathroom in the master suite--but without any separation from the sleeping area. This worked fine for my wife and me, because we were able to also use the second, smaller bathroom. (The price differential between the one- and two-bedroom units was insubstantial, so we booked a two-bedroom.) But I'm not sure how happy two couples sharing would be.

Also, Genesis is particularly well suited to Orthodox Jewish visitors to Johannesburg. It is centrally located in the Glenhazel neighborhood, which is a hub of Jewish life. Genesis is within easy walking distance of dozens of synagogues and kosher food establishments. And the Genesis staff is familiar with the needs (room keys, lighting, etc.) of its Sabbath-observant guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emanuel_S_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for reviewing Genesis Suites & Conferencing following your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.

It will give us great pleasure to welcome you and your wife back to Genesis Suites.

Kind Regards
Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed in apt that sleeps 4 people in June 2014. Firstly the Wifi didn't work at all for 2 days (no explanation?!). Secondly there was no hot water after the 2nd person had showered!!! - so cold showers on a very cold morning in Jhb for my children. The staff were friendly and tried their best to sort this out - but there is a very small limit of hot water in the geyser supplying the apartment - which is completely inadequate for 4 people (I hate to think what happens if you bath!). This was expensive by South African standards so I expected basic things to at least work . I wouldn't recommend staying here at all - especially with a family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sajog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete the Trip Advisor questionare following your recent stay, here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

I was dismayed to read that you were disappointed with your stay overall, and that you experienced various issues during your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you in this regard, I can assure you that this is certainly not indictive of our usual high standard of service and I have adddressed your comments to the relevant Department Heads for further investigation.

Yours sincerely,
Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here from the 30/05/2014 to the 31st May in the 2 bedroom suites. The apartments are clean and the deco is quite modern, The staff is friendly and more than willing to spoil the guests. there are 2 supermarket chains, a post office , a restaurant, laundry and dry clean plus other numerous conveniences on the hotel premises. There is a rapid response security company stationed within the premises giving a most welcome sense of security.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaMoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for your positive and constructive feedback. We hope that we can welcome you back to Genesis Suites & Conferencing in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed there 5/16 to 5/19/2014 for part of a vacation. Hotel is located in the glenhazel neighborhood within a shopping center. There are 2 supermarket chains right on the property so no need for a trip when you need food for the suite. The staff is friendly, accommodating and they keep the rooms very clean. A bit strange that the shower, tub and toilet is right in the bedroom with no door separating the two. Parking on premises. The rooms have a balcony with beautiful views.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eviezev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for reviewing Genesis Suites & Conferencing following your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.

It will give us great pleasure to welcome you back to Genesis Suites.

Kind Regards
Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The overall experience was of an exceptionally high standard. The accomodation was so exceptionally spacious, spotlessly clean. Travelling alot i have stayed at many hotels both locally and internationally and can say that the Genesis Suites was by far the best. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. I am very impressed

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for reviewing Genesis Suites & Conferencing following your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.

It will give us great pleasure to welcome you back to Genesis Suites.

Kind Regards
Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
5.7 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
714 reviews
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Genesis All-Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Genesis All-Suite Hotel

Property: Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Address: 10 Sandler Road | Fairmount, Johannesburg 2191, South Africa (Formerly Genesis Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Genesis All-Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now you can mix business with pleasure. Genesis All-Suite Hotel S offers the best of all worlds. Ideal for work, perfect for play. Set in Africa's economic hub, Genesis is ideally and centrally located. With easy access to OR Tambo International Airport, the resurgent Central Business District and the cosmopolitan business and leisure suburb of Sandton, Genesis is close enough for you to experience the most attractive of what the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Genesis All-Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genesis Suites And Conferencing Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing