We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend Getaway!”
Review of Aquanzi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aquanzi Lodge
Ranked #18 of 298 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We found this little gem on the internet, and what a great choice it was! From the warm welcome we got to the beautiful chalet we stayed in everything was great! Special mention must be made to the friendly staff. The location is ideal, as there is none of the noise - it doesn't even feel like you are in the city. We will definitely return here and highly recommend to any who is considering it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelFundi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

Great atmosphere. The service is professional. The staff are very friendly. Will definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phumudzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a week in June whilst he was on business. We stayed in one of the chalets which was beautifully decorated and very well equipped and scrupulously clean. The staff are all extremely polite and friendly but particular mention must go to Barbara, the chef/waitress at breakfast. We looked forward to breakfast every morning, it was presented very well and cooked perfectly. Inside the restaurant/reception area the lodge is beautifully decorated and I can only say that whoever did the interior decorating has a marvellous skill. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The dirt road is at first a little off putting, but it is not too far from the main road. My only negative grumble is that there should be free wi-fi throughout. The service provided is quite expensive and slow. Thank you also to the gardener for washing our dusty car. We will be back next time we visit Joburg. Thank you Aquanzi Lodge. Sue & Eric

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SueInTheSudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

clearly this is a weekend only lodge, run by people with ZERO people skills.
i dont care what "package' one is on....i have NEVER stayed anywhere in the world where i have had to buy my own toilet paper, or pay for heating - and i was there in winter......
i was in a rondawel without a comfortable chair for 8 weeks.....
due to problems with our accounts department, who i admit, were slow in paying the account, i recieved threating letters from the management......
so if you want a weekend escape run by a german basil fawlty......this is the place to be

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonathanhely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquanzi, Owner at Aquanzi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2010

It is unfortunately that you only see your side of the story Mr. Hely. Your company booked a self catering, self contained chalet = all consumables are on the occupants account.

Price was a big issue for your company. Days before your check out, we were still waiting for payment for your accommodation, which is normally due in advance, before check in.
This is when we simply informed you about the issue by supplying you with the Invoice and email sent to your company, seeing that we got no reply from them. Unfortunatley we did not get a positive response from you. You simply chose to swear at the staff who handed you the letter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We never actually managed to stay at Aquani Lodge. We contacted them to make a reservation for June 2010 and got a respone offering us accomodation with an unsolicited 20% discount. This was of course a great offer so we emailed back to go ahead with the booking and arrange to pay the deposit. To my surprise they claimed they had a mistake in offering the discount in the first place as our stay coincided with the World Cup. I replied that as they had made the offer of their own free will, they should keep to it in the interest of good customer relations or at least offer us a reduced discount. They refused. This put me off and we decided to book somewhere else. Not a great impression to leave potential guests with; I certainly will not be going anywhere near this place now or in the future.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquanzi, Manager at Aquanzi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2010

We are saddened that we didn't get the opportunity to welcome you to Aquanzi Lodge.

At the time of your quotation, we were running a special for a 20% discount when booking 2 nights or more, which specifically excluded the World Cup period.

Unfortunately our intern failed to exclude this on your quote for the World Cup.

It is sad that we found no understanding from your side after having explained this and that you missed out on a truely african experience.

We would have loved to have welcomed you and shown you through south african hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alles Zimmer sind verschieden und schön
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Traveler36925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquanzi, Manager at Aquanzi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank fred59118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquanzi, Manager at Aquanzi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
16.3 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#26 of 66 in Johannesburg
445 reviews
9.7 mi away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#19 of 66 in Johannesburg
192 reviews
13.7 mi away
Riverbend Country House
Riverbend Country House
#43 of 66 in Johannesburg
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#24 of 66 in Johannesburg
201 reviews
13.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
11.9 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#9 of 66 in Johannesburg
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquanzi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquanzi Lodge

Address: 9 Runnymead Road | Chartwell North Estates Fourways, Johannesburg 2055, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £44 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquanzi Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Aquanzi Lodge is situated just minutes from the upmarket Fourways suburb, set in a superb indigenous garden between aloes and acacia trees and offers comfortable and luxurious bed and breakfast and self-catering accommodation in free-standing, thatched chalets and non-thatched Executive Suites. The lodge is well located for those who seek a peaceful, unique and elegant African-country environment, surrounded by an abundance of bird life yet require easy access major business hubs. A luxurious African theme and ambiance inspired by natural surroundings and indigenous elements is felt throughout the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aquanzi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing