We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff were very helpful and the suite was extremely comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We arrived early extremely tired and the staff were kind enough to get a room ready for us early.
They were very accommodating and it was close enough to the airport, it was also nice having a grocery store in the building.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tmockler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for your positive and constructive feedback. We hope that we can welcome you back to Genesis Suites & Conferencing in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Nico Steenkamp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is the second time that my two daughters and I have stayed at Genesis. We have found the staff to be friendly and helpful, the apartment clean, modern, and with a reasonable view, and in a location that has good access to other parts of Jo'burg.
Not only that but you have a reasonable selection of TV channels (if not the full DSTV package), plus a DVD/CD player with an iPod dock, allowing the more gouch-friendly to enjoy a taste of home living. Plus they now provide free wi-fi.
Also worthy of note, is the (smallish) gym located on the same floor as reception that guests have access to, as well as an outdoor swimming pool. It's a shame that they no longer have a braai (BBQ) area.
Our only gripe is the self-catering aspect: there are too few plates, pots and cutlery, not to mention other cooking utensils (e.g. chefs knives), as well as a lack of washing up liquid/dish cloths, to make it truly self-catering.
If Genesis sorts this issue out, then I would give it the extra star.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmanc70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete a Trip Advisor Review following your recent stay here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing

We very much appreciate reading your comments, as it is only by receiving such information from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that you may have.

It will give us a great pleasure to welcome you and your family back to Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

Yours sincerely
Nico Steenkamp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I'm used to staying at the Holiday Inn at Rosebank and was skeptical about this hotel when it was booked for me by my client. Well, call me a convert now. I recently went back to Jo'Burg and booked my stay here. It is way cheaper than Holiday Inn and for a business traveller just as good. Each room has a small kitchen too which is nice. The location was great for me as it was down the road from my client and close to Rosebank Mall. They have one restaurant downstairs which is fine for breakfast and the odd dinner. A Pick & Pay and Woolworth's Food store are located on the lower levels. I will certainly stay here again. A non-working sub floor heating system stopped me from giving it 5 stars as it was quite cold at this time of year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tosh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for reviewing Genesis Suites & Conferencing following your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.

It will give us great pleasure to welcome you back to Genesis Suites.

Kind Regards
Nico Steenkamp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We just spent a week at the Genesis apartments in Fairmount. Such great value for money! The apartment was fantastic - Spacious, modern, clean, stylishly furnished & very pleasant.. The staff were very helpful & friendly. Apartment was serviced daily and kept clean & tidy with fresh linen supplied. Such a central location, quick from JHB airport, and so easy to get anywhere. Woolworths & PicknPay right below the apartments makes it so easy to get anything you need. Will definitely stay there next time we are in Johannesburg. A great experience!

Room Tip: We had atop floor unit with a North facing balcony - Was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for your positive and constructive feedback. We hope that we can welcome you back to Genesis Suites & Conferencing in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Nico Steenkamp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Although this hotel might be an excellent choice for people who are re-locating or visiting in this neighborhood, and need a long-term self-contained apartment, it is NOT convenient to the airport and not the best choice for the traveler who is passing through Johannesburg. The "surcharge" for transportation was nearly 40 Rand each way ($40 USD). Not only did WiFi not work, but neither did the internet in the "business center" in the lobby. So many people were complaining in person that it was quite disturbing. The "restaurant" was only slightly above the standards of a coffee shop. TV was on, and other music was loudly playing so it was not a relaxing meal. The hotel staff did try to be helpful with some issues, but this didn't make up for the fact that this is a location in a shopping mall. It was quite industrial in the feel and did not give me a comfortable or relaxed impression at all.

Room Tip: There is little if any sound-proofing. Rooms seem to be all around a central garbage chute and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeresaID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to complete the Trip Advisor Questionnaire following your recent stay with us here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

I was dismayed to read that you were disappointed with your stay overall, and that you had experienced various service issues during your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you in this regard. I can assure you that this is certainly not typical of our usual high standard of service and I have addressed your comments to the relevant Department Heads for further investigation.

We very much appreciate reading your comments, as it is only by receiving such information from valued Guests such as yourself that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that you may have.

It is the goal of our team here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible so that their stay will be as pleasant and successful as it can be, which might give us the chance to establish a long-lasting relationship.

It will give us great pleasure to welcome you back to Genesis Suites & Conferencing. Indeed, perhaps when planning your next visit to Johannesburg you would be kind enough to contact my office directly in order that I can make the necessary arrangements to personally ensure that your next stay with us is a comfortable and enjoyable one.

Kind Regards
Nico Steenkamp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We recently spent the weekend at Genesis Suites as part of a South Africa/Victoria Falls vacation. Our stay at Genesis easily met our expectations.

The Genesis units are sleekly attractive, roomy and comfortable. There are two supermarkets and other services on the premises. The staff is friendly and helpful. We were very happy with our choice of accommodations.

A note about the layout of the two-bedroom units: There is a very luxurious bathroom in the master suite--but without any separation from the sleeping area. This worked fine for my wife and me, because we were able to also use the second, smaller bathroom. (The price differential between the one- and two-bedroom units was insubstantial, so we booked a two-bedroom.) But I'm not sure how happy two couples sharing would be.

Also, Genesis is particularly well suited to Orthodox Jewish visitors to Johannesburg. It is centrally located in the Glenhazel neighborhood, which is a hub of Jewish life. Genesis is within easy walking distance of dozens of synagogues and kosher food establishments. And the Genesis staff is familiar with the needs (room keys, lighting, etc.) of its Sabbath-observant guests.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emanuel_S_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for reviewing Genesis Suites & Conferencing following your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.

It will give us great pleasure to welcome you and your wife back to Genesis Suites.

Kind Regards
Nico Steenkamp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed in apt that sleeps 4 people in June 2014. Firstly the Wifi didn't work at all for 2 days (no explanation?!). Secondly there was no hot water after the 2nd person had showered!!! - so cold showers on a very cold morning in Jhb for my children. The staff were friendly and tried their best to sort this out - but there is a very small limit of hot water in the geyser supplying the apartment - which is completely inadequate for 4 people (I hate to think what happens if you bath!). This was expensive by South African standards so I expected basic things to at least work . I wouldn't recommend staying here at all - especially with a family.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sajog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete the Trip Advisor questionare following your recent stay, here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

I was dismayed to read that you were disappointed with your stay overall, and that you experienced various issues during your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you in this regard, I can assure you that this is certainly not indictive of our usual high standard of service and I have adddressed your comments to the relevant Department Heads for further investigation.

Yours sincerely,
Nico Steenkamp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
4.4 mi away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#19 of 66 in Johannesburg
192 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#25 of 66 in Johannesburg
445 reviews
4.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Genesis All-Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Genesis All-Suite Hotel

Address: 10 Sandler Road | Fairmount, Johannesburg 2191, South Africa (Formerly Genesis Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: £63 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Genesis All-Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now you can mix business with pleasure. Genesis All-Suite Hotel S offers the best of all worlds. Ideal for work, perfect for play. Set in Africa's economic hub, Genesis is ideally and centrally located. With easy access to OR Tambo International Airport, the resurgent Central Business District and the cosmopolitan business and leisure suburb of Sandton, Genesis is close enough for you to experience the most attractive of what the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Genesis All-Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genesis Suites And Conferencing Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing